We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel directly in the city center within walking distance to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel directly in the city center within walking distance to everything”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice hotel and great room. The hotel directly in the city center within walking distance to everything worth seeing. There is also a troley passing directly without the hotel that runs a circular line in the center. It runs about every 30 minutes and until 6pm. Parking is adjacent to hotelet, at an additional cost. The breakfast was good to be of continental type. Very friendly and service oriented staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aner_830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. You rock! Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    703
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
602
1,146
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived late on our way to Florida and were greeted by two very friendly young ladies at the front desk! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable! The view looking out to the river was beautiful! We were on the 3rd floor right behind the streetlight which was rather bright, but that's ok!! :) The concierge was so helpful and got us reservations on the horse ride tour which was a quick way to hit all the tops spots around town. Although I would recommend the tour companies having a separate ride for people with children. I loved the décor of the hotel and would most certainly stay there again! It was in walking distance of all kinds of shops, restaurants and sightseeing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is higher up than the street lights! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWilky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the 5 star ratings. I'm happy to hear you were greeted by kind and friendly faces at the front desk. Looking forward to your return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in the historic district of Savannah. Everything was in walking distance - great location! Our room was clean and updated. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and the pool and hot tub on the rooftop were added bonus. Thought the price was a little high but I think it was because we stayed over Easter. Free breakfast was great - pancakes, scrambled cheese eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, muffins, etc. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Would stay higher up. We were on the 2nd floor and had a view of the river but would have liked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful compliment. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in the historic district of Savannah. We had considered staying at one of the beautiful B&B's but chose this hotel instead because of where it was located and we thought we might be arriving later in the evening so having a 24 hour desk was important. Many of the B&B's are further south, not as close to the restaurants.

We were very happy with the location; had a view of River Street and the Savannah River. There is a small amount of street noise but the windows are excellent. I'm a very light sleeper and it didn't bother me at all. The room was spotless; the bed comfortable and the cleaning staff very pleasant.

Breakfast is standard for these types of hotels... good but not great but there was decent selection and filled us up for the day. The breakfast area is very busy and it can be difficult to find a table; however, people tend to eat and get on with their day so the tables turn over quickly. We were told that we could also get up early and come down (i.e. 7:30am rather than 9:30am). If you are an early riser, that might be a good thing to do.

The concierge was very helpful. She booked tickets for us on the trolley tour as well as the river cruise. She also made several restaurant recommendations which were excellent and booked table reservations for us.

Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for the 5 star rating, we want to be your choice hotel when returning to Savannah! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Savannah's historic distric when staying at the hotel. Everything was within walking distance! Brittany at the front desk was more helpful than we could have ever asked for, and she always greeted us with a smile. Highly recommend this place, will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obxhot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Great! Thank you for the 5 star rating, "Perfect in every way" is an outstanding compliment for us. I will let Brittany knowf the fantastic service she delivered is not going unnoticed. We are looking forward to your speedy return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here for our two nights in Savannah. The historic parks were just outside our door and it was great to be able to wander from square to square listening to the various musicians playing each evening. Best of all, our room was on the seventh floor with a great view of the river. Huge cargo ships passed by frequently and there was an unexpected but terrific fireworks display on a Monday night - it was highly entertaining! The staff was so very friendly, the place was clean and modern with as good a "free" breakfast as any I've seen - considering all that with the superb location I will happily stay here any time I return to Savannah!

Room Tip: Do opt for a room with a view on a higher floor - it's worth the small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for the kind words, and 5 star rating, we value or guest feedback and I’m happy you enjoyed all Savannah has to offer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was recently at this hotel for four nights with my husband and 10 year old son, it was our first trip to Savannah. I found the price of the hotel quite good considering it is a nice place in a very convenient location, it is right across from the river and an easy walk to everything that we did in the city. Room was clean, bathroom counter spacious, beds and pillows very comfortable. Was very nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good. My only complaint was parking, we choose upon checkin to park in the city garage right next door b/c was less expensive than using the valet, but 3 days later when we used the car to go to Tybee Island, we found that public garage to be full upon our return and so were several others nearby so we ended up using the valet. But in my opinion, that was minor and would not deter us from staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask about a river view - we were in 606 and had a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, parking can be a bit of an issue so upon returning if you do choose to self-park and find that the garage is you can always switch over to valet parking for your convenience. I'm glad to hear overall everything was great. Looking forward to your return, and have an awesome day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,839 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing