We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Hampton Inn in Savannah is just on the edge of the historical district, its prices are therefore better than the hotels right in it and yet it has a perfect location. This hotel has a feeling of the old south due to high ceilings and a great lobby area. We have stayed there twice en route to and from Florida and will do so again. Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in the historic area of Savannah March 28th. The staff was exceptional, accommodations were excellent and the location for exploring Savannah can't be beat. It is definitely worth the drive from I-95 to get there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

First there are very few parking places near the hotel. They charge a parking fee of $15 and you park 3 blocks from the hotel. The room was way overpriced for what it was. When we arrived there were no towels or wash clothes in the bathroom. The carpet was stained in many places and looked unclean. The refrigerator was missing a leg and froze all of our stuff because it was broken and wouldn't shut off. The sofa looked half worn out. There was mold around some edges of the tub in the bathroom. The room was noisy. We heard our neighbors normal conversations through the walls. Heard the kids playing in the pool. We were on the third floor. It was just bad for what we paid. Location is all this hotel has going for it at the price they are charging.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. We had a room on the ground floor facing the street and it was extremely noisy. The street noise is very audible in the room. It was too cold to swim, but the pool looked nice and clean. Overall, a very pleasant stay and great value!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the street are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicotheanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We wanted a room at the Hampton Inn closer to the river bit they only had king rooms available. This hotel is at the far edge of the historic district--not too far but not in the heart of everything. Our room was on the first floor, facing Oglethorpe and directly across the street from the bus terminal. It was loud all of the time with street noise and people walking by. We even had people knock on our window. The parking lot on.property was always full so we had to park at the Embassy Suites garage a block away...for which we had to pay $15/night. Breakfast was awful--instant eggs, watery oatmeal and a broken toaster. The coffee had no taste and looked like it had been watered down. The staff was friendly which is the only thing that kept me from rating this property a 1. We'll be back to Savannah but not at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank aanniea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We only had two main gripes about this place, and both were probably unavoidable--the place was PACKED with Girl Scouts and the elevators were all broken. That said, if you could get to the breakfast buffet, it was good, and if you could scale the five flights of stairs to your room, it was all right. The shower was a little ramshackle and the room was actually pretty small, but it was comfortable and clean enough. The location was excellent for our purposes and overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel during St Patrick's Day weekend, which was a very busy weekend in Savannah! I must say that it was very well organized,considering the amount of people in town for that time. There was a gentleman named William and another young lady at the front desk when we checked in and they were extremely helpful and welcoming! They gave us wristbands at the time of check-in, which I have never experienced before, but they explained that it was to keep people that were not guest out of the hotel. I like that bc as a woman travelling, at times I do feel concerned about safety. The location was spot on, it was literally a 10 minute walk from River Street which was perfect! The hotel was extremely clean and just beautiful all around. I enjoyed my stay and would def stay again! The only concern I did have was the parking, which was $15 a day, but at least I know that my car is somewhat safe and the fact that just anybody could not come in, was somewhat comforting. (You have to have a room key to access the parking garage, so to me that somewhat guarantees I have a parking spot lol )..Plus it is somewhat expected when staying downtown, but I do feel at the price point these rooms are set at, they could include parking as an extra bonus :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £116 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing