We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Bayfield, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just returned from a 5 night visit to Savannah and was really impressed with our hotel. Spacious king with comfortable bed and ample seating, good selection of food for breakfast which is included in room rate, friendly and helpful staff and great location for walking to all the squares, restaurants, River Street and Visitors Centre.
Upon arriving at Savannah airport, our pre-booked van from Coastal Regional Coaches was awaiting us and the fare is only $3.00 per senior One Way. Please have exact change. They provide this service Monday to Friday inclusive 6:00 am to 6:00 pm 1-866-543-6744

Chatham Area Transit(CAT) offers service to and from airport for .75 cents per senior one way, and $1.50 I think for adults. Their schedule did not meet our requirements for arrival and departure times. 1-912-233-5767

Hope this helps you when you plan your trip to Savannah

Because there is no restaurant onsite. only a large breakfast room, I did not give any ratings for restaurant below.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuddles1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    427
    155
    69
    22
See reviews for
431
433
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We thought we had booked into the other Hampton Inn on Bay Street; but after staying at this one on MLK, we were very happy with our choice. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The included hot breakfast buffet was amazing and really saved us a lot of money. Valet parking fees seem to be the norm in the historic district of Savannah, but this Hampton Inn was $5.00 less than it would have been at the Bay Street location. The Inn & Suites is just a couple of blocks from the Visitor's Center, where we could park on the day of our late departure. We walked everywhere and found that being several blocks south of the river made everything more accessible on foot.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the 4th floor, and it was quiet enough for sleeping late even with rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indysnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
276 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is the second year in a row I have stayed here for a conference. The bad stuff: They changed from free parking to valet parking, and the valet parking was HORRIBLE! The guy told me the wrong number to call (so I called a guest's room!); when I finally was connected to them, I asked for my car, but when I got downstairs, I still had to wait in line and give them my ticket. Then they adjusted my steering wheel, my seat, my mirrors, etc. It's like they pushed every button in the car. Come on! Also bad: only one elevator, and it was verrrrrry slow.

Good: the rooms are gorgeous and the beds are really comfy. They still have cookies. The wireless internet works well. The breakfast is outstanding for a chain-- bacon, scrambled eggs, waffles, yum!

Room Tip: try to avoid the valet parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridalibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville sc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here five nights. I got to know several of the staff and found everyone courteous and helpful. When I found out I needed to stay over an extra night, the front desk folks worked with me to watch the cancellations so I could stay in the same room. The parking vallet system works well. The breakfast has a good deal of variety and there is plenty of seating room. Nice lounge area off the lobby with comfortable furniture and a large TV. There are some outside tables and chairs that are convienent for waiting while the vallet's bring your car up, or for enjoying breakfast outside.

Room Tip: There is a nice wide stair case in the lobby that goes to the 2nd floor where the meeting rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dguff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta ,Ga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Spent Labor Day weekend with 4 kids ages 7-17. Hotel clean and has "at home" kind of feeling. Front desk I think... Jamilah was great. Granted a late check-out with a smile. Breakfast area had typical crowd of a holiday and typical midgrade hotel breakfast. Nice "tucked in a corner", quaint sitting area. Although it was a holiday weekend my teenage girls still needed to have a study hour, and the area was perfect. Great hideaway to read or just relax outside of hotel room.

Walking distance to River Street and dining, but please be advised that the hotel is on the outer edge of the center of attraction and it will require a longer stroll. Don't fret enjoy the trees, shade, and scenery Check out the albums on the table in the lobby, It provides some nice historic pics and info. I also noticed that many booked the ghost tour.

We drove to Tybee Island for a beach day, island is not far away. We REALLY enjoyed the island being fairly close to the hotel as well. It allowed us to experience Savannah's River Street and a little island flavor all in one trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOJO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lula, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Very clean property, good location for walking! On the edge of the historic district in a walking town. Can walk to City Market, River Street, Visitor's Center, lots of resturants. Definitely a repeat visit is in order!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side, street side is a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Lula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blois, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the early september.
The exterior look of the hotel is terrific, the lobby is well decorated too.
Our rooms (one double queen bed and one king) were nice, typically hampton (in a good way). Bathroom was big but our shower (no tub) looked dirty because the paint was peeling in the shower tray.
All hampton hotels have free wifi and breakfast and that's a big plus for me!
The pool was nice (it would be a lot better with more lounge chairs for everybody), clean and warm.
The location could be better (you have to walk a little bit to go to the main entertainment area with all the restaurants) but overall it was a nice stay and we would probably be back if we have to go in Savannah again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela31328, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your review of out property! I appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve upon our guests' experiences. Will you please let me know what room you were in so that we can address the paint issue in the bathroom area?

Please let me know if you need assistance in the future. I am more than happy to assit you personally with your future travel into Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing