We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This classic historic hotel in short walking distance of city center is a perfect location for anyone visiting Savannah for pleasure. Just 2 blocks from the bus terminal (all tour buses leave from this location) and with its proximity to city center, you can park your car and leave it there while in town. And if you want to venture out to the shore and/or fort Pulaski, the route is very convenient to the hotel. And before I forget, the staff here is super friendlly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed over a weekend. Our room was on the first floor, adjacent to the main street (Oglethorpe). We heard loud street noises all night long. The room had an old TV that could not receive High Definition, so it was only possible to tune in a few channels; not even the local stations. We had to sit in the library to watch TV. Management told us the hotel was full, so they could not change our room or bring in a better TV. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly (even though front desk could not help our situation). We did like the rather soft mattress, and the room decor and furnishings were very nice. The parking lot is rather small, so all overflow parking is across a very busy street (MLK Drive), which I had to do the first night. Also, they charge $5.00 per night for the privilege. The breakfast was good and varied, but there were not enough tables to accommodate all the people; many of them sitting anywhere they could find a chair or bench, although they did put out some folding tables on Saturday morning. Next time we are in Savannah, we will find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere except the side adjacent to Oglethorpe Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalF330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our family stayed in a two queen suite and we were very pleased. Our room was nice and clean, our beds were comfortable, and the staff was top notch! We were so impressed with the staff...this includes front desk clerks, housekeepers and maintenance employees. Breakfast was great. Pool was nice. This Hampton is on the outer limits of what we consider the Historic District, so it is a bit of a hike to River Street area. The hotel was very busy when we visited and parking was sparse. We parked in a lot across a busy four lane road which was difficult with small children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel can get quite crowded during weekends, especially with troop visits and games. But, the hotel is very comfortable and the breakfast is very good. There's coffee 24/7 and cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We felt like this hotel is well-run. Our experience, including the service of the staff and the quality of the breakfast, was very positive.
We stayed in a two queen studio suite which served our family (2 adults, 3 kids under 7) very well. We did not have any parking issues, though I think the hotel was not at capacity. It was a good choice, and a good value considering its location on the western edge of the historic district.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank jlfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here to keep my Hilton Honors points active. The Hampton is at the seedy edge of the historic district. Breakfast was crowded. Staff had trouble keeping up. Room was typical Hampton and of good quality. Parking tight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nice hotel. Staff helpful and location in relation to historic is wonderful. Only drawback was the number of school aged children running around in the common areas and at breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gator2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £110 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing