We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour In Savannah By Far”

Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours
Ranked #3 of 145 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walking history tours of beautiful Bonaventure Cemetery with roundtrip transportation from Historic Downtown Savannah, all for about the same price as what other tour companies charge to "meet you out there." During the heat of Summer, our afternoon tour is a drive through tour of Bonaventure in air-conditioned comfort and includes sightseeing of Wormsloe Plantation, Isle of Hope, Majestic Oak, Victory Drive, Midtown Savannah and the waterways to the east of the city.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Tour In Savannah By Far”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My Wife and I went to Savannah on our honeymoon.
We took the Bonaventure Dash Tour on our first day at 2:00. Followed by 5 other tours in the following 4 days.
The Dash tour was by far the best tour we went on.
The other tours touched on specific places and the stories behind them.
Our Dash tour guide encompassed the whole history of Savannah from the beginning up until today.
Every tour we took after the Bonaventure Dash Tour was just repeating what our guide said, from stories of the houses, to the important people to the naming and relevance of the squares.

Our guide was extremely informative, he gave us the back story behind every grave on the tour and the person buried there.
To the extent that in one case, so we could better understand a family plot, he went back 4 generations in one family and explained who each person was, what their story was and why they were important to Savannah and the USA.
Excellent tour, no need for any other tours in Savannah, all the history you want to know you will find out on this tour. Any questions you have the guide will be able to answer them in a factual and informative way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowell72, Owner at Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Wow! That was nice to read.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
Thanks for that great review.


Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bonaventure Dash No Nonsense Winner”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the dilemmas of visiting Savannah is choosing which tour company to go with. Made some mistakes on this weekend visit but going with Bonaventure Dash with guide Don was certainly one of the best decisions made.

Don picks up the guests at their hotel or whereever preferred and delivers back to choice of location on return. Cool air conditioned bus on this hot and humid Saturday morning. As many have stated Don is native of Savannah and is quite an investigator of his facts so you can have high degree of certainty that his story is the fact and not some made up story that sounds good as repeated by most of the competition. Had a very interesting walking tour of the Bonaventure Cemetary which was not too short but not too long. Take plenty of water if it is hot and have your repellant on hand for the mosquitos. But prepare to be impressed with lots of history on the cementary residents and the history of the Savannah area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowell72, Owner at Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thanks for the review.
The Dash Tours mani concept is to provide as much service to our customers as possible and to make their visit to our hometown as pleasant as possible.
Glad we were able to accommodate you.

Safe travels and come again,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Don was an amazing guide and I highly recommend the tour. Don had so much knowledge and was so great at conveying all the history behind the people that now rest at Bonaventure. Don is also on the board of the historical society, so you know you are getting the truth. He definitely has a lot more knowledge into what really happened with these people versus the other tour companies.

This tour shouldn't be missed if visiting Savannah. The Bonaventure is so beautiful and coupled with the great knowledge of the guides you definitely won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowell72, Owner at Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Great Review!

Thanks for letting us take you through the cemetery. I honestly believe it is one of the best history tours one can take in Savannah, especially with Don.

Tim isn't bad either.


Happy trails,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must do when visiting Bonaventure”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We would have been lost without Dash Tours! Our guide was amazing – super knowledgeable. The tour was not just “so-and-so died in 1835 and is buried here” – it was way more about the stories of the people who lived in Savannah throughout its history. Highly recommend – this was one of the highlights of our vacation. They even provided water, umbrellas, and bug spray.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowell72, Owner at Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thanks for the kind review.

We're glad you enjoyed the tour.


Happy trails and safe travels for wherever you go next.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We took this tour on a Sunday afternoon. Our tour guide was Don. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the Cemetary and of Savannah itself. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowell72, Owner at Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thanks for the review.

Glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours also viewed

 

Been to Savannah Bonaventure Dash Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing