We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Most people will be happy staying here: nice area to chat downstairs, clean room, clean bath, across from the river, etc. The manager (believe her name might have been Faith?) was fantastic in terms of helping people (you have to hope she's around however---see below).

Breakfast was plentiful and the food area was kept clean although the quality of food was standard budget hotel (as you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express).

Why we wouldn't stay here again (the following is a composite experience including those of our friends):

One side of the hotel lies on a main street with a heavy stream of trucks and cars and windows are not soundproof. (On the other hand, this same side offers a pretty river or park-area type view.) Note that the windows do NOT open if you can't get your room as cool as you'd like it late at night. You're stuck either way.

Front desk staff are friendly and pleasant, but not all are trained/organized sometimes: telling us things about the rooms and how things are handled, etc. that turned out to be clearly wrong, and this is in addition to not following through on a promised request, etc. After several episodes, it became frustrating. Note: Hotel management should actually SHOW the front desk examples of room layouts and amenities,and go through common policies when they train them.

At busy times, the valet area can be a mess. You leave your car there and decide to go out later--your car is still where it was left and you must maneuver around other cars in order to leave. (And we really could have done without the blaring music at the valet's desk.)

The concierge in the lobby does NOT work for the hotel--they work for one of the tour companies as we discovered the hard way.

The bed: our mattresses was uncomfortable; and sheets felt scratchy/stiff. While we could hear nothing from the next room, we could hear EVERYTHING people standing in the hall were discussing.

The downstairs area is nice but several times people were sitting there with their laptops and phones and loudly conducting business--don't know if they were even staying at the hotel or not. The Front desk staff said nothing to them but it made it miserable for others.

The location is great if you value quick access to shops and restaurants. If you value walking around looking at beautiful homes, it's a hike to the best areas.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadGoesOnForever5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have a relatively new staff as you are aware, and I apologize for their miscommunication on the hotel information and amenities. I can assure you that all details mention will be addressed and made better for the satisfaction of our guest. It would be a pleasure if I had the opportunity to speak with you further concerning your stay with us, please email me at hope.garner@savannahlodging.com or call 912-231-9000 ext. 6101. Looking forward to hearing from you. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    686
    126
    36
    24
See reviews for
569
1,114
70
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Situated just across the road from the river front area and close the famous squares of Savannah, this hotel is right where you want to be. Unfortunately one of the lifts was broken during out visit causing some frustration but a small thing overall. The hotel has a small bar and the bar man was helpful with good restaurants, unfortunately we opted for a place called Tubbys , which had a great view of the river but truly awful food. We had a river view room at the hotel which was excellent, the valet service and check in team were all excellent. Savannah is a really nice place and we wish we had stayed longer, would recommend this hotel for the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor , river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for the great review, and we apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. I’m happy to hear that overall your stay was nice and the staff was accommodating. Looking forward to your return, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatontown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was great. Hope and her staff at the front desk were outstanding. All of the employees were sincerely friendly and very helpful. I do not think my husband and I have ever been treated nicer at a hotel. I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean. The roof top pool was a treat and we were lucky enough to have a nice breeze for the few days we stayed at Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for the outstanding compliment. It has a pleasure to have you as guest at out hotel. Please come again! You rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Hotel. Every area of staffing was of a very high standard and provided us with excellent customer service.
The room we had was very nicely appointed, very well kept and clean but most importantly the bed was extremely comfortable. We were fortunate to have a room on a higher floor with a view of the river. The location is right accross from the river street district and within easy walking distance to many of the fine dining establishments and attractions.

The city tour buses stop right accross from the Hotel Valet station which was also really convenient. Our next trip to Savannah will include another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Awesome! I am happy to hear your stay was great and you will be returning to our facility upon your next trip to Savannah! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is very tired and is in the need of upgrades. The walls need painting... carpet needs replacing. Our room was located in the back of the hotel facing the dumpsters and a parking garage. Their overnight parking was expensive.. $ 20.00. The only thing that this hotel has going for it is it's location in the "Historic District". This hotel is very expensive and we were shocked when we entered the hotel what it looked like. Last time here - I'm sure there are a lot more beautiful hotels in Savannah for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear patricia234-12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We truly regret to see that you did not fully enjoy your experience as our guest. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel May 5, 2014. From the moment we left our car at Valet parking, we were treated wonderfully. The Bellman was friendly, smiling, and seemed happy to be assisting us. The two women at the front desk, Shavon and Maya couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They allowed us to stay in our room for two hours past check-out. I have never experienced a friendlier front desk staff. Our room was large, clean, and had a faced both the river and the side. The pool was well maintained and offered a wonderful view of Savannah, especially at sunset. Breakfast was your typical hotel/motel breakfast, hot and cold items, constantly refreshed by an attentive staff. The breakfast room is large and airy. The location is fantastic, across the street from Riverwalk, a few short blocks to Market Place and a great starting off spot to stroll from square to square. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 8th Floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for the 5 star ratings, and I will let Maya, and Shavon know of the fantastic job they are doing! We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice hotel, that is exceptionally clean overall. Room and bathroom were very clean, with well appointed decor. Common areas also well maintained. Corridor carpet not quite as clean, but not a problem.

Had 5th floor room noted as river view, but you can't see the river because of the River Street buildings and trees. Went up to rooftop pool area and river was visible from there so it might be from floors 6, 7 and 8. View was of Bay Street and plaza area of upper River Street shops. Not a bad view, but you're not looking down right over the water. Have to stay on River Street side to do that. Street noise (traffic) can be heard at times, but it was never an issue at night. Could hear hallway talk at times during the day, but not a problem at night. Guests seemed to settle in relatively early without a lot of coming/going in the hallways.

Free breakfast was fine - pancakes, instant oatmeal, eggs, sausage, other standard choices (fruit, yogurt, toast, etc) - all set up for do-it-yourself-prep.

Used valet parking ($20/day) which was an expense, but I considered it a part of being at an intown hotel. Not a bad tradeoff for the convenience of being intown. River Street within walking distance but wear comfy, durable shoes to make it on the cobblestones. Quick walk in the other direction to the historic district (landscaped squares, architecture, art galleries, etc).

Rooftop pool with jacuuzi and lounge area; also decent workout room (small, but was never crowded and had satisfactory selection of equipment).

This hotel is a good choice if you want to be intown in an urban area, close to a variety of shops, restaurants, and have walking access.

Room Tip: Need to be on high floor to see river - even then, view is obscured by trees and River Street buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojournhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for your valued feedback, and we are looking forward to your return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing