We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel near our daughter.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
Ranked #35 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Americus, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel near our daughter.”
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We've stayed in this hotel three times and have always had a good experience. We are easy to please travelers - not high maintenance - but everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff friendly. We've taken advantage of some really nice rates which made it even nicer.
This hotel is next to a shopping center, Abercorn Walk, that includes Fresh Market and other trendy stores. Across Abercorn is a Bonefish Grill, Atlanta Bread Company, Stone Cold Creamery, Publix, etc.
The parking around the hotel is tight due to construction. If you come in late on a busy night, you may have trouble finding a spot.
If you are coming to Savannah to enjoy the riverfront and downtown, you're going to have to drive 10 minutes or so to get here - plus find a place to park downtown. But if you don't mind the drive and want a very nice hotel for a good price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Thanks for the feedback jmlow. I'd like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel.

Your right, if you don't mind driving a few minutes and parking in the historic district, our hotel is certainly the way to go as hotels are a lot more costly in the downtown area. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Bryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    326
    150
    67
    52
See reviews for
340
290
63
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Great, excellent, best hotel of our long trip from Cleveland, Ohio to Ft. Myers Florida. For $69.00 a night we received services and room quality of a four star hotel. Even the bed hard a dial for the firmness. Neutrogena products in the bathroom, flat screen TV, superior bed. Even the bar had a two for one deal for well cocktails during cocktail hour. The hotel and the room were very clean. I couldn't find anything wrong which after awhile I started looking for something bad just because I was so impressed.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Check in time
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spothus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We submitted a polite, handwritten complaint addressed to the manager, Mr. Bryan Cornelius, that went completely unacknowledged -- NO apology, NO free bagel, NOT even a gesture like 10% off our next stay (which we'd never use anyway). We had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights so we could attend a funeral. They placed us on the same floor as a "girlfriends sleepover" event. The girlfriends were screaming in the hallways, slamming doors, and laughing until 6 AM. We were not the only guests to complain. At a minimum, we deserved a response from Mr. Cornelius. If anyone wants to stay here, the hotel has been newly renovated and seemed clean enough (a few pop tops on the carpet), the lobby/bar is attractive. A full breakfast is $11, so keep this in mind when you consider the Bed & Breakfast "Special" (unless you have 3 or more in a room, this is not such a special). As we learned, the corridors are very noisy -- thin walls and heavy doors. And there are lots of plumbing noises from neighboring rooms, too.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank AnxietyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2009
AnxietyTripper,

I would like to first apologize for your letter going unacknowledged. I was away that week at an annual GM conference and unfortunately I never received it.

We pride ourselves on delivering a “Can Do” attitude and I can promise you that what you experienced is definitely out of character at our property.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and I would be more than happy to send you a one night gift certificate redeemable at our hotel for your inconveniences.

Bryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We arrrived at the Hilton Garden Inn Midtown about 7:30 PM. We had no reservatations so we felt fortunate to find a hotel this nice so late in the evening. We were greeted at the front desk with a polite, but cool "may I help you". We asked for and got a room we liked. It was nearly at the end of a hall which made for a long walk, after a hard day. The room was beautiful and so clean. The bed was comfortable, we loved the linens also. The room was large, it had two comfortable chairs, a desk and chair. The bathroom was spotless. The only drawbacks were the walls were paper thin. You could hear everything in the next room. The ceilings were very low, I was amazed at the height. The hotel does have a small restaurant and room service. A small lounge is ajacent to the restaurant. We chose not to go in either place. We were just too tired. We found out the next day, there was a Publix grocery store across the street, if you need something to drink or a snack. We got to bed and we were sleeping so well, at 5 AM the fire alarm went off, telling us to vacate the room. The hotel had a report of a fire. This was the most horrible experience we have had in all our travels. I had to walk down 3 flights of stairs into the cold morning air in my thin robe and slippers. We had to stay outside until the firemen checked the hotel and gave us the all clear to go back to our room. We finally got back up to the room, and our door key card would not work. So we had to go back down stairs to get another key card. We got back to the room, got settled in and cozy, just starting to fall back to sleep and the alarm clock went off in the room beside of us. No one was in the room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We called the desk and were told she was too busy right now, but she would come up and turn it off, when she got through making other key cards. So 30 minutes later the alarm finally stopped. Wow, what a morning! By now it was close to seven o'clock so we just got up. Althought this was a terrible experience I still have to give this hotel an excellent rating and I am so glad they followed proper safety rules. Everyone was pleasent and professional. We did find out the next morning someone had left a muffin in the toaster, and when the breakfast cook came in she turned on the toaster to start warming up and that was where the smoke came from. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2009
Thanks CarolinaTravelerGal for your feedback. I am even more grateful that you understand that fire alarms are in place for the safety and security of our guests.

As you know, we can't control when they are engaged and furthermore, they save lives. Anyways, thanks for the understand with the fire alarm and I apologize that it just happened to go off the one morning that you stayed with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel. Hope you return in the near future.

Bryan Cornelius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We recently went to Savannah for a weekend getaway and chose this hotel for our 2 nights stay. Rooms were neat and clean. comfortable desk chair (herman miller), nice flat screen tv. It had fridge and microwave which was one of our criteria while choosing the hotel. Don't have to pay 15$ parking fee unlike the hotels in the historic district. It is hardly 5 miles away from the historic district.

We had chosen the bed n breakfast package (under 100$ per night). They breakfast was very good. We liked the vegetarian seared tofu (http://tinyurl.com/3p2bwx)

The elevators were clean and in good working condition. No non-sense business, other guests seemed educated and decent

Checkout was a breeze. A good hotel and i would like to go and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank psarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

My wife and I booked into this hotel in August for a 4-night stay through Expedia. We had gone to Savannah from Atlanta to spend time with and be near her son who is in the army, before he went to Iraq.

The second night we were there was very loud and unruly with doors slamming constantly on our floor and on the floors above us. In turns out that the hotel had been overun by a wedding party and two family reunions from out of state, and this made the quality of our stay very unenjoyable.

They moved us upon request to the top-sixth floor for the start of the third night, but that floor also had been booked largely for the family reunions -- doors slamming, loud music right next door, and people in these parties congregating and laughing in the hallway until well after midnight.

We called down to the desk but they would not go the extra mile to control the rudeness throughout the hotel. They priortized and gave a pass to the larger parties and treated us as very unimportant guests.

With all options of exhausted and in desparation, we had to end up checking out at about 1:00 a.m. during our third night. We had to find and book another hotel and then drive 18 miles to get there.

We asked for refund of two nights stay -- the night we left and the following night when we were not even there. Expedia (who we spoke to three times over the next two days) guaranteed us through the hotel property manager a refund of at least the fourth night with the third night pending. As it turns out, the hotel property manager went back on his word and refused any refund of either night.

Other attempts at refund since then have been unsuccessful.
The Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown brochure boasts what they call an "obsession" of dedication to guest comfort. DON'T YOU BELIEVE IT !!! My wife and I did everything the right way in attempting to obtain a refund and to this day have not received it.
This was most definitely the most horrible hotel stay of our lifetimes.

  • Liked — Checking Out of The Hotel -- There Was no Other Option
  • Disliked — Very Loud and Unruly -- Unwillingness of Managment Staff to Rectify Our Stay
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank marcw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the HGI Midtown for two days, with the Bed and Breakfast rate. We were primarily in Savannah to visit relatives and the location is extremely convenient for visiting those who live in the midtown area, but still only about 4 miles from the historic area.

Pluses:
1. Room and hotel in general were very clean and in good condition with the duvet on the bed, granite look counter in the bathroom with planty of room, shower with out-curving rod and sufficient water pressure and hot water.
2. Like all HGIs, there was a small refrigerator in the room, a desk, and a sofa.
3. Parking is free at this location, whereas in the historic district there is usually a charge for parking at hotels;
4. Free local phone calls up to 60 minutes;
5. Two working computers in the business center;
6. Coin laundry and exercise room on premises;
7. No problems with noise;
8. A concierge who was very helpful in drawing the route to attractions on the free maps.

Minuses:
1. If you are looking for a romantic stay where you can see the historic homes and the spanish moss on the trees, and the river, this is not the place for you. The hotel faces parking lots on all sides.
2. While the buffet breakfast is fairly priced or included in the bed and breakfast rate, it is not as good as the breakfast at some other HGIs. The restaurant staff does not offer to make you omelets, although I believe one can request them. The fresh fruit did not include strawberries. The wait staff were working hard and quickly to serve the many tables in the restaurant at breakfast.
3. The airconditioning unit, while thermostatically controlled, and adequate to keep the room comfortable on a hot and humid Savannah day, turns the fan off when the heat or cooling is not running. Therefore there is no "white noise" to cover slight noises from outside and if you are a very light sleeper the noise of the fan coming on and off may give you trouble sleeping.

Not an issue with the hotel, but be aware that in Savannah the suburban restaurants like the Oliver Garden, etc. fill up at 5:30 pm on a Saturday or Friday night as Savannah is full of senior citizens who like to eat early and who seem to have trained the younger people to do so also.

The shop at the Telfair Art Museum downtown is especially nice for a museum shop.

Starbucks and the Atlanta Bread Company, a sandwich and panani restaurant are just across the street from the HGI, as is a Publix supermarket.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Features of the Room - Good Airconditioning, Refrigerator
  • Disliked — Views are solely of parking lots.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#74 of 113 in Savannah
336 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#41 of 113 in Savannah
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
Address: 5711 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31405-5505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
#28 Family Hotel in Savannah
#32 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown is right where you want to be. Within walking distance to a variety of well-known shopping and dining options, this hotel is located just three miles from historic Savannah. Take an easy drive straight down scenic Abercorn Street. Positioned in the hub of Savannah's business district, our hotel offers four flexible event rooms that can accommodate up to 300 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion by our celebrated executive chef. Start your day with a full cooked-to-order breakfast and indulge in southern specialties from our restaurant. Savor an evening drink in our newly redesigned lobby or heat treats from our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R) in the comfort of your guest room with an in-room microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing