We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not as cool as they would like to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“ok but not as cool as they would like to be”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

the owner or management should visit the postcard inn in st. petes, of the austin motel. they have done a much better job of taking an old motel and redesigning it. we stayed with our little dog because it was dog friendly. we had to pay a $50 cleaning fee. i would love to see where that money goes as our room had many carpet stains, and was dirty. the cleaning staff keeps the rooms as clean as possible its just an old motel that is need of a huge reno. we ended paying $200 for the night. it seems like it attracts groups that want to party along the river and then have a short walk to a place with a roof and a toilet to throw up into, or on the carpet...
i wouldn't stay again but i'm older with a family and dog that wanted a place to stay for a night and didn't want to spend time researching other dog friendly hotels.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. The Postcard is a cool property as is the Austin Motel. I assure you that we are constantly improving our inn and want it to be a place that everyone can love and enjoy. I hope you will give us another opportunity to wow you.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    583
    249
    123
    73
See reviews for
382
732
108
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I was skeptical at first but perfect place to stay in the historic district that's affordable. The carpets may look run down but it is pet friendly. We spent most of our time exploring the beautiful savannah so this place was perfect for a good nights rest and shower. This was our second stay and rooms are always clean. Parking is only $5.00 per day, which is awesome considering parking costs $15.00 per day at the hampton inn that's next door. Staff is always super friendly and accommodating and always offering up directions, maps and any other sights to see. They also offer better rates when you book directly thru them rather than third parties. We will be staying again in august.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. I am also glad that you booked direct. We will always beat our online rates!

regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a quick 2 nites in savannah and we're so pleased we picked the thunderbird inn. It's extremely central to the historic district and we were able to walk everywhere. The staff were all lovely and able to point us in the right direction for food, drinks and fun. And above all, we loved that it was retro! It's well maintained with new beds but had all the retro decor touches. Donuts and coffee for breakfast were an excellent touch too. Perfect!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jenfromsunnyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you loved your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in late July -- the room was clean and comfortable, the lobby and staff were very welcoming. Nice tunes on speakers in the parking lot. Welcome lemonaid a nice touch. Super location! Kind of on the edge of the downtown area, but very walkable and nice to leave the hubub behind at the end of the night and return someplace a little quieter. The only downside is the WiFi is awful, but it usually is in hotels, I find. We were on the 2nd floor, and I'd request that on a future stay -- just to get away from the parking lot. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, select a 2nd floor room to get away from the noise/smells of parking l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins (great!) Real dishware, no Styrofoam (also great).
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm so happy you noticed our efforts to preserve our environment. I look forward to having you back!

regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delray beach
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I visited Savannah on a mother/daughter trip and was looking forward to the Thunderbird based on the reviews and their website. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm was short-lived. This was a glamorized motel without the glam. The room was on the ground floor and undesirable characters were lurking about. We didn't feel safe. Additionally, the room was dingy and dirty. The white bedspreads have gone gray and there was hair (plural) n the bathroom floor. We checked out 5 min. after checking in and I was still charged $150.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I have left you a message on your phone. There are some discrepancies I want to work out with you.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great find with great location. Independently owned with all of the small touches that you'd never find in a chain. Krispy Kreme breakfast! Great, helpful desk service. Genuine retro aesthetic, not faux retro chic. Real deal. Great for the young traveller or a family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonelyTravelDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for loving our authentic retro! I hope you come back and see us again. If you love retro, check out TravelRetro. They have a great collection of inns like ours.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hoping for funky-cool experience as advertised ... just got funk. Might be a cute idea and very sweet people, but cant recommend staying here. What's part of 'renovated' leaves filthy carpets in place, bed pretty worn out and stained linens? Wi-fi too weak and slow to matter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear A,
Thank you so much for your time on the phone today. I am pleased that the silver lining to your bad experience was our outstanding staff. I was sure to pass on your compliments to each of them.
I also wanted to reiterate that I really appreciate your feedback. I take it seriously. All of your critiques are in the process of being resolved and in most rooms are a non issue. It seems that you're room was the perfect storm of mistakes. I wish you would have given our staff the opportunity to move you so you could see that it was a fluke.
I hope in the future you will give us another opportunity.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing