We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... Crappy sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location but the beds are horrible. Very firm...I woke up sore. Me and my wife are mid 20's and in shape so after walking around all day going to sleep on such a firm bed wasn't pleasant. Two night stay was bearable. Next time I will probably stay somewhere else in the same area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We just recently ordered new mattresses, I'm sure that was the cause for the firmness, I'm very sorry for the displeasure it caused you. Thank you for bringing this to out attention, we will do our very best to address it as soon as possible. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was awesome. The rooms were nice and clean and spacious. It was a great location for walking to all of the restaurants and night life. The hotel has a concierge who was super helpful for us because we've never been to savannah. They also allowed us to check in early which was great and housekeeping was awesome especially for us crazy girls on spring break with out clothes and shoes and drinks everywhere.

The only two things that were not great was the breakfast and parking. The coffee and eggs were gross. The bacon was chewy. The pancakes were okay. If your just looking for bagels and oj its good but its definitely not a real breakfast.

Parking is atrocious and the parking rates are crazy. Street parking is free on the weekend so we recommend parking in a metered spot. The deck next door fills up quick as well so if you come in and out of the deck you may lose your spot.

Overall it was fun and a great place to stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for the feedback, every guest review is valuable and I would like to personally thank you for bringing any concerns/ suggestions you may have to our attention. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Only been here a few hours and the hotel exceeds my expectations. The front desk is excellent and the manager Wendy has gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

The location is perfect to anything you need. Just park your car and you can walk anywhere and everywhere.

Highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bearcubnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thanks for the amazing compliment, hopefully on your next visit to Savannah you can stay a little longer and we can show you everything our lovely city has to offer. We want to be your choice hotel! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great hotel, great service, clean and comfortable rooms, and a good hot breakfast. Close to everything. Parking a bit expensive but valet parking was convenient throughout the day. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelo515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for the five stars! We are looking forward to your speedy return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I'm not a big Holiday Inn guy, because it always seems that as I travel throughout the U.S., you take your chances with each one. I've seem some good ones, and I've seen some very bad ones, and I've seen some in the middle. This is one of the good ones. First of all, the location, right on Bay Street, is right in the middle of the action, and like much of that area, exudes class. Because it is in the middle of the Historic District, the building is older - which is a nice touch - and the parking can be a challenge, although I chose the valet parking, which while quite pricey, is definitely the way to go here. You don't want to be walking in the city parking garages late at night. While a beautiful city, any part of it at night can be iffy and you need to be aware at all times, even in the best parts of the historic district. The room was top notch, with everything working and clean, with the exception of some peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. My view, looking out on Bay Street, over River Street and towards Hutchinson Island and South Carolina, was as pretty a view as you can get there. Surprisingly, the breakfast was quite good, which is something of a rarity in my experience with Holiday Inns. It is especially important, as it is hard to find a breakfast place close to the hotel. The staff was nice and very helpful. It really looks like the hotel is doing its best-sometimes under challenging circumstances-to be the best it can be. Despite a lot of tourists, the room was quiet. I'd stay there again, and I can't say that for a whole lot of Holiday Inn properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for the valuable feedback, it's great to hear that our location/ helpful staff has you considering revisiting us in the future. Have a awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a newer facility practically in the middle of historic Savannah. Valet parking was about $20 additional to the $160 or so we paid per night for the room, so we used the city parking lot next door for $12. a day. Given the location and quality of the room I feel the room price was reasonable.

Our 4th floor room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Included breakfast offered a very good variety that was filling enough that we skipped lunches. The dining area was spacious and clean. Staff was efficient and courteous.

Location was excellent. Waterfront is about block to the north. The remainder of the historic district is all within a few blocks south, east and west. We bought tour trolley tickets our first day in town and learned the area but found after that, it was quicker to just walk rather than take the trolley.

We'll definitely stay again if we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for the amazing review, please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Holiday Inn Express Historic Savannah is the best location if you want to see historic Savannah. The location makes sightseeing a breeze. The entire historic district is an easy walk and it does not border some of the edges of the historic district which is good because those areas are high crime.
The hotel is well-run. It is very clean and the staff is helpful. The common areas are very nice and there is a small bar. The manager was extremely helpful with a minor problem.
Our room was nice. We were next to the elevator, but amazingly we couldn't hear a thing except the fan in our room. Of course the linen is white, which is great if you are a clean freak like me.
The free breakfast is typical HI fare.
There is a pool on the top floor (8th?). DO GO TO THE ROOFTOP AREA because the view is the best in town! You have an amazing view of the river.
Also, YOU CAN SAVE A BOATLOAD OF MONEY BY PARKING IN THE PUBLIC GARAGE NEXT DOOR TO THE HOTEL OVER THE HOTEL'S VALET PARKING. The parking garage cost about a third of valet parking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Wow! Thanks for the five stars! I want to personally thank you for staying with us and posting this amazing comment. Please make us your choice hotel when visiting Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,983 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,846 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £114 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing