We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View Great Location”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Perfect hotel to experience Savannah. Ask for a room with a river view especially on a higher floor-- well worth any additional cost. It's in walking distance to any historic district location, rooms are spacious and very clean and you can't beat the free breakfasts. We stayed in 2 fancy b&bs during our trip through the South-- this hotel was our favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    703
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
600
1,146
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with my wife and year old daughter. This hotel is in the perfect location in Savannah. It is about a five minute walk from the River Walk and a 10 minute walk to the heart of the historic distance. There is a hot breakfast inclused which is quite good for a "free" breakfast.

The hotel is very clean nd well maintained. The rooftop pool is small but adequate. The valet and front office staff are very efficient and friendly.

We would definitley stay at this hotel again upon return to Savannah.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mac2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had stayed at this Holiday Inn Express twice before but I must say this was the best experience that I've had with a hotel recently. We arrived just after 3:00 PM to find that our room wasn't ready but without taking a breath we were offered another room that was much better per the registrant. It was, it was a beautiful room with two great views, big fluffy towels and a wonderful comfy bed. The hotel is located perfectly in the center of town. The staff was great! They have a pool and a bar! The place was immaculate, except the elevators, they were a little dirty looking but hey I can overlook that with all the other great ammenities! I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agilitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have passed your kind words on to our front desk team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this hotel in May.
Check in was fast, and the service very friendly - they even gave us some bananas which we had been craving!
Our room was on the 8 th floor, overlooking Abercorn St and the river. It was fascinating watching the huge ships traveling up and down the river. The room was very large with a separate sitting area. It had a desk, chair, queen bed (which was excellent), chest of drawers, couch, TV, microwave, fridge and sink. The bathroom was also quite large with an enormous shower. It seemed fairly modern.
The room was very quiet (just a dull hum). The double glazed windows kept out the traffic noise and we did not hear a single sound from neighbors. The TV is widescreen but the picture is "stretched". However there are lots of stations and it is perfectly watchable.
There is a small rooftop pool and gym, but we did not use them as it wasn't that warm.
Breakfast is adequate. We stuck to cereal, bananas and bagels and then had coffee out as we like cappuchinos. There were cooked foods and pastries, muffins and scones if you wanted them.
The location of this hotel is excellent - you could walk everywhere in the historic district.
Before I finish I would like to make a special mention to a very helpful staff member. We left on the day of the "siege" when things were bit chaotic. We were worried about getting away as the doors were shut and the roads blocked. The girl at reception, Hope, reassured us that we would get away OK. She got us a taxi and walked us around the block and made sure we were in the taxi before she returned to the hotel. We really appreciate her help as we didn't want to miss the first of 3 connecting flights! Her friendly and helpful service typifies the service we received in this friendly hotel.
So needless to say we enjoyed our stay very much as this hotel met all our main criteria of friendly staff, quiet room, good bed, great location and excellent value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swansforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay in Savannah and the Holiday Inn. This was a great place to stay right in the center of town. The room was clean, the balcony was the absolute best and the breakfast bar was good and a great way to start your day. I can't wait to go back and visit. It is a good time when you can say everything went perfect and without a hitch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtom1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

When we arrived there was a fierce storm which had caused the power to briefly turn off, causing the elevators and computer system to shut down. The staff dealt with the problem quickly and professionally and with a smile. Once the computers were up and running we were given our room key which was on the 6th floor. As the elevators were still down they offered us a room on the 1st floor but after 6 hours or so of driving we needed the exercise, but how nice to be offered.

Very clean, plush hotel with a pool and hot tub on the roof with good views. Small gym area as well and a nice bar on the ground floor. the bartender did an exceptional job of making everyone in the bar feel welcome by introducing any newcomer to the others at the bar and including them in the conversation, plus he made an excellent dirty martini!

Excellent location for walking around Savannah and easy to get to from the highway coming from either south or north.

Breakfast was average. Plenty of carb heavy breads and sweetened things, weak coffee, American bacon, dried egg mix, scrambled, that sort of thing. They did have fresh fruit though and lids for the coffee cups so you could take away if you chose to. Personally I like a European type breakfast so I can't really complain its just that it wasnt the sort of thing I like to eat.

All in all a very good hotel and Savannah was a nice place to visit, although if you're looking for a romantic weekend or somewhere a little quieter and more pretty visit Charleston in South Carolina instead, about an hour or so drive away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend here in mid May and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel has been renovated in the last several years and is quite charming, better that you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. We had a lovely corner king room on the third floor...not high enough for a river view, but still quite nice with a couch, desk, fridge, sink and microwave and surprisingly no real noise from the busy streets below. The hotel is convenient to everything...River Street, trolly stops, restaurants, bars, etc. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Gustavo in the bar. He's a very nice young man who makes it a point to ask your name and introduce you to everyone else in the bar. The only negative is the wi fi. Fodor's claims a strong signal throughout, but we did not find that to be the case. We were able to pick up wi fi from the Hampton Inn next door, but had to get a cable from the front desk to get internet. All in all, a great vacation and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing