We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay for our Anniversary!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Justine Inn Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Justine Inn Savannah
Ranked #5 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic Stay for our Anniversary!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay at The Olde Savannah Inn for our 21st Anniversary. This was our first B & B experience as global travelers with very high standards. Kathleen exceeded all of our expectations. The Provence Room is beautiful, elegantly decorated and very comfortable. The fireplace was especially nice with the seasonably cold weather. The breakfast was a gourmet experience...Kathleen's homemade beignets were the best I've had and a welcomed surprise. We enjoyed having a glass of wine in the Inn's elaborate main living room with our Hostess. Kathleen made our stay a very memorable experience. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    42
    15
    25
    16
See reviews for
82
1,086
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Kathleen was very welcoming as soon as we stepped through the door as was Mr. Cooper. The food was amazing and plentiful! Kathleen had great knowledge of the area and places to visit. She even set us up on a tour all we had to do was show up. I would have liked a little more privacy in our bathroom area as it and the bed area where pretty much the same room. However it did have the most comfortable bed and pillows ever and a beautiful view of the garden. We will definitely be returning and hope that we get more of Kathleen's French toast and red velvet cake!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the Olde Savannah Inn with my Mom and had a lovely time. It is a truly beautiful home, very elegant. Personally I enjoyed the innkeepers dog but if you're not a dog person I could imagine that a potential issue. Kathleen is very friendly and outgoing, and clearly works very hard to run her business and please her guests. I don't think this scenario is for everyone since it is very different from being at a hotel. But if you're looking for a B&B, visit the Olde Savannah for a great location, beautiful and elegant decor in the home, delicious breakfasts, and lots of interesting conversation with the inn keeper.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Old Savannah Inn was recommended by a friend when we were trying to find a place to go for our honeymoon. She mentioned the inn and of course Kathleen's wonderful cooking. Upon arriving we were greeted by a very warm and welcoming Kathleen. Troy immediately spotted the chocolate chip cookies. :) Our room was beautiful, clean and inviting. Each day we had a huge breakfast that kept us going as we toured the city. Kathleen was great with suggestions and ideas as to how to spend our days. I can't forget to mention Mr. Cooper. Coming from a house with 3 dogs, I was missing my babies. He made it not so bad. I would absolutely recommend The Old Savannah Inn to anyone staying in Savannah. As a matter of fact I have already picked out our next room to stay in when we visit. :) Thanks Kathleen and Mr. Cooper for a great experience.

Katie and Troy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just came back from a trip to Savannah and Charleston, celebrating our anniversary. Our visit to Savannah was just wonderful. We stayed in the best bedroom we had ever been before in a B&B. It had a limestone jacuzzi in an amazing sunny bathroom, all decorated with antiques and very good taste. Perfect for a romantic getaway. A beautiful house in a perfect location, just steps away from Forsyth park.
Breakfast was beautifully presented and Kathleen was very helpful with suggestions for our first time visit. She even had tickets for us for the Trolley bus, so we could just jump on one in any stop.
We are a well travelled couple, originally from Barcelona and we really like visiting historical sites and staying in authentic places, and this for sure is one. We're looking forward to go back again!

Room Tip: The Versailles room has an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathy1951, Owner at Justine Inn Savannah, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Our first conversation was an introduction to a wonderful rapport. I wish you stayed longer ...I understand, you had to drive back to Charleston. I hope you returned safely to Mass and it isn't too cold. I do miss the snow. I am glad you glad you got a peek at Savannah but you need to come back and see me and Mr. Cooper. Please send people this way so that I can offer them the same experience in the Versailles. This is the most spectacular suite in Savannah. I am glad you loved it and raved about your brief stay. Say hello to Mass for me ...I will be home for Christmas...First break in 10 years. I am going to love it if it snows. I want a white Christmas. I am taking Mr. Cooper with me....Maybe see you soon, Hugs Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Five stars are not enough to give to this spectacular B&B! Me and my girlfriend flew in
from London jet lagged and exhausted to find fresh baked cookies, a giant bottle of champagne
and a warm and gracious host. Kathleen made us feel right at home when we came in, with a big hug and her charming Boston accent. Are room was cozy and inviting, with by the way, some of the most beautiful furnishings I had ever seen(we secretly joked that Kathleen might have robbed Buckingham Palace). Next morning I spent a half hour in the walk in sit down shower (most intoxicating shower I have ever had, kudos to the Provence Room) before coming up the stairs to find a three course gourmet breakfast waiting for us. Creme Brulet with homemade whip cream and bacon that was to die for. Kathleen's suggestions on what to see and where to eat were spot on. Elizabeth on 37th, The Pirates House, and The Pink House, just to name a few I would highly recommend. Kathleen is such a down to earth, hearty individual which I love, she tells it like it is which is a rare thing in this world. I would come back here in the blink of and eye. Are only regret was that we could not stay longer. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathy1951, Owner at Justine Inn Savannah, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We always love a returning guests. We will be getting ready for some travelers for Thanksgiving and the holidays so we will be making and baking all their favorite delights. I am so glad you have always loved The Olde Savannah Inn. We will continue to awe you with all the luxury and elegance that Savannah has to offer. We look forward to your next visit...For late travelers, we always try and make our famous soups to warm them up after a day of traveling and a than nestle into the most comfortable and luxurious bedding ...Wake up to candle light breakfast and big band music ...Let's not forget the French press beckoning you to our sun drenched breakfast room to meet friends you haven't met yet. Once again, thank you for allowing us to serve you and choosing The Olde Savannah Inn.

Hugs,

Kathleen and Mr. Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This could be a great place. Beautiful street and garden. I genuinely respect Kathleen's hard work. Her food is delicious and we loved Mr. Cooper. Although, if you're not dog people, he could be a problem, because he's underfoot in the dining room, etc.

Kathleen prides herself on decorum. Ironically, she really needs some lessons in that area.

Kathleen needs to learn how to be gracious in a subtle manner. A hostess shouldn't discuss her financial difficulties/hardships with guests. By the end of our short stay, we knew that she was in dire financial straits, trying to sell the Inn and resented the BOGO deals. We also knew that she felt that her clientele had gone downhill over the past several years, causing her to have to offer rooms at a much lower rate than she expected.

We like to make small talk, etc. and get to know other people, but this was just awkward. When it comes down to it, we're paying guests at a business establishment. Yes. It's a B&B, so the environment is different from a larger hotel, but it is still a place where money is exchanged for a service. The innkeeper isn't doing guests a favor by allowing them the privilege to pay for and spend the night at her personal residence.

Lastly, a polite hostess/innkeeper doesn't continually brag about her decor choices, definitely doesn't discuss finances and decorates with materials appropriate for continual use by a variety of guests. If damage is discovered in the room after a guest has left, send the guest a bill for the damages.

Kathleen isn't a bad person, but the profession of innkeeper is a poor choice for her. You go on vacation to relax and enjoy a respite from day to day issues. The purpose isn't to act as a sounding board for a disgruntled small business owner.

We hope that Kathleen is able to sell her business and move back to Boston, where she will hopefully be much happier. We wish her the best.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
29 Thank Maisygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathy1951, Owner at Justine Inn Savannah, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
I actually printed this review out so I can respond to all of this guest complaints...The Olde Savannah Inn is a great sanctuary for those who want to be pampered and expect the Best of a 5- star Bed and breakfast. Situated on one of the most prominent streets in Savannah . The Inn is in walking distance to all historic sites in which this reviewer stated. Breakfast is delicious and I am glad this guest loved it As far as Mr. Cooper, He is called in to the breakfast room as the guests love him. Most of the time, he is resting on his chair in the parlor. My guests have raved how calm he is...He is so lovable...He loves people and loves to play. I never could understand why it takes some guest so long after they leave to post a unfavorable review. Just do it in the car. Why wait 4 months ...You can insult me but one thing you can never deny is my eye for detail. My attention to detail is a gift. Where I went wrong and I think this guest was trying to point out that I should have been more practical when I designed the inn as some guests don't take care of your things and they do damage. First of all, if an innkeeper confronts a guest for damages before they leave, they refuse to accept ownership and the credit card companies always side with the card holder in most cases. What are owners of small business suppose to do when a guest is drinking red wine on the bed and destroys our bed linens? Who should be responsible.? It has happened a couple of times and both times, the customer refused to pay and became indignant when approached. I should have been more mindful as I designed this inn that most people don't care. For some reason, I thought it would be different. When I first opened, the crowd was different. They never squabbled about my prices and it has changed dramatically since 2008. I understand people are still scared to spend money but small business needs to start making money or they will become obsolete. We are the engine that drives the economy. We need to be able to pay our expenses and make profit. I am sorry that This guest thought I was a disgruntled Hostess. I speak the truth. I need to start making money for all the hard work I do and the quality I offer. Some guests will ask you things like this...Why don't you have any help. That is not a subject that should be discussed. That is my personal business. I could see if I didn't do an excellent job in performing as a dedicated Innkeeper but I go the extra length to offer all my guests a 5- star experience. They also ask you how is Savannah doing? If you are honest, this is what some will do. Wait for the opportunity to write a review like this. Prices in Savannah have been discounted even in high season due to the demand of travelers wanting deals. To get heads in the beds, we have to do what we can to hold on to our properties. I understand this is a paying guest and the every day life is arduous at best and I am sorry if my stress leaked out during her stay. I am human and it is not easy in this economy to battle these challenges alone. I wish I could sell this property as most owners do in Savannah, but I can't as the market hasn't climbed back up. I will do the best I can until I can go back to Boston...Everyone who is wise knows the b and b industry has fallen with the housing collapse. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that out. If we can survive all the vacation properties, hotels, and saturation of all the bed and breakfasts in Savannah, it will be a miracle. When I opened in 2006, we didn't have as much saturation and I sold the Versailles Court for $420 per night and this room was occupied all the time. At $294.000 which is 30% off the original price is a challenge .Has the situation changed in Savannah, absolutely but I will never speak of it again. I have learned my lesson.

In closing, I would like to response to this guests last comment. She wrote" the profession of the innkeeper is a poor choice for Kathleen" Just the opposite is true. Kathleen loves what she does but she is frustrated and tired of working like this and not seeing results. It is time to raise prices and see this inn get the recognition it deserves.

Last but not least, this guest hopes I sell my business and return to Boston...Wishes me the best. One thing about me is I speak from the heart. If this guest really wishes me the best, why would you post a damaging review like this. This statement is a contradiction...First of all, I would never write a review if I knew a business owner was in dire finances as she claims. Do you not think this review is going to do more harm to your finances. People are going to see this review and judge my inn from this guest perspective. I could never do this to anyone...I am a good person who devotes her life to others. I can't imagine hurting someone's business like this. ..For those who will judge me, I am sorry I failed this guest opinion of me, but there are many who love me and Mr. Cooper. I will hang on to hope that those who believe in me will still come and know that they will be offered an amazing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justine Inn Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justine Inn Savannah

Property: Justine Inn Savannah
Address: 217 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5611 (Formerly The Olde Savannah Inn)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Justine Inn Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Savannah Inn is a five bedroom exquisite privately owned refurbished inn elegantly designed in 2006 in French Renaissance. This is a rare inn with its extraordinary uniqueness and caters to the highest level of detail. This inn is a must see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Justine Inn Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Savannah Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing