We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We arrived in Savannah at 9:30pm on a Sunday night. We , to be truthful, drove right by The Thunderbird and went downtown to check prices of other hotels. When those were higher than we wanted to spend, we arrived back at The Thunderbird and were charged $20 less than we would have elsewhere. When we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and updated. For the price, it was nice to have a place to park our car for free while we walked around Savannah the next morning.

Our only "complaint" would be that we were expecting more for a continental breakfast. When we arrived, there was water, apple juice, coffee, and Krispy Kreme donuts...hardly a breakfast for 2 travelers on the go. We ended up going downtown for breakfast and were quite disappointed to have to spend money on breakfast after having spent $89 for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snshine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,606 - 1,612 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

My wife and I travel to Savannah from Kansas City at least once a year. It is our intention to move to Savannah in the very near future. Savannah, especially the River Front and the Historic District, is a very walkable city. The Thunderbird Inn is well located to take advantage of that walkability. It is a clean, well maintained motel with a great nostalgic feel that is still modern and comfortable. Staff is responsive, courteous and welcoming. Desk help while we were there last were local actors that perform in local and regional theatre and appear in independent films. This helped to reflect the rich artistic culture of a city that boasts one of the finest and most diverse arts institutes in the nation. Rates are quite reasonable, making The Thunderbird Inn an excellent value for a facility so well situated near the river. Whenever we go to Savannah, the Thunderbird Inn is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceblehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The service was great, the rooms were kept clean and the donuts for breakfast were fresh. It was a quick walk to the City Market and Riverfront. We had no safety concerns. The rooms are a bit small, and our remote control wouldn't change the stations, but I'm sure the front desk would have helped us with that if we asked. If I were to return to Savannah, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonydimarzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I really liked the retro atmosphere and how close it was to the heart of Savannah. I enjoyed a very comfortable room and extremely friendly staff. I was surprised at how affordable it was, and even more so that they didn't skimp on amenities like daily room service. It may not have all the finest upgrades, but it was clean and in a nice area. I do plan on returning to Savannah and reserving a room at the Thunderbird again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayd7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The place was conveniently located, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the retro look was there. As much as I want to give these guys a 100%, I just couldn't. The carpet was awful. It had a lot of spots that really did not need cleaning but instead needed changing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyacith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thunderbird611, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I too am disappointed you couldn't rank us higher. We are always working hard to have the carpet cleaned and the building looking great. I would love to talk to you about where else you feel we missed the mark. Please feel free to call me anytime to discuss your stay.

Regards,
Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The rooms were great; loved the headboard and bed very comfortable. All the little amenities like travel size toiletries had their logo on them - classy! Coffee cups cute bought 2. Quiet even though across from Bus station. Mini-breakfast very nice but the best part was the staff. Very professional and fun - Nick made our stay perfect - first time to stay here and will definitely be back - within walking distance of great restaurants and uptown Savannah. Thanks guys for making our stay fun and what a way to have your bed turned down with chocolates and maybe get a personal opera in the deal!
Linda and Keith, Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LavCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thunderbird611, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2009

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m so pleased you had a great stay. We are striving to create a memorable experience for all of our guests. Thank you for the kind words!

Regards,
Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

me and my family stayed just one night at the thunderbird inn.The room was kinda small,air conditioner worked great good for one or two nights to get a good nights sleep.It was very clean.Breakfast was doughnuts and cooffee or juice (this could be better for the price also for the price it would have been nice to have a pool to cool off in.But all and all was a nice place to stay close to everything.would probably stay there again sometime.rate 1-10 this hotel was about an 8.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welittleladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thunderbird611, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review our little motel. I agree a pool would be nice; unfortunately, we’re a little short on space to place one! I would love for you to stay with us again. We are constantly improving and trying to ideas to create a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#28 of 114 in Savannah
511 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £114 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing