We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing”
Review of Gryphon Tea Room

Gryphon Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Intimate, elegant and gracious, Gryphon is located at Bull and Charlton in the ornate 1926 Scottish Rite building. The alluring cafe menu offers signature favorites and fresh, seasonal offerings of rich, organic ingredients from local sources. Gryphon is the premier cafe of the Savannah College of Art and Design, and some SCAD students work in the cafe and carry on the renowned tradition of Savannah hospitality.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great outing”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there with my mom for a mother-daughter outing. Ambience, service, and food was great. It was my third time there and I plan on visiting again sometime in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    222
    44
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a sophisticated beautiful room.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Since my daughter is a new SCAD student, we wanted to try this tearoom for lunch. It is SCAD owned and operated and it shows! The inside is beautifully sophisticated, yet not at all stuffy or intimidating. Our food was wonderful. We also tried the featured blueberry lemonade which was also delicious (although a little pricey). We were very happy we made time for this treat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tcreasman22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch in old apothecary”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Quaint restaurant within an old apothecary. We ate at the family table. The menu is small but well done. One in our party had tea sandwiches, one peanut butter and banana sandwich, two had the chicken Marsala and the last had an Asian inspired salad. Although the chicken was a bit dry, most were pleased with their lunch. Wait staff was a bit inexperienced but pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Automatic piano and old books”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Real, healthy and well-priced food with a choice of tea flavours. Or coffee. Full of character if slightly odd. Decent service.

Helpful?
Thank DQBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place for Lunch”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The place is so charming and the food consistently good. It never disappoints. Just wish they would start serving dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavannahDiningdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gryphon Tea Room also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Gryphon Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing