We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful properties and excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Garden Suite, the Tattnall House and the Jenkins house during our recent trip to Savannah. Great location - right in the middle of the historic district. We could walk to everything. No need for a car. All these properties are lovely and each unique in their own way. The breakfasts and sweets were wonderful. Individual frittatas and quiche that were easy to heat up in the morning and were delicious. Great Savannah roast coffee was also provided. It was like a home away from home!! Monique, Adella, Kirsten were all very helpful and very accessible to us. I would highly recommend the Armstrong Inns.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guests,
Your stay in 3 different Armstrong Inns was NO déjà-vu for us. Your flexibility paid off in experiencing three great locations in the old section of the Historic District where you can walk through the squares designed by General Oglethorpe . Thank you very much for your helpful contribution.
Best regards,
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early April. The location is just plain excellent. It is no more than 20 minutes walk to anything of interest in Savannah. The historic area of Savannah is layed out in 22 squares and is very walkable.

We stayed in Chatham House and had the top two floors with a complete kitchen and the bedroom on the top floor. It was very quiet for a good nights rest. The placed seemed clean. There were plenty of towels etc. The kitchen had some condiments if you wanted to bring something in and do your own cooking.

The reason I gave 4 rather than 5 stars are the following. The bed for me just didn't do it. The bed is a queen size with silk ( I think) sheets. The problem for me is that the box spring is layered with a large, what I would describe as a futon, and lacked uniformity and therefore I found a little lumpy. Secondly, the breakfasts which are brought in the day before and placed in the fridge were maybe a 7 out of 10. Given the fact this is basically a private house and breakfast has to be delivered detracted from the overall satisfaction because when you re-heat the breakfast some of the quality is lost as opposed to a breakfast freshly made. I do understand the necessity of the protocol but that results in a less than perfect breakfast. But this is a trade-off in having the large amount of privacy which I truly loved.

In conclusion and with respect to the price and location I would very much recommend this location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sophia, It was a great pleasure and privilege to serve my Canadian Patriot. .
Like you, other guests cherish the privacy of an in-room breakfast, at their finger tips, when they so desire. Here is a quote by a recent guest: “ Breakfast is amazing and beautiful. The chef prepares the breakfast and stores it in your personal frig..... which is perfect. We could eat whenever our little hearts desired. One morning we had French toast stuffed with lemon cream and pecans / sausage, onion blue cheese and apple quiche with fruits, cheese, juice & lots of baked goodies. To prepare the breakfast all you need to do is put it in the toaster oven for 5-10 mins. …” Unquote.

Ah! The beds! A true flavor of the 1800s - when the populace used to sleep on corded bed frames topped with straw mattresses. High down/feather beds were more popular - Warm cozy during cold winter nights, and catching the breeze in the summer. I will never forget the experience of the true thing I had when I was a little girl, in my uncle’s farmhouse.
So, Armstrong Inns ‘s beds are also very high. We provide step ladders. Our thick down/feather mattresses lay on the top of regular mattresses and box springs. If a bed does not look puffy, it is not the real thing. Our guests love it!
I wish you success in your future travels.. Would love to have you again!.
Sincerely,
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second trip to the Armstrong Inn B&B! Once again everything was perfect. Breakfast is amazing and beautiful. The chef prepares the breakfast at night and stores it in your personal frig..... which is perfect. We could eat whenever our little hearts desired. One morning we had french toast stuffed with lemon cream and pecans / sausage onion blue cheese and apple quiche with fruits, cheese, juice & lots of baked goodies. To prepare the breakfast all you need to do is put it in the toaster over for 5-10 mins.The coffee is was still making while we heated the food so it was NOT inconvenient at all. Speaking of the coffee its an amazing local roast too. The staff will plan your trip and do ANYTHING you need. The inn is walking distance from ALL of downtown. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary this trip we visited the gorgeous Tybee Island, took a tour of homes, did a carriage ride, ate fine southern foods, walked the beautiful streets & enjoyed the gardens. Savannah is the most romantic city and the staff at the Armstrong Inn helps you get the insiders view of that. I cant wait to plan our 3rd trip to the carriage house!!!!

Room Tip: I love the carriage house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxiewin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were two baby boomer women (childhood friends) who decided to spent one night and two days in Savannah as a "girlfriends' weekend." After meeting the engaging and charming Monique at her home, and hearing her excellent recommendations for restaurants and guides for walking tours, we followed her in our car the several blocks to the Jenkins House (with her two adorable Wheaten Terriers). It was so much more than we could have hoped for. Private little house; off street free parking; little courtyard space with fountain; adorable kitchen and a unique living space with TWO gas fireplaces, comfy couch and chairs; lovely oil landscapes painted by Monique's husband, antiques, objets d'art….upstairs (staircase NOT for anyone who has difficulty with stairs-- note the bathroom is upstairs) two beautiful bedrooms with featherbeds! Nice shower with multiple shower heads. Location--not in the center of the historic district but only several short blocks to Forsyth Park. Bottle of nice Ca. wine, cheese, crackers, sweets awaited us. Nice savory breakfast strata, fruit, scone, etc. also.
Overall just a great experience. Not inexpensive but a lovely spot. Would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sassy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest from New York,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. Savannah is such a great destination for family and friends gathering. I hope to have the privilege to serve you again.
Yours truly,
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently rented the Tattnall House and Chatham Suites for our entire immediate family to celebrate our wedding in Savannah. We'd like to thank the staff and owners for making the weekend so memorable and relaxing. We chose this B&B in large part because it could accommodate our toddler and give our family a little more space and autonomy than a traditional inn. It provided that and, much to our delight, wonderful food as well. Breakfast and our afternoon snacks were truly fantastic (no need to be skeptical of the refrigerator with prepared food - each morning provided the best breakfasts I've ever had in a B&B).

Additionally, the Inn provided a wedding planner to help us get everything arranged since we live in the Midwest and couldn't be there to plan in person. Doreen was amazing! Not only did she line everything up but she arrived on the wedding day to set up and even cut and served our cake after the ceremony. I just can't say enough great things about how wonderful she was to work with, eager to accommodate our needs, and organized in her planning!

Thank you to everyone there for meeting our unique set of needs and a making our wedding so perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Nicole,

It was a joy to be part of the celebration of your wedding. Thank you for giving us the privilege to serve you and your beautiful family. Your feedback on our food services answers frequent questions from the viewers on our stocked in-room breakfasts and desserts. Very helpful!
My best wishes for many, many years to come overflowing with Peace and Love, good health & prosperity.
Yours truly,
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a great weekend we just had in Savannah! It was great staying in this historic restored carriage house that has everything you might want or need. Although it was listed as a bed and breakfast I was a little skeptical with the "stocked" refrigerator for our breakfast each morning. Let me tell you, each morning after heating for ten minutes, the breakfasts were not only different each morning they were delicious! Could not have been better even if there was a chef in the kitchen each morning. Also,cannot forget the other touches like an arrival bottle of wine with cheese and crackers and the sweets left each day. The house itself is like staying in a very comfortable townhouse that feels like coming home after a long day of walking Savannah each day! It made for a very romantic anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear guest, Thank you for your helpful review. It provides valuable information on our in-suite delicious breakfasts. More B&Bs in our days offer the luxury of in-room gourmet breakfasts for the guests to enjoy on their own time. It is suitable for more privacy and relaxation. Our breakfasts include pre-cooked breakfast/brunch dishes that need to `be warmed up. Easy!

And the romance goes on…. "Les amoureux sont seuls au monde… " (Edith Piaf). True.

My best wishes,

Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Savannah GA. over St Patty's day. The quaint room with its own garden was so relaxing and romantic.
We had our own private garden, kitchenette, fireplace and they even left us a bottle of wine. It rained the whole time we were there but we still were able to sit out in the garden under the overhang with lit candles they provided and drink wine with cheese and crackers.
The breakfast and snacks that were provided were delicious and unlike other B&B's so private.
Right in the middle of Savannah so we were able to walk everywhere without ever moving our car. That was even better considering it was St.Patty's day weekend and parking spaces were at a premium.
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
999 reviews
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
222 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 554 E Taylor St, Savannah, GA 31401-5024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £167 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRIVATE INNS WITH B&B SERVICES & AMENITIES IN HISTORIC SAVANNAH - TRUE TASTE OF THE SOUTH. Let us serve you in the absolute privacy of your very own small historic townhome, located in the old section of the Historic District. The perfect setting for elopements, honeymoons, families with children, romantic getaways, girls gatherings. Pets welcome. Period decors, luxurious beddings, gas fireplaces, private courtyards/balconies and the convenience of a private kitchen. RATES INCLUDE: --- Bottle of wine & cheese delivered to your room before your arrival *** In-suite desserts & full breakfast stocked in the afternoon in your own private kitchen. Luxurious amenities. Complete concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Inns b&b
Armstrong Inns Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing