We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Arrived at 10:00 AM and asked when our room would be ready and it already was! We had the only king size bed room with a balcony. Balcony was not really worth the extra money. Maybe if they had a table/chairs out there. The view of the river was nice. It was on the 3rd floor and the street noise kept me awake the first night (and a neighboring guest's baby - not really the hotels's fault). My husband slept like a log. Would probably prefer a room on a higher floor, but the wait for the elevators can be long. Comfy beds, nice bathroom, hot shower, knowledgable staff, good breakfast. Above all the location was PERFECT! Seconds to walk to the Olde Pink House, Vic's, River Street, Leopolds. AC worked great which was definitely a necessity, but seemed a bit damp waking up on our 3rd day there. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: High floor facing the river. No balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie9608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Our location is a superb one and we are glad that you were able to utilize it in every way! It looks as if you not enjoyed your stay at our proeperty, but that you also enjoyed the area's eats and shopping attractions. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit where you should be sure to venture out alittle further to Mrs' Wilkes and The Cotton Exchange, some of our favorite restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    706
    130
    37
    23
See reviews for
607
1,153
71
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

You can step outside this hotel and walk to everything. It is convenient to City Market and the historic riverfront district. Do be sure to go up to the rooftop pool. The view is awesome as is the covered seating area. The pool is nice too, clean and good size for a rooftop pool. Parking is right behind the hotel and convenient enough to self park. Hotel is very clean. The room we were in was a bit small but mostly we were out and about. Hotel is in a perfectly safe area, even late at night. I agree with one other reviewer who said the front desk staff doesn't smile, I encountered the same thing, but they are efficient, helpful and get the job done. Breakfast choices were plentiful and a nice start to the day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Again, please accept my apology on behalf of the staff, because of your comments no other guest will be subjected to lack luster hospitality. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed every other aspect of your stay and will be visiting us again where we will meet you at your CAR with a smile! Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nice hotel. Ask for a riiver view room, though, otherwise you have a great view of a parking lot. By friendly staff. Complementary breakfast was adequate but needs more fruit. Rooftop pool and hot tub was great, with fabulous view of the river.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your comments, they will be considered! We are however, glad that you enjoyed the location of our property, as well as the Downtown amenities as well. Rest assured that we will be eagerly awaiting your return visit should you ever come back to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The staff here were lovely and very helpful, and the hotel has a lot of fun little touches (the rooftop pool/jacuzzi and the views from there were two of my favourites) and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The hotel was well situated with plenty of things to go see in the local area, and only a very short walk to the trolley tour stops.

The prices were a little more on the expensive side than I would have liked, and the view from the room was an alley next to a car park (the alley inexplicably had a fountain in it though, so there is that.) Otherwise it was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meitnerium85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for visiting our property and hopefully on your next stay we will be able to help you upgrade your room to a River View! Although your view was lack luster, we are excited that you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I went for one night get away. The hotel staff was very nice from the front door, checking in and the bar area. We ask for a nice place to eat and Becky from the bar told us her favorite place and called them to make sure we could get in.The hotel was nice and clean and a great location for walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Here at our property, we base our customer service satisfaction on where it begins! From pull up to pull off, we will gladly assist you in anyway possible and are eagerly awaiting your arrival. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We decided to take a last minute trip to Savannah to get away for the long weekend. A lot of the hotels in historic downtown were booked so we thought we'd try the HIE based on the TripAdvisor reviews. For the most part, it was a pleasant stay. The cons:

- This is not the hotel you want to stay in if you want to sleep in. Housekeeping starts knocking on doors at 9am, and even if you have your 'do not disturb' sign on your door, you can hear them knocking on everyone else's door on the floor. Not to mention, you can hear every conversation in the hallway.

- Pillows are half the size of your standard pillow (bizarre), and water temperature in the shower is not consistent. One day scalding, the next not hot enough.

- Curtains do not close, which is a privacy issue as people from the parking garage can see straight into your room. We had to put the blanket over the sheers. This was also helpful in blocking out the light. Again, not the place to stay if you want to sleep in.

- $200 a night weekend rate - not sure if this was the normal weekend rate or the holiday weekend rate, never again. Plus was told they only give military discounts when the hotel isn't very full (what???).

The pros:

- Gustavo, the bartender, is awesome:)

- Common area decor is quite nice.

- Convenient to everything, we walked most places.

Tip: Parking in the public garage that's next to the hotel is a better bargain than the $15/day hotel rate.

I realize I may sound picky. Because at the end of the day, it's a Holiday Inn not the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We apologize for all of your unpleasantries, but are pleased that you found a few things that you enjoyed at and around our property. It is our hope that although there were a few things that were not up to par, you will allow us to redeem ourselves and re-visit our property (possibly on a non-Holiday weekend where the rates are alittle lower). Thank you for visiting our beautiful city and we hope to be graced by your patronage once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

First visit to Savannah - WOW. The hotel was a perfect location to walk or take the trolley - so convenient. Friendly staff. Rooftop pool great for watching the fireworks and cooling off from a day of sightseeing. BUT what made the stay here even more pleasant was the exceptional customer service of the Valet Crew. Especially Justin, who suggested several dining options - one we ate at twice. He listened to what we were interested in seeing and offerred good options. Anytime we spotted him, we seized the opportunity to ask questions about the city and sights - he was very patient with us "old timers" - A definite asset to the hotel as were all the Valet and front desk staff. We'll be back again next year - so Justin - get ready for more Savannah ????'s

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We are glad that you maximized your experience by engaging with the staff and taking in some of their city knowledge! Our goal is to assist you in anyway possible and I am sure that not only were the staff more than willing to offer their advice on places to visit, but that they enjoyed engaging in conversation with you as well. Justin will be ready and eagerly awaiting your return and all of your questions. Looking forward to seeing you on your next GREAT visit to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,883 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing