We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine just avoid rooms on the Oglethorpe side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This Hampton is VERY conveniently located for visitors to Savannah or parents of SCAD students. It's fine: clean, friendly, and well-managed. But be sure to avoid the rooms that are on the Oglethorpe Ave side, especially on the lower floors (e.g. even-numbered rooms starting with "1"). We were in one of these the 1st floor rooms and sleeping (trying to) 25 feet from trucks, motorcycles, etc. on this major truck route. Since we were staying only briefly we didn't try to change rooms - I'm sure they would've accomodated us if they could.
Parking, and this is very typical of downtown Savannah, you may be parking in one of the overflow lots that feel a little sketchy at night. Again, we had no problems, but just be prepared.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank CharlieSledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here while visiting our daughter who attends SCAD. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do in Savannah. We could walk over to our daughter's dormitory, to restaurants, to shopping, and just around the beautiful historic district. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. There is not much parking right in the lot next to the hotel, but they have space in a lot across the street, which was easy enough. The car was safe and secure. They serve a large breakfast buffet each morning, which was adequate. It gets VERY crowded in the breakfast room. Make sure you go visit the Juliette Gordon Lowe House if you want to see one of the historic mansions. This is the birthplace of Girl Scouts, and the tour is well worth it. Ask for Fiona. She is the best tour guide.

Room Tip: The rooms as quite soundproof. One on a higher floor will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel on April 8 & 9, 2013. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. The gentleman that checked us in was a pleasure. The only problem we had was the frig was loud. We would suggest putting at least one comfortable chair in the room.

Room Tip: The king is a great choir
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy29803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at your hotel and would definitely stay there again. It was just me and my daughter having a nice trip to Savannah--we felt safe and well taken care of. We slept like babies after a day of sightseeing. Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVHIS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you so much for your comments regarding our wonderful property that we are so proud of! We couldnt be happier that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful historic city of the south! We hope that you will come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I travel a lot, and if I can help it stay at Starwood properties. I'm a Platinum there, and have been for nine years running. I'm also a Hilton Gold, mostly from stays at Hampton Inns where there's no Starwood option.

While the location isn't as convenient as the Bay Street property, it's still eminently walkable and very convenient to the Historic District and River St. You're not going to get a view from the room but in a city such as Savannah why the heck are you spending that much time in the room anyway?!

Our wedding party was dispersed amongst this property, the Hyatt and the Springhill Suites. This was the ONLY ONE that didn't smell strongly of mildew in the lobby and (many of the) rooms. The service was impeccable from day one and extremely warm and friendly. Can't beat the cookie tray in the evenings either. Ok, I'm a sucker for cookies. This property also had the best recognition for Golds I've seen yet at a property. Most Hamptons don't even acknowledge status!

The weekend was EXTREMELY busy and almost all hotels in Savannah were fully booked. Thus, they couldn't accommodate my request to move from a King to a 2 bed room. But they did try repeatedly and kept in contact with me to keep me updated.

Rooms were well-sized and appointed. Housekeeping was thoughtful enough (and I loved this, first time EVER at any hotel) to respect the Do Not Disturb sign hung on the door and instead of calling left fresh towels and toiletries bagged outside the door so we didn't run out. When I called down later to ask for housekeeping service, they accommodated with a smile.

Room Tip: If you can, ask to be towards the back of the property on the parking lot side. It was virtually sil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OyVeyzMeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVHIS, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our hotel property! We absolutely love recieving reviews of our property, especially when they are as kind as yours. Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic, we pride ourselves on immaculate customer service and hotel cleanliness. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel over her spring break. Everyday, we walked throughout the beautiful historic district eating at fabulous restaurants and enjoying music in the parks and squares. The hotel was perfect for our needs.
The beach in only a 20 minute drive from this location. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is not quite in the historic district, it a several block walk to the historic district. That said, the room was well appointed and quite spacous, certainly more spacious than other Savannah hotels I have stayed at. Whilst I did not have any problems parking (because I was lucky enough to get a spot right in front of the hotel), the parking lot is quite small. They have a larger parking annex, though it's further from the hotel. Breakfast was as expected for a Hampton Inn, nothing to write home about, but free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £116 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing