We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, obnoxious clientele”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, obnoxious clientele”
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Let me start off by saying that I'm a fairly young person in my mid-twenties and like busy cities and people (I live blocks from the Sears Tower in downtown Chicago) but the noise and hotel clientele was too much for me to handle.

My boyfriend and I stayed in Savannah over St Patrick's Day weekend (unintentionally) and selected the Thunderbird Inn based on the price and good reviews. While we were aware of the bus depot across the street we didn't think the ambient noise would bother us, boy were we wrong. We were put in a room near the stairs and ice machine and soon realized that we were sandwiched in between two large groups of obnoxious partying college students. We anticipated that they might pose an issue that night and asked management to move us to a quieter area but because of the holiday weekend they had nowhere else to move us.

After a night of dinner and drinks (hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the historic city center) we returned to our hotel at 12:30 AM and were in bed by 1 AM. Shortly after falling asleep we were woken up by the rowdy groups of partiers returning "home" we figured that they would settle down eventually and just tried to deal with it. We were WRONG. Between constantly revving the engine of their trucks/SUVs, pouring beverages off the upstairs balcony, getting ice from the vending machine and throwing it at people, the group on the second floor yelling to the group across the parking lot, watching pornography on the TV with the volume turned up so high we thought the video shoot was going on in our bathroom, and running up and down the stairs we thought that we were sleeping in the middle of a redneck monster truck rally. At 2 AM I finally called the front desk, the manager came out and spoke to the groups and they were quiet for about 20 minutes and then started up again, at 3 AM the manager came out again and told them to be quiet, again that lasted about 20 minutes and they started it up again. They finally lost steam at around 3:30 AM and I was able to sleep for about 5 hours but apparently some idiots are morning people and the hooping and hollering started all over again.

Suffice to say we declined to stay a second night and found a quieter (and more expensive) place to stay but not before witnessing (smelling) an RV dispose of their waste tank and walking through a cloud of marijuana smoke.

The hotel has a cute/retro vibe, the bed is super comfortable and the parking is free but the hotel's inexpensive rates draws all the idiots to the yard and you would be better off camping on the side of the road than dealing with reactive (rather than proactive) staff and unruly clientele.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageJoGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
I remember y'all! I'm very sorry I couldn't shift you to a quieter place; there were just no options for us. St. Patrick's week is a time full of celebration. We try to balance out the desires of the guests who want to party with the guest who want to sleep. It does sound like my evening manager could have been more proactive in dealing with this. I apologize for this and have used this as a training opportunity for future festivals.

There are a few items I'm not sure about.... There was only one small RV in the parking lot who belonged to a very nice older gentleman. I'm positive he didn't dump anything. As for the pornography, we don't have any of those types of channels in the hotel because we do have families that stay with us.

Again, I apologize. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and not during a festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    584
    249
    123
    73
See reviews for
382
734
108
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2010

They were so nice and helpful!!!! My friend and i were in a real bind and they were very understanding and wanted to do whatever they could to help!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elittle2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
We love helping when we can! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

You CANNOT beat the location and price. One can easily park in the hotel lot and walk to the Historic District, which is exactly what my fiance and I did. I definitely recommend this hotel, unless one prefers the finer things in life. The staff was very helpful and they all had wonderful southern charm. The only recommendation I would make to the hotel is putting a do not disturb sign for the door in the rooms. The beds were very comfortable and my fiance and I had trouble waking up. Our alarm clock ended up being housekeeping, as we did not have the sign to say "come back later, we are comfortable and hungover."

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halenalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
Lol, I'm glad you had a great time! I'm sorry about the "do not disturb" That was a miss on our part. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

cute place, i short walk away from the main restaurant/bar area. Good rates, great staff, and free moon pies! "The coolest place in town" their sign said. I think i'm a cool guy...

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phuunkee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
You need to come try our new Mint CRUHCH MoonPie! They are FANTASTIC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Short, simple, sweet. Perfect location, great price. Clean, friendly staff. Renard was there for our check in and he was friendly, accomodating, and had a fantastic sense of humor. Thanks Thunderbird Inn for a great experience :-)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogini1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Terrible service, room wasn't that bad but the noise from traffic going by was so loud it kept us up all night, we would never stay there again!!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luv2gohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
I can't believe you fumed for 5 months before writing a review. It sounds like we really botched this up! I wish I could do something to regain your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Room was super clean, bed was super comfortable, very reasonably priced, easy access to downtown, and they didn't mind us having our four legged friend with us. We enjoyed the moon pies and the creative toiletries (you will have to stay there to find out). Will definitely stay there again.

Definitely the hippest place East of Vegas!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejh33ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing