We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service! But bland biscuit”
Review of B Matthew's Eatery

B Matthew's Eatery
Ranked #34 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Habersham
Description: Serving hungry devotees since 2007, B. Matthew's is a locally loved hidden gem nestled in historic Savannah, GA. Home of one of the oldest standing taverns in the Southeast, this little eatery boasts impressive accolades, awards, & praise for their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, & Brunch.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service! But bland biscuit”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Second time visiting B Matthews. Made a reservation online for 8:45 on a Saturday morning, we got there 5 minutes late and were sat immediately. We noticed that it got much busier about 9:15, with people waiting. We got the Garden Benedict and breakfast scramble; both were great. The Scramble had a biscuit on the side that was rather bland. The service the great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    468
    146
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food and ambiance”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Enjoyed a lovely meal and great wine with a colleague/friend while on business in Savannah. The gnocchi were heavenly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank antonia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Must Eat”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Some of the BEST food I've ever eaten & the service is incredible. My friend didn't like her drink and only had a couple sips so they didn't charge her for it. The food is unique and delicious. The server was polite, kind, very helpful & super friendly. He insisted that if we didn't like what we ordered he would replace it with something else. He was more than willing to help us and answer any questions we had about the area and Savannah in general. This is the place you have to eat at if you are in Savannah.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. We went on a Friday morning and it was busy enough that we sat at the bar (around 10am), but it was very nice. The service was great-enough attention without being too much.
The menu is great: a delicious balance between sweet and savory dishes and not as heavy as some of the other breakfasts that I had in Savannah. I had the maple cakes with bacon (delicious bacon!) as well as a mimosa and my husband had eggs with the grits, turkey sausage, and potatoes. All wonderful and my favorite breakfast while I was in Savannah.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellibeth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal and services”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped in for a nice meal our first night in Savannah. Nice, urban yet intimate atmosphere. We were sat immediately (it was a Wednesday night) and enjoyed a great meal. Our server was really nice and made some great recommendations. They bring a bread to the table with aa honey almond butter... this stuff if dangerous, its so good. This place has a ton of Gluten Free options on the menu which is nice for those on a GF diet. We had the fried green tomatoes which were delicious and also tried the shrimp and grit bites. We found to be the shrimp a little overcooked in this dish. The lamb Shank was really well done and so was the gnocchi on the lighter fare menu which was done in a tomato based sauce which was really yummy. I've traditionally had gnocchi in a heavy cheese sauce so this lighter version was tasty and not so filling. Great place to catch a meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganMcReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B Matthew's Eatery also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to B Matthew's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing