We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balcony View Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Balcony View Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We paid a few extra bucks for a balcony view room. The view is facing the river, but if you are on the lower floors (we were on the third), you can't really see the river due to all the trees, so you "only" get a view of Bay Street, the historic riverfront buildings and vegetation. The view from the rooftop pool area (9th floor) was much better, so I imagine the higher floors (7th and 8th) would be pretty good, too. The balcony was open air, with no furniture. The view room puts you right on the busy Bay street, so there is a little extra noise, but I am a fairly light sleeper, and didn't experience any problems on a busy Friday night. Besides that, the stay was the standard Holiday Inn Express quality that keeps us returning to their hotels.

Room Tip: The best river views are from the highest floors, 7th or 8th, not the 3rd. If you don't get a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred3nPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    675
    121
    35
    24
See reviews for
558
1,088
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel has a great location. We had dinner reservations at the Olde Pink House and discovered that it was just around back of the hotel. The room was comfortable. The hotel was quiet. I loved the rooftop pool and hot tub. The best thing about this hotel is the staff!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Awesome!!!. We thank you for noticing the hard work of the staff and we see that you were able to visit a great restaurant during your stay. Believe me when I say you must come back to visit, because it is so much more for you to enjoy. Thank you again for taking the time to join us in historic Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My daughter and I just returned from a weekend in Savannah. I booked our stay here based on earlier reviews on TripAdvisor. What a great, centrally-located hotel! Our eighth floor room overlooked Bay Street and the river. Fabulous! The location is perfect and the room was clean and well-furnished. The front-desk staff were courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay here next time we're in Savannah. The only let-down was the breakfast - marginal at best, and the coffee was pretty bad. Bad coffee on a cold post-Christmas weekend isn't a reason to avoid the hotel, but something easy enough to fix.

Room Tip: Eighth floor view rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDBSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for one night and found the location to be excellent. Unfortunately the hotel was completely booked due to a marathon in town so we were not able to be upgraded to a room with a view of the river. We also did not receive water and snack like we normally do being platinum elite members. Also we requested more firm pillows but they were out again probably due to the large amount of people there for the marathon. We were able to park on the street because the meters do not run on the weekends but there was also a parking garage right behind the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of everything. Our 8th floor corner rooms had an exceptionally beautiful viewnof the water and historic district. Chelsey at the front desk went above and beyond in service, as Platinum Elite members we usually get water and a goody bag at IHG properties, they were out of water and goodies as it was the day after Christmas, Chelsey walked to another property and brought me some water. The room was clean and fresh. We stay st this property on every visit to Savannah.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on higher floor's for a great view and great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Yep, smack dab in the heart of the historic district. I had a beautiful room overlooking the Savannah River. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the same old, same old but there is a bar. (They don't serve alcohol on Sunday so...) If you have a car, valet parking is $20 a night unless you're an IHG member and then it's $15. There is a public parking lot right next door which you can use too. There is a (hop on/hop off) trolley stop directly across the street.

Had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great location, walk to everything. Room was nice and clean. I used the parking garage which is right next door and is much cheaper than valet parking by the hotel. Only negatives were the internet which was totally worthless and the nice HD TV with one HD channel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wirly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing