We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Employees here treat you like Family!! Southern Hospitality at It's Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not only are the rooms wonderful, clean and spacious with amazing pillows and linens, not only does the bathroom have HUGE shower heads, a phone, and all the amenities you could need, not only is this the best possible location you could have as a tourist in Savannah, but the people here are amazing. From the lady at the tour desk, to the gals at the front desk, to the ladies at breakfast who held their closing and cleaning up so we could eat after their posted hours, EVERYONE greeted us with a smile and treated us like royalty. This is amazing to find in a moderately priced large property. I think this is the best service I have ever had!! Thank you!! Jay Kerch, Vermont

Room Tip: The higher rooms with a view to the river really do have nice views! We were in room 708 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for the amazing words, it is our pleasure to have you as a guest at our facility, that alone makes you royalty in our eyes! I'm so happy to hear that the staff treated you as the valued guest you are, and we are looking forward to your return! You rock Mr. Kerch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,290 - 1,296 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Located 1 block from all the fun on the river. Within walking distance of the historic sites of the city. Arrived early and even though rooms weren't ready they valet parked the car and secured our luggage. Rooms were clean updated with refrigerator and microwave. Fantastic mattress that slept extremely well. Breakfast was better than most typical free hotel food. Highly recommend this spot on East Bay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 6CPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the fie stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I wanted to move in! Service was great! Room was awesome! Updated decor. As nice was a 5 star hotel I stayed in last week. Location was great too. It's just across the street from river street and a short walk to many area attractions. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank jeri5464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Wow! Thanks for the great review, and feel free to come back and move in at anytime, don't worry about the cost, we'll put you to work behind the desk! Just Kidding!!!! Thanks again for the five stars, you rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

For our family, this property was in a great location. It's on a busy street, but surprisingly we couldn't hear street noise inside the room (3rd floor facing the street). The room was clean. Linens and towels in very good condition. The carpet was in good shape. The bathroom was the only thing that was questionable. It looked like it had soap scum marks, but I think it was more hard water stains than lack of cleaning. The staff were definitely the shining star of this property. In all departments they were very friendly and welcoming. House keeping even left towel "animals" in the room, just like on the Disney cruises. Breakfast was also a step above the usual. The deck on the roof gave a really nice view of the river walk. We were very satisfied with this property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cantbelieveit_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thanks for your feedback, we are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express prior to this past weekend, but I'm definitely going to start giving them a look. The advice by other Trip Advisor members was spot-on, and I'm glad we chose this property.
First of all, the price couldn't be beat. I requested a king, corner view room, and I was impressed with what we were given. We were on the 5th floor and had a great view of Bay Street and the river beyond it. Traffic noise was never really an issue.
The room was immaculate. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were just right. The shower was hot with great water pressure. There was plenty of desk and counter space.
Breakfast was also wonderful: eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits & gravy, toast, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, cinnamon rolls...so much to choose from! And the hostesses in the breakfast area always made sure the tables were clean and the food replenished.
Also, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. We didn't have a car and arrived by taxi from the airport. The taxi fare was $28 for the first person with $5 each after that. Once we arrived, we walked everywhere and then took the taxi back. A car isn't necessary if you're just wanting to stick around the Historic District and River Street.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: A corner room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmjbwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

WOW. This is amazing, thanks for the awesome review. You are the real gem here! Make sure the next time you visit Savannah we are your choice of stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having been in need a long weekend we settled on Savannah being it's proximity to NY, temperate climate this time of year (February), and that it's a walking town. My wife & I chose the Holiday Inn Express from all the positive reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. The first thing you notice is how warm, friendly & welcoming the staff is no matter what time of day. The second is the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms, literally one of the top 3 hotels in terms of cleanliness my many years of traveling! Location is perfect for wandering around Savannah, nearby is the City Market, across Bay Street is Savannah's famous River St. and all it's shops and restaurants, and, let's not forget all the great little parks nearby. We were lucky enough to score a corner room, top floor with great views of river; it was almost like a pied-à-terre in NYC. During our short stay the the temperature had reached into the mid to upper 70's so we took advantage of the rooftop pool area with lounge chairs for some relaxation from a day's walking. Note to management, this would be a nice place for a lounge for guests (just a suggestion). Free breakfast looked standard and good but, with the exception of daily coffee, we skipped it for the culinary delights of Savannah. As for staff, can't say enough... from front desk staff, to both concierges, and cleaning staff, all made us feel like family. Our stand out was Ms. Chelsey Snell. Ms. Snell helped us out immensely with our situation when we arrived. She is a true professional; pro-active, kind and goes above and beyond her position; a true ROCK STAR! Can't thank her enough and it will be remembered by endorsing and recommending the Holiday Inn Express to all we encounter who's destination is Savannah. Does it really matter in these days of lowest price wins? When you have 30 years with a major airline people DO listen to you. Bravo Chelsey and bravo Holiday Inn Express for making our short stay one of the best we've ever had!

Room Tip: Request room 818, corner room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Wow! what a review. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how pleased you were with your stay at our facility. Chelsey is a gem, and it makes my day to know she handles our value guest with care and genuine caring attitude, as she always does. Upon your next visit to Savannah, we want to be your choice hotel! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent hotel, good location, friendly staff. Well worth it - in every way! If you are planning on enjoying the many squares downtown or the many fine restaurants, be sure to stay here. Rooftop pool is also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BP12568978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

You Rock, thanks for the amazing review, please be sure to come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £99 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing