We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs, Bugs, Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #101 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The only people that would be happy here would be lizards and frogs. My husband and I were on our way back to NC from FL and decided to spend a couple of days in Savannah. We are not unaccustomed to staying at older motels and tend to like the charm of them. We went to front desk and paid for 3 nights after the desk manager allowed us to look at room (this should have been our first red flag). The room was a little run down but like I said nothing that we weren't used to seeing. We decided to explore Savannah a bit before it got dark and then got something to eat. When we returned to the room we turned on the TV and after pulling back the comforter to check the sheets (habit from a bad past experience) we saw a large bug on the far wall. My Husband being my hero killed it and then we laid down to watch the TV. About 20 minutes later we looked back at the wall and saw about 20 small bugs crawling around. We proceeded to throw everything in our car and go the front desk. The night clerk offered to move us to another room, but I told her that I would not be able to sleep thinking that bugs would be crawling on me. The same manager that checked us in came out and said that she could only give us 2 nights refund-this after she could not find our name in the first place because they put under the wrong room number in the computer system. My Husband and I protested very loudly that we shouldn't be penalized because they had bugs in their rooms. The manager proceed to condesendingly say "yes ma'am" and roll her eyes at me. She gave my Husband a card with the "corporate number" on it which only rang back to the hotel or rang disconnected. The General Manager Mike that was listed supposedly stayed on the property but wasn't available. The night clerk went to the room the inspect for bugs but came back saying she didn't see anything and stated that we had messed up the bed. My Husband and I found another place to stay, but returned to the hotel 3 times the next day to get a full refund and got a different story everytime about where Mike was (he was out, he wasn't in yet, they didn't know when or if he would be in). We wrote an email to Corporate from their main website only to recieve a form letter back stating that all complaints had to go through the owner of the hotel since they are all franchisees. We have yet to hear anything. Avoid this hotel chain at all costs. It seems like they are all run the same way and have no accountability to their customers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kibi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

my boyfriend and I had to spend two nights there, and we DIDN'T enjoy it. Everything was dirty in this yellowish, suspicious way, the carpet was all sticky and stinky, with wet stains and blaaahhh... and the lady on the counter was kinda scary and rude. it's cheap, but I don't think it's actually worth a dime. if you're not entirely broke please go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 January 2011

We regret to hear you had a bad experience during your stay with us. As a result of guest feedback like yours. You may be happy to know we have made changes in our staff and in our Rug Cleaning service company. We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: evite os quartos mais próximos da rua, apesar de não ser movimentada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wlamir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizifree66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisav, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarantula56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
3  Thank sunnyheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 January 2011
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
8.4 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#99 of 115 in Savannah
116 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah I-95
La Quinta Inn Savannah I-95
#98 of 115 in Savannah
959 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
#86 of 115 in Savannah
91 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#70 of 115 in Savannah
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 4005 Ogeechee Rd, Savannah, GA 31405-1315
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: £40 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing