We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Darn Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Good”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really have no complaints. The location is great for walking around the city. The room was comfy, quiet and clean. Breakfast was typical of free breakfasts, nothing fancy but hit the spot to get us going in the morning. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Savannah

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments and we are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next visit to Savannah. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    685
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
568
1,109
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great stay over the New Years holiday. The hotel was clean and perfectly located in historic downtown. Shavonne provided us superb customer service! Breakfast was great including bacon and also those famous cinnamon rolls. Did I mention that Shavonne was awesome!
We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: 8th floor facing the river is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zookeeper30165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
This is just Awesome!!!We thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our employee for their hard work and dedication to customer service. We really believe in making every guest experience one of kind and we are happy to see we succeeded with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were looking for a place in the Historic District and decided to try this hotel out. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly young lady at the front desk. We checked into our rooms and went out to eat. When we came back we explored the hotel. The rooftop pool area is very nice and our girls appreciated the workout room to burn off some of our dinner. It was too cool to try out the pool but it was a nice area. In the morning the breakfast was fantastic! They offer a complete breakfast with eggs, bacon,ham, biscuits and sausage gravy, rolls, pancakes, cereal,and juice. I am sure I forgot a few things as well. But for a free breakfast it is one of the best I have encountered in a long time. The valet parking was great and they allowed us to have our car brought down so we could load our luggage and they re-parked it so we could go on our tour of Savannah. Too bad we can not review a city, what an awesome place with so much history. Loved the hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful or professional. Helped us get lined up with a tour, and even made sure we got a discount besides. We will be back when we can stay longer to explore. Great location right by the river and all the shopping and dining located down town.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and it was very nice, I think that a riverfront room would be great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonnieB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
WOW!!! We see that you enjoyed just about every aspect of your trip to Savannah. We try to add a little variety to the breakfast whenever we can and hope that the guest are happy with their selection. We hope that you take the time to visit us in the near future to explore a little bit more of our history. We appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing and comfortable place to stay, a close walk to many things. We were treated like friends not just customers. Alfonce the front office manager took personal care of us from the time we arrived until we left. A real asset for the hotel, we will be sure to visit again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BHawkJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I really try to make sure that my guest have an amazing experience every time they walk through our door. I really believe in delivering great customer service and building a great hotel guest love. We thank you again for leaving your feedback and look forward to many more visits from you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Fl.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked two rooms for myself, husband and four young adult children and had a great time. We had adjoining rooms with two queen beds each and it worked out perfectly. The staff was beyond wonderful, the breakfast was great and the location could not be beat. We went on a ghost tour NYE, left a little early trying to get to Riverstreet to celebrate and, since we couldn't quite make it, decided to just head to the roof top area to watch the fireworks. On the way we were given some COMPLIMENTARY (not free according to the bartender!) champagne and toasted 2014. We had a great time!

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakeconmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your New Year's celebration. We try to give an added bonus to the guest experience with the complimentary champagne. We believe the guest should get the most for their money and really feel like family with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We paid a few extra bucks for a balcony view room. The view is facing the river, but if you are on the lower floors (we were on the third), you can't really see the river due to all the trees, so you "only" get a view of Bay Street, the historic riverfront buildings and vegetation. The view from the rooftop pool area (9th floor) was much better, so I imagine the higher floors (7th and 8th) would be pretty good, too. The balcony was open air, with no furniture. The view room puts you right on the busy Bay street, so there is a little extra noise, but I am a fairly light sleeper, and didn't experience any problems on a busy Friday night. Besides that, the stay was the standard Holiday Inn Express quality that keeps us returning to their hotels.

Room Tip: The best river views are from the highest floors, 7th or 8th, not the 3rd. If you don't get a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred3nPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel has a great location. We had dinner reservations at the Olde Pink House and discovered that it was just around back of the hotel. The room was comfortable. The hotel was quiet. I loved the rooftop pool and hot tub. The best thing about this hotel is the staff!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Awesome!!!. We thank you for noticing the hard work of the staff and we see that you were able to visit a great restaurant during your stay. Believe me when I say you must come back to visit, because it is so much more for you to enjoy. Thank you again for taking the time to join us in historic Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,498 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing