We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Holiday Inn Express-Historic Distric has a great location. It is within walking distance to everything you would want to see. It is is a safe area of town. It has a very nice pool deck on top of the hotel with a heated hot tub. The pool deck has a covered area which is nice if you want to look out over the river even if it's raining. The rooms are nice and have a minifrige and microwave. We had a room with a riverview. The mattress was a little firm for my liking. The road noise was minimal compared to another hotel we stayed at in the same area. A parking garage is located immediately behind the hotel. Recommend self parking (it is cheaper). For those who have not visited before, parking in Savannah can be challenging. There was a very nice continential breakfast. Among the offerings were: eggs, bacon/sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits, warm cinnamon rolls, muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, juices, coffee, hot teas. We felt like this hotel was a better value than another hotel we stayed in before on a previous trip. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennypencher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
WOW! Thanks for the amazing compliment. Looking forward to your next return. Have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    675
    121
    35
    24
See reviews for
558
1,088
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Two of the staff members excelled for their personal service while I was staying in this Holiday Inn Express:
My suitcase was lost in transit by one of the airlines the night I arrived, and by later that evening the airline posted a notice on its website the suitcase was sitting at the Savannah Airport. The next morning I still had no information about when it would be delivered to me and it contained the material for a presentation for which I had made the trip to Savannah. I had no way to reach the local airport staff to find out more. Mr. Alfonse McKinney, the Front Office Manager found a way to contact the airport and located my bag. Then, his associate Chelsey drove out to the airport, rescued my suitcase and brought it back to me in time for me to make my presentation that afternoon. Without their capable assistance that went far beyond running the hotel front desk, my trip would have been wasted. I am very appreciative of their willingness to go to such lengths to help a hotel guest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words, here at the Holiday Inn Express it is our goal to exceed every guest expectations, we are happy to hear that everything worked out for you and we are looking forward to your return. Have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights during our recent trip to Savannah. We were in a river front room on the 6th floor and were very impressed with the view. In addition the hotel is in a very convenient location. It is close to the riverfront attractions and has many restaurants that are nearby and easily walkable to. We found the breakfast to be very good. In addition, we also made very good use of the rooftop hot tub. Another thing to note is that there is a public parking garage next door to the hotel, it is better to park there on your own rather than use the hotel valet parking service. This will save you money! Overall we enjoyed our stay and plan on staying there in the future when we visit Savannah again.

Room Tip: Choose a river front room on a high floor. Park at the public garage next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that your stay with us was incredible, and that you took advantage of the wonderful amenities we offer. I look forward to you returning to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Don't let the name fool you...this Holiday Inn Express has a great location, friendly staff and super clean rooms. We stayed in the corner room on the 6th floor and the view of the river was fabulous! There is a bar outside the lobby area and this is a perfect spot to end the day in Savannah. Would def go back there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Awesome!!! We are so elated that we were able to exceed your expectations. We strive to live above the name and just be a great hotel that delivers great service. We are so very happy to make your trip wonderful and we hope to bring joy to all of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a pleasant surprise after a day of driving. We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express and were greeted by friendly staff. Check-in was fast and very friendly. We were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the river. We found that the staff, throughout the hotel, all had the same friendly upbeat attitude. Becki in the lounge was very friendly and accommodating. This is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charbrad-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and recognizing our employees for their hard work. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you in the near the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Decided to stop in Savannah overnight. We booked this hotel because we thought it had a convenient location...we were not disappointed. This property is very close to nice restaurants, for example, the Olde Pink House and B.Matthews Eatery are just a block away; the River Front is just across the street. The Historic District is right there..it was nice to stroll around it early in the morning. The hotel is right next to a public parking in case you do not wish to pay the $20 valet fee. The staff is friendly and the rooms were above expectations. We had 2 rooms, different type. The first was a queen bed and to our surprise it had a double sleeping sofa with bedding ready if needing. The other room was a 2 queen bed distribution, nothing outstanding but beds and pillows were excellent. Breakfast was ok..too many sweets for our taste.. I will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tata2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time out your busy schedule to leave a review. We are grateful for guest like yourself that provide us with the feedback we need to be successful. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Perfect location in the historical district. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Gave us great recommendations on restaurants and things to do. Room was very clean and with a great view of the river. Will plan to stay here when I'm in Savannah again.

Room Tip: Ask for River side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gypsy6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for such kind words. We love to see our guest happy and enjoying themselves. We hope that you will be able to join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing