We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean , place to stay for 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gateway
Ranked #61 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2013

While travelling to Florida, we decided to detour abit to spend a night in Savannah, Ga. Without reservations we decided the Gateway area fit our needs the best for the evening. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very satisfying. The worker at the front desk was a bit slow to get me checked in and seemed put off when I asked for directions to the historic district, but overall service was ok. I did try to use a discount card for the room but was told there were none available at that price. So overall I would say the room was very nice as was the breakfast, but would give the service just a ok. There are several other hotels in this small area, you might be able to find a better price at one of the other locations.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stopped after a very long day and got a room. The staff was extremely nice & the room was great!! It was very clean and very comfortable. This was our first stay here but we will stay here again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

After 8 hours of driving this hotel was a welcome sight. Efficient and friendly staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. We only had to walk outside to have dinner at Ruby Tuesday's.
The hotel was quiet and we had a great night's sleep even though the room was on the main floor.
We did not stay for the breakfast; however, it looked very adequate but the room was very warm.

Room Tip: We liked the main floor because you did not have to wait for an elevator and it was close to the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent a couple of nights here while attending a wedding. The location was perfect for us -- far enough away from the high prices, traffic, & parking issues of the historic area of Savannah, yet easily accessible to highways leading right into that lovely city (about a 15 minute drive). There were several restaurants close by -- some within walking distance. Our room was adequate -- but I was not too happy about the mildew surrounding the tub/shower, & the absence of a shelf or shelf-like indentation in the tub/shower area made it awkward to place shampoo, soap, etc. within easy reach. We enjoyed peaceful & comfortable nights' sleep during our visit & would most probably stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksimpson009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I booked a stay here for three nights while visiting Savannah. The hotel is conveniently located near I-95, and there are numerous restaurants nearby.

Check-in was efficient, and the lady staffing the desk was friendly and very courteous. Our room was quite spacious, comfortable, and generally clean. The room was also equipped with a whirlpool tub which worked well and was clean. The only downside was the shower in the bathroom. The grouting was somewhat moldy, and it just seemed a little "gross." There was also an odor to it on the first day, but it seemed to fade away over the next two days. Our room was located on the end of the corridor, and was very quiet.

As others have mentioned, the breakfast here is not one of the better ones that I have experienced at a "Choice" hotel. In fact, it rates on the bottom of the scale in terms of those I have visited. The breakfast offerings here are "minimal," to say the least. Yes they have the usual waffles, and a few other scant offerings including egg rounds and sausage, some cereals and such, but that is about it. Another factor that weighs in here is the lack of someone dedicated to service the breakfast area. Most other Comfort Inns that I have visited have someone to do just that, but at this hotel, the desk manager does double duty. On the couple of mornings that we had breakfast here, the desk manager would cruise through the breakfast room on an infrequent basis. She would look things over and such, but during busy times the food offerings came up short, and the cleanliness of the breakfast area was not up to par. Our tables were always "dirty," and we had to resort to wiping them off ourselves. Obviously this hotel, for whatever reason, is short-staffed in the morning. As breakfast, at least to me, is one of the most important meals of the day -- this came as a huge disappointment. If it were not for these couple of discrepancies, this could be a great hotel!

If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay near Savannah, without a lot of amenities, then you will most likely be happy here. But pack some food in your luggage, you may go hungry in the morning!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway, GA. We are working on improving our breakfast menu to better suit our valued guests. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your check in process and our breakfast bar. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a trip to Savannah. The pluses for this place is that it is reasonably priced for the Savannah area. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet (even when it was on the first floor near the lobby). The negatives are that they are very short staffed (took forever to just get an extra towel at the front desk). The free breakfast was really not up to the standards of the Comfort hotels we've stayed at in other cities. There was very little variety-almost no "hot" foods and they were again short staffed when they needed to add more food and coffee. The staff seemed nice, but very overworked. I wanted to like this hotel, but the breakfast buffet issue and shortage of staff really put me off on staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pert2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway, GA. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. We are working on changing the menu of our breakfast to better suit our valued guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your check in process and our breakfast bar. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 6-7 times in the last 2-3 years. This last trip (4/18) I noticed that the hall carpets were dirty and the shower in my room was, at best dirty. The hotel needs is beginning to look worn and needs a facelift.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhdurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hui34407, Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Comfort Suites Gateway, GA. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your check in process and our breakfast bar. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#85 of 115 in Savannah
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#95 of 115 in Savannah
101 reviews
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#49 of 115 in Savannah
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gateway

Address: 596 Al Henderson Blvd, (Gateway Boulevard), Savannah, GA 31419-6094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Savannah
#33 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway Experience the best of traditional Southern hospitality and modern convenience as a guest of our friendly all-suites hotel, a top lodging choice for both leisure and business travelers to the area. Ideally situated nearby the historic downtown area, our modern Savannah hotel provides exceptional 5-star service, outstanding room rates and a fine collection of on-site services and amenities. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, heated indoor pool with spa and beautifully appointed suites with microwaves and refrigerators. Located Near Downtown Historic District Situated at the gateway to this historic Southern city, our modern hotel offers the ideal spot for exploring the legendary charms of downtown Savannah. Home to stately mansions, museums, art galleries and landmark buildings, Savannah also offers stunning natural beauty, surrounded by sandy beaches like Tybee Island and rolling green golf courses. Located on a quiet street with easy freeway access, our comfortable hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Savannah Attractions Immerse yourself in antebellum charm on a visit to this incredible destination, which is home to one of the nation's largest historic districts in the downtown area. Take a trolley tour to explore the amazing monuments and architecture of the neighborhood, or head to River Street for exciting shopping, dining and entertainment. You'll also find world-class golf courses in the area, scenic barrier beaches on Tybee Island and delicious Southern cuisine served all over. With a prime location near Savannah's historic district, our charming hotel is a convenient home base to explore all the attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gateway Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah
Savannah Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing