We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bradenton FL
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The hotel was VERY clean and rooms great. The STAFF however was even better! So friendly, helpful and made our stay great. Was just a getaway for us and first time in Savannah! Was pretty centrally located and loved the Pedi-cab service. We would return for sure and see more. Lots to do and again our thanks to Staff at the Thunderbird Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMACBradentonFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    600
    251
    125
    79
See reviews for
398
751
113
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is the place I will be staying whenever I visit Savannah. Easy to get to and located a short walk away from everything I need. I parked my car once, at the hotel, and walked everywhere.

My room was very clean and the king-sized bed was one of the more comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a hotel or motel.

The price was reasonable and it was easy to get in and out of Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedbeardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Very pleased with rooms & really loved music that was being played outside felt like I was taking a step back in time....I think you'll need to have something like a sock hop costume's and all like a block party or something....Anyway really loved our stay & it's a most definite that when we come back to Savannah that our stay we'll be at Thunderbird Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We were staying for two nights with one full day to get a feel for Savannah. The Thunderbird Inn is an old style American Motel with free easy parking out front and a large clean room. Make sure to check if there are special rates available - we were e-mailed with a special rate after we had booked but had no trouble getting this rate on check-in. Nick on the desk looked after us well - nothing was too much trouble. The Thunderbird Inn may be a few blocks away from the squares but in fact is very close to the visitors centre. We would recommend a visit there, especially if your time is limlted. We took an Oglethorpe Trolley Tour which was well worthwhile and gives you a good idea which parts you would like to spend some time at. To get a full view of Savannah's history we can also recommend the Civil Right's Museum which is also quite close to the Thunderbird Inn but did not get a mention during our tour. Fascinating and beautiful town and very easy to get around - make sure that you get down to the waterfront as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We chose the Thunderbird Inn because it looked funky and was the cheapest choice close to the historic district of Savannah. Yet we were not so lucky with our room right above the reception.The carpets were badly stained and needed to be replaced. They didn't smell but you didn't want to walk around barefoot either. The bed was not very comfortable and the bed sheet had clearly not been changed after the last guest had slept on it (hair + stains).
The breakfast only consisted only of donuts and coffee - we liked that they had real dishes instead of disposable plates and cups. Definitely less trash!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My husband and I were traveling with our dog to Savannah. We wanted a place within walking distance of the historic distance, but that did not charge an arm and a leg for pet fees. We found that in the Thunderbird. I spoke to Mark on the phone who was very helpful and told me about dog friendly pubs and restaurants in town. Upon our arrival Nick was working the front desk and was extremely friendly, outgoing and funny. The room was clean, and the retro furnishings were a blast. If you are looking for fancy "nose in the air" places, this is not for you. If you want a clean, fun place, walking distance to down town all for an unbeatable price this is for you! We will stay again the next time we pass through.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinann919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

My friend and I on a whim decided to spend the weekend in Savannah. I was looking mostly for convenience, and value and got much more than I expected! Our stay at the hotel was perfect! I was greeted by the friendliest most helpful staff. We arrived hours before check in and were allowed to leave our car parked there. I was given suggestions and directions to places we may enjoy to kill time. We were able to easily meander over to Bay Street and other attractions from the hotel. When our room was ready- the air conditioning was ice cold, the room was crisp and clean, and the shower was nice and hot. Over the 2 days I was there I was comfortable and confident that I could bug the front desk staff for directions and suggestions about anything. It really was like having a friend in Savannah!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing