We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Say- Nice Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Say- Nice Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I came in town for a short weekend trip with my girlfriend. Alfonce, the manager, graciuosly upgraded our room to a corner suite. It was a nice gesture.

Overall the hotel was clean, well located, and a perfect spot for someone looking to walk River Street and the surrounding squares. I would highly reccommend for someone looking to stay who is trying not to break the bank.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    675
    121
    35
    24
See reviews for
558
1,088
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We usually stay at the other Holiday Inn(the Mulberry) but they sold it to Kimpton. This was a good choice. The staff is very nice, friendly, and helpful. Even the car parkers are fun and smiling! Our room was on a side street-very quiet and we could catch a glimpse of the river, too.
There is a beautiful roof deck-but it was very cold our night. It would be a good place to carry up a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. Breakfast was fine, buffet style with a good variety. The room had plenty of space, a nice sofa and chair. The shower was really big. I much prefer it to climbing in a tub, so I was happy. A great location with nice people, good beds, fireplace in the bar-you'll do fine here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Abercorn to avoid noise from Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We could not have asked for better care than we were given with our stay at this hotel. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. Valet parking was a plus and our room was perfect. We would stay again at this hotel when visiting Savannah.

Room Tip: Room with the view was great, especially at night and early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 404Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

First time in Savannah, and the location was excellent for walking to everything. I have to give the hotel 5 stars for friendly, effective service. Although I was helped and greeted with a smile and a very willing attitude by ALL of the staff members, I interacted with Meron at the front desk the most. I just want to say she really made my stay. Thank you all so much, I wish I could remember your names as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GTweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday with our two preschoolers. The location of this hotel is ideal, you can pretty much walk to anything! As soon as you walk in you can tell what a nice hotel it is...it is decorated beautifully. They offer valet parking for $20/day. However, if you're on a budget, like us, there is a parking garage literally next door and it is much cheaper. They also offer breakfast, which was delicious, not your typical continental breakfast. They have a bar which you can get beer from downstairs. The rooftop pool is very nice, it was too cold for us to use, however we did enjoy the panoramic view of the river. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I don't think there is anything bad I can say about our stay. We will definitely be back to Savannah and we wouldn't think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hotel was incredibly beautiful and in the perfect location! Walking distance to the waterfront, to lots of local restaurants and bars, and the hotel even had its own lounge in the lobby. Rooftop pool looked spectacular but it was too cold to use while we were there. Elevators were a little overwhelmed with the conference at the hotel while we were there, but the staff and facilities were incredible, so I was elated to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Awesome!! We are so happy to see that you were able to enjoy your time in Savannah. Our location is talked about by many, but I am elated to see that our staff was more than incredible in making sure your stay was excellent. We hope to see you in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We came down to savannah for the half/full marathon weekend. After a ton of research we decided on the holiday inn. It's a good thing that we did. Not only did they have the best rate, they also were in a great location and had a delicious breakfast. If you are traveling for the yearly Rock and Roll Marathon festivities you can't beat the location. It's around the corner from the starting line. This allowed us to relax in our hotel room until ten minutes before the race. They also opened the breakfast service up early on the day of the race. There was a great selection.

Overall, this was a great choice. Whether you are traveling down to savannah for the race or just to vacation - this should be your top choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelynMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing