We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I were thrilled with the location as it was a short walk to River Street (1 street over), adjacent to one of the many squares, close to several restaurants and bars, and only 2 blocks from Leopold’s Ice Cream. Also if you decide to partake in one of the trolley tours (we did Old Town Trolley Tours), there is a stop directly across the street from the hotel. The hotel itself was decorated nicely and kept clean. The staff was friendly and Maggie, the concierge, was helpful with restaurant and tour suggestions for our first trip to the city. Breakfast was good and the staff was great at keeping it replenished. Though we did not use the pool, we did go take a look at the roof and it had a fabulous view of the city. The pool/hot tub also appeared to be kept clean. Parking was $20 per day plus valet, so per other reviews we decided to park in one of the public lots nearby (there are two). Cost was $65 for Wednesday afternoon to Saturday morning, so in our opinion cost was pretty much a wash and we would probably just pay to valet it in the future. Only negative things would be that one of the elevators was not working so it took a little longer in the lobby, but they fixed it within a couple days. Also, we did return to our room Friday afternoon to find that neither of our room keys were working, but they resolved this fairly quickly. Overall the location was perfect, staff friendly, hotel clean and our first experience in Savannah was great. We would definitely stay here again on future visits.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor so a lot of people used the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

So happy to hear you will be returning to our location upon your next visit to Savannah! We are looking forward to seeing you again, and please come see me personally, I can offer great recommendations on parking that can definitely save you a few bucks. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

To the ladies who make a great breakfast to the staff at the front desk. Thank you for meeting our needs, with a few extra requests that were accommodated in a very kindly cooperative manner. The location is an easy walk to everything. A great night's sleep too.
Thanks Holiday Inn for your consistent quality!

Room Tip: For $15. more we wish we had gotten a room with a river view. The staff tried to meet this request h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

WOW, what a compliment! The word "Perfect" can't be beat. We strive to provide outstanding service and quality to each guest that stays in our facility. Thanks so much for the 5 stars and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Two of my friends, we all graduated together, and I were coming back to Lima, OH. from another friend's, yep, she graduated with us also, who lives in Florida during the Winter months and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Savannah, GA. I can't think of anything else they could have done to make our trip more enjoyable. Hope, Maya and Sasha at the Front Desk were so much fun and ever so helpful.
The room was perfect as was our breakfast. The only problem was ours was only a one night stay in such a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
A week next time...a whole week!!!
Almost forgot to say the parking garage people were amazing too. The young man even backed our car up so we could pack the trunk easier.


Thanks so much for a great first time in Savannah!!!
Sherri Roller

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the River and on the fifth floor and had entertainment just watching out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Sherri, it was an absolute pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel. I, Sasha, and Maya are looking forward to your return, maybe next time we can join the gang ha-ha! Thanks so much for the kind words, and taking the time to write us such an amazing review! You Rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I found this Holiday Inn Express at a reasonable rate and a very nice location. We parked our car in the next door parking lot for the entire 3 days in Savannah. The location on Bay Street is convenient to the river area and all of the historic squares. We used the free DOT bus but found that it wasn't that far to walk around the Historic Squares and even got to Forsyth Park. We visited Bonaventure Cemetary in a tour so didn't have to drive there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chochisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed your time in Savannah and got to see the beautiful squares and even Bonaventure Cemetery. We would love to be your choice hotel when returning to our city. Thanks for the 4 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Can’t say enough nice things about the Holiday Inn Express in Savannah. The location in the historic district was perfect for wondering the area and then being able to run back to your room to rest.
Every person working there ,that we interacted with was more than polite from the front desk to the housekeeping lady.
The room was clean and well kept up. The elevators were clean and fast. The rooftop pool and patio area are great and the view from up there is amazing.
If there is a downside to this hotel it would be the valet parking. Although the valet people were fast and polite, they get a very small area to handle the flow of traffic which comes in directly off a busy street, but they do an amazingly efficient job with a good attitude.
Stay here when in Savannah, you won’t be sorry.

Room Tip: Room to the back overlook an alley. Try for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words, and the great feedback concerning our valet parking. We are looking forward to your return, have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here late March on our first trip to Savannah (3 days). And you might think Holiday Inn..???.. might want something more classy?? … This hotel was a real surprise! Had a nice homey feel to it, old world charm without being old. Clean rooms, clean resturant and nice but small bar area. Greeted by pleasent staff every time and asked some of the staff about can we walk here or there and safe or not… honest answers ever time. The location cant be beat! Beautiful park a half block up and river attractions a half block down. Easy walk to most places in the historic district.

Tip:Take left out of hotel 2 blocks towards city hall area and look for Moon something bar… They brew beer right there. "The bomb" is a Guiness type dark with the crispness of a pilsner! Best beer I've ever had.

Our room faced the garage so gotta say it was quiet, No view but no road noise either. I'm not sure if ones that face main road are noisy? The main drag infront of the hotel is very noisy!

Minuses: Shower head and pressure was weird and required lots of goofing with before got it right, but water was hot. Beds have FIRM mattresses. Window don't open so have to rely on AC/heat.

Last couple of notes... They got a nice little fountain / garden thingie outside with a bench if you want to sneak a smoke.. And a public parking garage is like twenty feet from the building and charges $12 and $15 (weekends) if you want to save a couple of bucks over valet and dont need the car.

Room Tip: Top floors may have a view. Main road in front of building has lots of cars and truck traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friznizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

WOW, glad to hear you enjoyed everything our facility has to offer. Thanks for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, we value your feedback and take pride in every compliment our guest provides us. Looking forward to your return, you rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. There is a trolley stop right outside, but everything is in walking distance. There are several good restaurants in walking distance like the Old Pink House and B Matthews. The hotel is lovely on the inside, the breakfast was nice. My only complaint would be that the wifi is terrible, but it is free. $20/day for parking.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank seethesightsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for staying with us, we want to your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,080 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £103 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing