We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, style and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location, style and value”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Savannah historic district sets the standard for other hotels to follow. This is a stylish, extremely comfortable hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is immaculate and the interior design flows elegantly through the hotel. The hotel price includes a choice of breakfast goodies, and in the afternoon there are cookies and warm spiced apple beverage.
The location of the hotel is perfect, across the road is the river walk, and all of historic Savannah is just a stroll away. Next to the hotel is a city car park. We left our car for 3 days, no need to drive around the old city.
We have only one minor criticism....breakfast plates and cutlery are disposable, impossible to cut bacon with a plastic knife! A hotel of this calibre should have china plates and stainless steel cutlery.

Room Tip: First stay here, but I can't imagine any room would be anything but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrulesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Wow. We really don't hear about the decor much, but we greatly appreciate the comments made. We love the location for our guest as well; it is so close to everything you would need. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great hotels that guest love is what we believe in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    703
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
599
1,145
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Our reservations were for 2nd floor but they gave us room on 8th floor with a great view. Loved everything about this hotel except the breakfast didn't have too many options. There are many great cafes within walking distance. Def try B Mattews (2 minutes walk from hotel) and Kayak kafe. We will def come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 7 or 8 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinez97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry that our breakfast did not meet your expectations, but as you said there are many small cafes within walking distances for our guest to eat at, that are amazing. We are located in an amazing location with plenty of restaurants and tours nearby. We hope that you will bless us with your presence again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Holiday Inn on East Bay Street is in the uniquely historical district of Savannah, Georgia. The hotel is beautifully decorated with much southern charm. The rooms are somewhat small but well appointed; the free breakfast was enjoyable. The front desk and valet staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms could have been a little cleaner and the cleaning staff should know that being personable goes a long way. I would love to come back to Savannah and have no issue at staying at the Holiday Inn Express again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARKonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am elated to see that you enjoyed your trip, but disappointed that are housekeeping staff did not meet your expectations. We strive to have the best complete service and not just in certain areas. I will be sure to look into this and make the appropriate changes. Thank you and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aol
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the HI Express during a weekend in Savannah. Everthing was better than most any Holiday Inn you'll stay in. Front desk, valet and other staff were very friendly, polite and helpful all the time. Room was in excellent condition and ours overlooked the river as a bonus. Good location as well. Highly recommend this if you desire hotel services instead of B & B.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js3434jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and in Savannah. Thank you for the kind words concerning our staff. They work very hard to accommodate our guest and it's nice to see them acknowledged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location if you are interested in the historic district. The front staff were very professional and we were able to check in early. The room is quite small but very modern and clean. Our view left a bit to be desired as it faced the alley. I believe booking with outside agencies have something to do with room location. Self parking is cheaper and is right beside hotel. I would book here again bit ask for room with a view of river

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybersis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you leaving your feedback. We appreciate your kind words and business. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Everything about our stay was excellent.

We were greeted by a friendly valet who held our car up front until we checked-in. Check-in was fast and the front desk was very welcoming and friendly. Upon my return to my car we were welcomed and helped up to our room by the hotel manager without our having to ask!!

Our room was phenomenal! We had a king corner room on the 8th floor! WHAT A VIEW!! The room was quiet and we heard no other guests or noise from traffic outside.

The morning breakfast was plentiful and offered many choices!

The location was perfect for walking to the riverfront and to local eateries and shops!

As IHG member, we were given discounted Valet parking fees too!

We will surely be back to Savannah and will be staying at this wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our hard work and dedication. We are happy to see that you were our IHG member of the day!!! We try very hard to recognize our rewards members and make sure their stay is more than wonderful. We hope you enjoyed our city enough to come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I came in town for a short weekend trip with my girlfriend. Alfonce, the manager, graciuosly upgraded our room to a corner suite. It was a nice gesture.

Overall the hotel was clean, well located, and a perfect spot for someone looking to walk River Street and the surrounding squares. I would highly reccommend for someone looking to stay who is trying not to break the bank.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,832 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing