We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in lovely Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Monique is the ultimate hostess! We spent two nights at Jenkins House last weekend with our very spoiled, well traveled Rottweiler. The townhouse provided perfect experience of being "at home" in this magical city without the need to cook & clean for yourself. The location is ideal for exploring the historic district with parking right outside your door. Couldn't ask for a better experience for our first trip to Savannah. Hope to see you soon, Madame Monique. Thanks again for your incredible hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DosDragones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

B&Bs can be great for families too! We stayed here for 3 nights on a trip around the country with our two teenage boys. We fit perfectly in the charming, super-clean Jenkins House, and Monique's attention to our food allergies was even more perfect! She made sure we had delicious gluten-free breakfasts AND snacks to eat at our leisure, and helped us find great things to do during our visit. She even gave us coupons to a wonderful musical at the historic Savannah Theater and pointed out places to go on the map. Most importantly, the plush beds and the spacious 4-sprayer shower rejuvenated us for more fun. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Jenkins house with kitchen and laundry is a great value for families!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwirledPiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We serve great families year long at the Armstrong Inns. It makes the grandmother in me very happy. I am grateful to our guests with children for sharing on Trip Advisor. Their feedback is valuable to us and can help like minded travelers with children as they plan their next family trip.

Welcome to moms! You deserve our tender loving care.

Au plaisir.

Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were two families who stayed at the Carriage House on Chatham Square. This was a perfect situation in that we had separate floors each with a kitchen and a common area in between. The house is furnished magnificently with outdoor seating for both families. Monique is a wonderful hostess who came by at least once a day to bring us goodies for the next day and share her experiences and recommendations. The location is a little far from the center of town and the river but it is walkable. Enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchBoyBayside_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guests of the Chatham House on Chatham Square. Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. You are correct, Chatham Suite is located on Chatham Square, 10 minutes walking distance to the Center of town and 15 minutes to the River. The Chatham Square neighborhood was built originally before 1850. It was rebuilt around 1850s in brick masonry by ordinance from the city to reinforce protection against major fires, like those who had destroyed entire neighborhoods in the past. The bricks were on plantations around here. Each square in Savannah is at the center of small neighborhood communities living 2 blocks around it. A while back, I moved my residence 1 ½ block away from Whitefield Square. I feel at home in both neighborhood. I love the small community life style. So special in America. You will love the experience.

Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Chatham Suite, and it was beyond extraordinary. The property
is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, and private. The owners and staff aim to please and took special care of us during our stay. The bed was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom had a very nice tub and refreshing rain shower which felt very good after a day spent touring this lovely city. The kitchen and living area were restored and decorated with carefully chosen accessories and furnishings. We had everything we needed! We enjoyed our visit to Savannah, and highly recommend Armstrong Inns as a place to stay and enjoy the luxuries that this property has to offer. Thanks to Monique, Kirsten and the rest of the staff. You made our stay perfect, and we can't wait to revisit Savannah!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest of Chatham Suite, Thank you very much for your thoughtful feedback. Until your next visit to Savannah, my best wishes of Peace, Love and good health.
Yours truly,
Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This highly-rated B&B has everything you would look for-- amenities including a private garden courtyard, home-cooked breakfast and pastries, and engaging and helpful inn-keeper in Monique. We stayed in the Carriage House, which is a small and private 2-story structure including a full kitchen downstairs and bedroom and bath upstairs. There were, however, minor shortcomings when considering the price and how highly rated this establishment is compared to other B&Bs in Savannah. For example, the air-conditioning in the Carriage House emits a musty odor, the fixtures and furnishings are a tired due to age, and the bathroom very cramped. Also, the location, though technically in the historic district of Savannah, is on the outskirts and faces a large school grounds, rather than being nestled among the beautiful squares of Savannah.

All in all, a very good place, but not the most luxurious given the price-point and high-rating on Trip-Advisor.

Note: our experience is limited to the Carriage House; the other rooms may be more updated.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank RDfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Carriage House June 1st - 5th, we loved it! We chose the Armstrong Inns for their privacy - the Carriage House was perfect for us! It was a cozy, beautifully decorated charming little apartment with everything you need for your stay - full kitchen, dishwasher, washer & dryer, a beautiful, a private entrance, a relaxing courtyard and a friendly courtyard cat!

Monique and her staff were wonderful, warm & friendly (we met lovely Rodney her contractor who keeps the properties in tip top shape). If there is anything you need, just ask! (Thank you again for the beach chairs, bug bite creme and BBQ recommendation!) Every afternoon we were delighted to see breakfast for the morning - so delicious! And the brownies were amazing!

The Carriage House is located 1.1 miles from the Riverfront according to our GPS. We found it to be about a 20 minute stroll - it was lovely to explore all the beautiful squares and historic streets. Savannah is heaven!

We can't wait to visit Savannah again, and we will absolutely be staying with Monique on one of her beautiful properties!!!

Room Tip: Carriage house was very private!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poirier, Owner at Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Indeed the Armstrong Residence and Carriage are steps away to either Whitefield Square or Troup Square, or 5 minutes walking distance to Forsyth Park, in a charming Historic Neighborhood. There is a beautifully landscaped park across the street, Mother Mathilda Baisley Park, stretched along several city blocks, with a lawn in the middle accommodating little leagues and big leagues during their baseball or football games. There are picnic tables and a, top of the line, little kids playgroud located in one of the shady areas of the park.
William, picked this location for its magnificent sunrises and impressive views of ever changing skies, across our East Broad façade. I am thankful every day for living under the enchanting canopy of old Live Oak trees with Spanish Moss growing on both side of East Broad, as far as you can see.
Life is good in Savannah. I agree with Maggie “Savannah is Heaven”.

Moniqque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We chose to stay in the Garden Suite for our destination wedding trip to Savannah. We fell in love with it from the moment we walked in. The bed was fluffy and luxuriously comfortable, but the best feature was the private garden. We would have breakfast there and then relax there again after our days activities. Monique was very responsive to our needs and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The location on Chatham Square was excellent for walking almost anywhere within the Historic District. We hope to return in the future for anniversary celebrations!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,805 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Catherine Ward House Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 554 E Taylor St, Savannah, GA 31401-5024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £197 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRIVATE INNS WITH B&B SERVICES & AMENITIES IN HISTORIC SAVANNAH - TRUE TASTE OF THE SOUTH. Let us serve you in the absolute privacy of your very own small historic townhome, located in the old section of the Historic District. The perfect setting for elopements, honeymoons, families with children, romantic getaways, girls gatherings. Pets welcome. Period decors, luxurious beddings, gas fireplaces, private courtyards/balconies and the convenience of a private kitchen. RATES INCLUDE: --- Bottle of wine & cheese delivered to your room before your arrival *** In-suite desserts & full breakfast stocked in the afternoon in your own private kitchen. Luxurious amenities. Complete concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armstrong Inns b&b
Armstrong Inns Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing