We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gateway
Ranked #61 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Overall a nice hotel with convenient access to I-95 and lots of restaurants and other businesses. We recently stayed 5 nights prior to moving to TX. The 2 room room (bedroom with king bed and living room with pull out couch) was spacious.
The pull out couch was old with a very poor mattress, even by couch bed standards. It worked for our 4 year olds, but would be unacceptable for an adult or even a child anywhere close to adult size.

The laundry facilities are also in need of maintenance and cleaning. Very old washers and dryers and 3 out of the 4 driers in the hotel were out of order. At $2 per washer or dryer load, I would expect better. I notified the front desk at the beginning of our stay, but unfortunately none were fixed by the time we checked out.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We apologize for the issues and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.


Warm Regards,
The Management Team at
Comfort Suites Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I like Comfort Suites and Inns as a general rule, and this is a better than average one - a clear 3.5 motel. It was quiet with a very comfortable bed. I only spent one night there, but I would have been happy to spend if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with all the amenities in your room that made for a comfortable stay. Thank you for your feedback and please know we appreciate your comments. Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.


Warm Regards,
The Management Team at
Comfort Suites Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Enjoyed the beer/wine happy hour (offered Mon-Thur). Our room at first appeared pretty nice and smelled clean, but we found evidence of what looked like dead cockroaches and possibly their feces on the walls near the ceiling. Also, the tub/shower surround was terribly stained and ugly. The hairdryer had also been recently replaced, so the paint around that was two different colors. We also had a little trouble getting the special Tripadvisor rate, but that was corrected by the manager (somewhat reluctantly). The hotel itself is nice, but I would choose something downtown next time anyway....we found no parking downtown, so it would be easier to just stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wednesdaygirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay and am glad that you enjoyed our Happy Hour Service. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Management Team at
Comfort Suites Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed our stay. Also for the kids every they fix popcorn for them to eat and happy hour for the adults. All of that was free. The workers was friendly and very nice. I definitely will choose this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marlecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic comments. We are all about creating authentic experiences and we are so happy you took a chance on us and allowed us to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you back here again soon!


Best Regards,
The Team at Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We enjoy staying at the Gateway area of Savannah because we can walk to restaurants and get some long-needed exercise, after driving all day. The Comfort Suites Gateway provided a very comfortable king room, very good breakfast, and even a happy hour. Applebees and Ruby Tuesdays are a close walk. Indoor pool and small fitness room round out the amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town,

Kind Regards,
The Team at Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Everything about it was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and comfortable. The hotel offered a free happy hour where we met other travelers and had a nice time. The breakfast was good and everything was plentiful even though we got there right at the end. The wireless worked great. The beds were great. There is nothing else I could have wanted. The location was among many hotels and a few restaurants so we were able to walk to dinner. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldcole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSDirector, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marquita Wilson
Front Desk Manager
Comfort Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sat. 3/8 we were driving North on 95, we stopped at a rest area and also picked up the travel coupon books, we called a few places toward Savannah to see if they had rooms (sometimes the hotels near the airport are booked) First 2 we called were full, we called this Comfort Suites and she said they have a "few" rooms left, we asked about the coupon rate, she agreed to it $69/ $79 Fri Sat. She said we have to reserve the room so over the phone we did that and gave our CC #, name address, phone etc. We got there over an hour later and she said she was told they won't take the coupon, rate is over $100. Can give us the AAA discount. She had our cell # to call us with this update but waited until we got to the lobby. She seemed kind of embarrassed, I don't think it was her idea. I was so put off by the principal that I said no thanks and we left and stayed at the Wingate nearby. It was the principal more than the money. Just not acceptable to me. From the lobby the place seems OK but I won't stop there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Valued Guests:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding our Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway property.
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the rate change issue. I have shared your feedback with upper management to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Savannah.

Best Regards,
The Team at Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#84 of 115 in Savannah
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#95 of 115 in Savannah
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#50 of 115 in Savannah
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gateway

Address: 596 Al Henderson Blvd, (Gateway Boulevard), Savannah, GA 31419-6094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Savannah
#33 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comfort Suites Savannah Gateway Experience the best of traditional Southern hospitality and modern convenience as a guest of our friendly all-suites hotel, a top lodging choice for both leisure and business travelers to the area. Ideally situated nearby the historic downtown area, our modern Savannah hotel provides exceptional 5-star service, outstanding room rates and a fine collection of on-site services and amenities. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, heated indoor pool with spa and beautifully appointed suites with microwaves and refrigerators. Located Near Downtown Historic District Situated at the gateway to this historic Southern city, our modern hotel offers the ideal spot for exploring the legendary charms of downtown Savannah. Home to stately mansions, museums, art galleries and landmark buildings, Savannah also offers stunning natural beauty, surrounded by sandy beaches like Tybee Island and rolling green golf courses. Located on a quiet street with easy freeway access, our comfortable hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Savannah Attractions Immerse yourself in antebellum charm on a visit to this incredible destination, which is home to one of the nation's largest historic districts in the downtown area. Take a trolley tour to explore the amazing monuments and architecture of the neighborhood, or head to River Street for exciting shopping, dining and entertainment. You'll also find world-class golf courses in the area, scenic barrier beaches on Tybee Island and delicious Southern cuisine served all over. With a prime location near Savannah's historic district, our charming hotel is a convenient home base to explore all the attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gateway Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah
Savannah Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing