We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I usually prefer a higher-end hotel or B&B, but this was quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

One thing I have learned is that not all budget hotels are of the same caliber. And, even within the same company, they can vary wildly in terms of cleanliness, helpfulness, etc. This Holiday Inn Express Ranks well, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Very clean, exceptionally comfy beds, a huge glassed in shower (no tub), and very friendly service. And, the location is within walking distance of all your main restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpmcatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

All of your comments are so very true and it is important to always look into our company when you are choosing a visiting property! Many of our sister hotels accomodate the surrounding community and therefore are constructed based on the character of the city, and here in Savannah we have such a beautiful replica! Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to rewarding you as you continue to stay at our properties worldwide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,708 - 1,714 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is the fifth or sixth hotel I've stayed at over the years in Savannah historic district. I have to say it is handsdown my favorite. Staff was extremely friendly, parking close and location was perfect for walking around the area. Very nice room, comfortable and clean. Rooftop pool was quiet and very nice to relax at. Complimentary breakfast was one of the nicest I've encountered at any hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WesternNYGirlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Our goal is to satisfy and make our guests as comfortable as possible and we are glad that you had a stellar experience at our property! We look forward to seeing you again very soon and hope that while you are here that you enjoy the many perks of the city and local activities and amenities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Decided to use some of my Priority Club Points for a stay in Savanah. Was told the Holiday Inn Express was centrally located and it was. Everything is within walking distance. We only used our car once to take a ride to Tybee Island.

The hotel is very nicely decorated. Front desk staff offered to upgrade me to a balcony room. Although the view was nice, Bay Street below is very noisy all night with tractor trailer trucks. If you are a light sleeper I would opt for a room facing the side street.

Came back to our room day one, and the bed was made but room was never cleaned. Trash cans still full along with a dirty coffee maker. Told front desk that evening when we left for dinner. Returned 3 hours later and room was still dirty. Typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast but I found the breakfast staff very rude.

Overall I found the location to be great. Housekeeping and support staff were in need of some major training. Front Desk staff were very good and arranged for my points to be refunded.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

On behalf of your entire experience I would like to apologize for your discomforts and any inconvenience that you may have had. Although you were refunded your points please let us know if we can ever redeem ourselves and may your next stay a more enjoyable experience. Please do not refrain from visiting us again in the future and we again apologize for all of your unpleasantries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a very last minute addition to a busy trip to Florida. I'm sorry that we didn't have more time to spend in the beautiful city of Savannah and also at this fantastic hotel. We have stayed in many hotels over the past few weeks (on this trip) and over the years and this was definitely one of our favourites. The price was very reasonable considering the accommodations and the location, the customer service was outstanding and the breakfast was great. The view from the roof top pool was gorgeous. My daughter has a milk allergy and the people working in the breakfast area went out of their way to find out what she could have and were so eager to help. I am actually planning on coming back to Savannah for a longer stay specifically because our experience at this hotel was so terrific. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: take advantage of the pool. Don't skip this wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridaandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We regret also that you were unable to visit our beautiful city longer but we are thrilled that we were able to convince you to not only come back to Savannah, but to return for another stay at our hotel! Please inquire with the front desk upon your return so that we can ensure your trip is full of family fun and also so that we can again assist in accomodating the important heallth needs of your daughter. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit and helping you enjoy the city that we love so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very nice hotel right in the heart of historic downtown Savannah. I thought it was a bit more upscale than a typical HIE. They have a nice pool, hot tub and lounging area on the roof. When we weren't swimming we were watching large freighters travel the river. There were lots of people out well after dark and there's lots of interesting shops and restaurants down along the river.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We are glad that you not only enjoyed the scenery but were able to take advantage of one of greatest amenities, the rooftop and pool! We take pride in our property and try our best to make our guests feel as if they are getting the most out of their stay, even in something as simple as decor! Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our family loved this hotel. We had one small problem but it was taken care of immediately by the attentive and friendly staff. My kids loved the rooftop pool, especially at night. You can literally walk out the door and across the street to the river to ride the ferry (for free!), buy fresh pralines, shop and dine. We loved Cilantro's Mexican and The Pirate House. Both were excellent. The free breakfast is fantastic. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tisha399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

River Street is full of family fun and we always recommend taking advantage of all of the free activities that Savannah has to offer! Hopefully we will get to see you and your lovely family again very soon where on your next visit we recommend a more Southern approach to cuisine at one of our faves Mrs. Wilkes or even The Cotton Exchange! Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice hotel over looking the river. I asked for a high room and they kindly gave me a great high room with a balcony. 20 mins after checking in, I got a call from the manager to see if everything was ok. Great touch, and shows confidence in the hotel. All the staff were great. Mega friendly, and always smiled and said hi when passing. I would go back there for the customer service alone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our hospitality! It was our pleasure to make your stay comforting and we look forward to your visits in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £99 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing