We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My elderly folks and I stayed here one night and it was the perfect place. Great central location for the historic district. Parking garage right next door....the OIde Pink House restaurant next door to that. My parents don't move around very easily but the design and construction of this hotel was very friendly to the mobility-challenged. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Nice roof top pool and patio with river view...perfect for us smokers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks you for the kind words, please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I am a Platinum member, a frequent traveler and a reviewer who will be very honest. I was disappointed that I couldn't use points to book here, but it was a busy weekend with few rooms available.
After a two hour drive, I was greeted by 3 smiling valet people, checked in by a lovely gal who described all the hotel areas and services and who offered help in any way at any time.I was in my room on 8th floor in no time.
My room had a view of an alley with a dumpster, alas. But, the room had a fridge and microwave, plus food and drink vending on every floor. The bed was dreamy, the room was clean and the pool and hot tub on top floor were very nice. The view at night was lovely. I agree with other reviewers, more attention to cleaning ashtrays, bottles and restocking towels is needed! A small workout room was available with a few machines. There is a bar attached to the lobby as well.
Breakfast is pretty typical HI Express, eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt,etc. However, they had a fresh pancake rolling machine which thrilled the kids! The area was clean, everything hot and plentiful and the two ladies working there were delightful! Nice area to relax and there are newspapers available.
There was a concierge desk with tourist help as well as a restaurant and menu book in the lobby. Of course, the best thing about the hotel is the amazing location. You are byRiver Street, blocks from Broughton Street and a step away from a trolley or bus. My room was blissfully quiet as well.
Sorry to read that others had service issues. I found every single employee to be smiling, friendly and helpful. I was very impressed with this hotel and it has been the best of my choices in four visits. I will always return here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

WOW, thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, we certainly appreciate it. As an Elite Platinum Member your feedback is very important to us and I’m happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Thanks you for your loyalty to the brand and we are looking forward to your return. You Rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have been to Savannah quite a few times and have to say that this hotel, for us, was the best location yet. A very easy walk to just about everywhere in the historic district. Easy parking. As we are IHG Platinum members, we could park for $15.00 with valet, which is worth the value. Give them the car and be done with it.

Check in was very busy. Things went fine though as room was ready. We were greeted as Platinum members and given a snack as our amenity for being Platinum. This was a bit of a surprise to us since many hotels give something a bit more than just a rice krispie bar, but many of the hotels have a bar or restaurant so offer something free there. As this was an Express, they did not have that option. We had booked a king corner suite and that was what we were given. Once again, not complaining as it was a great room, but most of the time we are given an upgrade as Platinum.

OK done with my minor issues, everything else here is great! Love location. We could view both the river and the street side by the Hampton across the street. If you can get a corner king, on one of the higher floors.....get it! Liked having a wet bar with refrig in the room as we did have a couple drinks relaxing in our room.

Breakfast room is good. Nice options and service. Not that crowded. Lots of people coming and going but nothing that can't be handled as we had no problems getting food or a seat.

Elevator was always busy and had to wait for it going and coming but since we were on vacation, this was not much of a problem.

Concierge was very friendly and helpful to those who stopped by. We did not as we are familiar with the area, but were always greeted warmly.

Very nice pool for a Holiday Inn Express. We went there on the sunny, warm day we had and enjoyed it. Could look over the edge and watch the freighters leaving. Had plenty of seating. A very nice covered area for a group to sit and talk. Would have liked to have more towels. We went to work out in the morning and there were no towels at that time. When we came back for the pool area, there were a few towels but noticed later in the day, none were there again. As this was early in the season, would have to assume this gets better as it gets busier at the pool/work out area.

Overall, I would return to this property. Great room, great views and great location.

Have to put in a plug for a terrific restaurant just a short walk from the hotel, 17 Hundred 90 is not only a restaurant but also a historic inn that is supposedly haunted by friendly ghosts also.
We had dinner here one night and it was terrific! Loads of excellent food for very reasonable prices in a "rat pack" type atmosphere. Piano player in the corner playing old tunes. We were waiting for Frank Sinatra to come out! It was fun as something different from the normal options.
And, the drinks were extremely reasonably priced too which is something you don't find in a tourist city. So go there if you like something like I described as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank for the awesome feedback, as a Platinum Member I'm happy to hear you greeted and provided discounted parking for your loyalty. Please come back and see us upon your return to Savannah, I'll make sure I offer you an amenity of your choice! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Pulled up to valet the three off them are just standing there with their faces hanging out. Check in easy room nice but be sure to ask for high floor I had nice view of parking garage. The air conditioner not so good either but I could have asked I guess. Overall it is a nice place.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for the valuable feedback; and I want to apologize for the lack of service you received. I would love the opportunity to speak with you and hear ways we can better serve you. I can be reached at 912-231-9000 ext. 6101 or hope.garner@savannahlodging.com. Thanks in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Property is nicely situated in the Savannah historic district within easy walking distance to most everything you would want to do there. The room was good but during our visit one of the elevators was out of service causing long backups for the one remaining elevator. Strangely the desk was often unattended, we had poor service at the small bar near the lobby and the valet service was very slow. For the price, service should have been much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I want to apologize for the service you recieved during the course of your stay. That is in no way what we're about at the Holiday Inn Express. I would love the opportunity to hear a little more about your experience here, please contact me at 912-231-9000 ext. 6101 or hope.garner@savannahlodging.com. Thanks in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. From the moment that we arrived the staff was very helpful and even arranged for us to check in a little early. The location of the hotel is ideal and you are able to walk to all the sights in Savannah. The hotel is located across the street from the riverfront and the trolley also stops outside. The room was very clean and breakfast in the morning was good also. The concierge was helpful and I would recommend taking a trolley tour to orientate you to the beautiful city. The rooftop pool was nice and gave you a nice view of the city, but the weather was too cold for us to really enjoy it. We would definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to Savannah!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for the kind words and writing us such a great review. I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay and was able to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice hotel and great room. The hotel directly in the city center within walking distance to everything worth seeing. There is also a troley passing directly without the hotel that runs a circular line in the center. It runs about every 30 minutes and until 6pm. Parking is adjacent to hotelet, at an additional cost. The breakfast was good to be of continental type. Very friendly and service oriented staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aner_830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. You rock! Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,989 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £115 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing