We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Was Robbed Twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport
Ranked #63 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two straight months with a film crew while working on a feature film in Savannah. During that time, cash was stolen out of my room on two different occasions - upwards of $900 total. Once out of my suitcase, once out of my dresser drawer. A colleague of mine also had $500 taken from his nightstand.

Complaints and police reports were filed, but very little was done about this. After the first set of robberies, we were told that the suspected offender was let go. After the second robbery, the electronic lock activity on my room door showed that one of my keys was used to open my room while I was at work. This led me to check my nightstand for my spare key, which was missing. Nobody but myself and the housekeeping staff were ever in my room. It appeared to me that the staff found my key in my nightstand and used it to enter my room, having already found where I was hiding my money in my drawer.

I told the manager - Jake - and the police all of this, but they only implied that a colleague of mine may have taken the key - not possible, as nobody was ever in my room - or that I dropped it somewhere - also not possible, as it stayed in my nightstand after the second day I arrived.

The manager went on vacation shortly after the second occurrence and I never heard from him or the police again. When I asked the front desk staff for information, they told me they were instructed by the manager not to discuss the robberies with me, or any of my crew.

I am in charge of booking hotels for film crews when traveling. I will never use this or any other Staybridge Suites for business or personal use again. I have already told my colleagues in the Savannah area - including my travel agent - about this and have encouraged them to do the same.

As an added bonus we learned upon checking out that group stays are not eligible for Priority Club points, so we lived there for two months and received zero points.

It should be noted that the front desk staff - specifically Megan, Karen, and Brooke - were always extremely helpful and pleasant. My negative experience lies solely with management and housekeeping.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Hi Josh,

Thanks for your comments. We regret that you didn’t have a perfect stay and apologize for the inconvenience. When you're here, you're like family, and we're glad that our service team took good care of you. Megan, Brook, and Karin appreciate your kind comment and say "hello!"

In the future, you may want to consider securing all valuables and cash in a hotel safety deposit box or in-room safe while traveling. This provides the greatest peace of mind for travelers. The police department's investigation was unable to substantiate your claim upon auditing the lock log and entry records for your suite. Even so, we did take measures to amend the situation.

In regards to the loyalty points for your stay, your group's travel coordinator specifically excluded eligibility as a point for price negotiation for the group.

I'd be happy to talk with you more directly if you'd like. Just give me a call at your convenience.

Best regards,

Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here last week and this was a great place to stay. The people that work there are some of the nicest people I've met. You get a free hot breakfast every morning and a lite dinner with beer and wine every night. The rooms have bedrooms and the beds are very comfortable. Give it a try next time your in town!!!!

Room Tip: Sleep on the side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you are using a discount bidding website to reserve your room, beware. This hotel charges an additional $25 per person above 2, but they do not provide a room with 2 beds. The room is spacious but dated. The sofa bed is terrible. I would not stay here again. I could have stayed at a much nicer hotel for the same money (after the additional charge).

Room Tip: Don't book through a bidding website to book this hotel or you will end up paying much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Hi Tina,

Thanks for taking the time to post your comment. We're sorry you were displeased with the terms you agreed to when booking a reservation and also the room type your travel coordinator secured for you. As you know, we were sold out on the night of your stay and could not offer a room type different from what was reserved.

If you have specific requirements for future travel, it is helpful to contact the hotel directly prior to arrival. When we are aware of special needs, we're happy to help as we can. We look forward to seeing you again!

Hospitably,

Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great place to stay, but, we left some clothing hanging in the room after checking out. We called back to the hotel within a few hours but our clothes had 'vanished'. I suspect the room maids have our clothes and the hangers. I am calling the local police to report a theft. Advice? Watch your belongings carefully while at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Hi Mike,

Thanks for staying with us; I'm glad you consider us a great place to stay. We wish we had been able to find the outfit that you lost while traveling, but we just didn't find anything that matches the description you gave us. We did an thorough search of your suite, lobby, shuttle bus, luggage carts, lost and found lockers, and housekeeping areas---all to no avail. :(

You've indicated to our team that you'll be back soon, though. We appreciate that and look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Traveling south and got tired. I stopped and the front desk person was full of joy, this was at midnight! She was very helpful and friendly, making me feel welcome (a rarity in some places). My unit was awesome and I slept great.

Their hot breakfast is just like other hot breakfasts as far as eggs go. I just find the eggs always too salty in the scrambled and omelet. I am guessing they come out of the carton since everywhere they taste the same. ATLEAST they have fruit which is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xangotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I consider this a motel, being that it is only 3 floors. The rooms are well appointed and I believe all of them have kitchenettes. The breakfast buffet is more than sufficient with hot and cold foods available. There is also a happy hour from 5:30-7:30 Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. There are lots of choices of snacks during happy hour. One cannot walk anywhere from this facility but there is a shuttle bus that can be called if you need to get something from a local store. Overall, excellent motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. From the moment that you step in the place, you feel welcome and staff goes out of their way to ensure you have a great stay.

They host a social hour, 3 days a week, that is second to none. The menu changes each night but the Fresh "Create your own" Hoagie bar, salads etc were the best. Breakfast was great with a number of great options. Fresh fruit and coffee made for a great stay.

Room service was great and they kept room in top shape. My first choice when I have business in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenateBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Savannah Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Savannah Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Savannah Airport
Hyatt Place Savannah Airport
#21 of 115 in Savannah
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport

Address: 1 Clyde E Martin Dr, Savannah, GA 31408-8069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: £98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from Savannah International Airport and within 10 minutes of the historic downtown, the Staybridge Suites(R) Savannah hotel provides award-winning service to business travelers and vacationers alike. From residential-style suites with kitchens and living areas to state-of-the-art amenities, we have everything anyone could need for an unforgettable visit to Savannah.The hotel's corporate guests are sure to appreciate this convenient location and a staff that can help them get things done. In addition to the proximity to the Savannah Airport, the hotel's location makes accessing major area businesses, like Gulfstream Aerospace, FlightSafety, and International Paper, a breeze. We also offer easy access to downtown, shopping and an endless array of attractions for guests who want to explore the vibrant Southern culture and rich history of Savannah. The new Tanger Outlet Mall in Pooler, GA is within walking distance of the hotel and offers an array of shops and restaurants. The hotel's guests can explore River Street with just a 10-minute drive, or pay a visit to the nearby Mighty 8th Air Force Museum. An updated hotel gym, outdoor pool, and courtyard with BBQ grills and putting green enhance our interior amenities. Complimentary Breakfast: Weekdays 6:30AM-9:30AM, Weekends 7:30AM-10:30AM. Complimentary Social with drinks and eats: Tuesday through Thursday 5:30PM-7:30PM. Staybridge Suites hotels do not provide weekend housekeeping service for guests staying over on Saturday or Sunday nights. Towel exchange and replenishment of suite supplies is available 24-hours at the hotel's Front Desk. Rates at Staybridge Suites hotels are generally discounted based on length of stay. Altering your length of stay may impact your rate---contact the hotel's Front Desk for information specific to your reservation. Cash and checks are not accepted at this location. Pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Savannah Airport Hotel Savannah
Savannah Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing