We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In the heart of it all! Right in downtown Savannah, across the street from River Street. You can walk to restaurants and parks.

Rooms were very clean and quiet. Our room faced the parking deck next to the hotel...so there was no traffic noise from trucks and cars along Bay Street. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate....nothing to write home about, but standard for Hi-Express.

Rooftop pool was very nice with great sunset views of the river.

Only complaint is that the elevators were very dirty and in need of polishing up.

Room Tip: Room facing parking deck was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CYMK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for the great review and your valuable feedback. We are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my second trip to Savannah, but my first stay here. The hotel was so beautiful and clean. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. I loved the location. It was so close to everything we wanted to do and see. I can not say enough good things about The Holiday Inn Express in the Historic District!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moobear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for the 5 star rating, you rock! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time in Savannah. The hotel is in a great location in the historic district. You will not need a car. Everything is in walking distance. The hotel is a block away from River Street and the Savannah River. River St has all the great shops and restaurants along the river.
The hotel staff are fantastic, friendly, and extremely helpful. Shavon & Nicole and the rest of the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms are very clean and have a frig, micro wave, iron & board, hair dryer and personal amenities if needed. Plenty of towels. The hotel also has a free breakfast which was great. If you can, get a room on the eight floor facing the river or one with a terrace if available. Valet service was great even though this was an extra $20 a day but we'll worth it. We also had cocktails in the hotel's bar " the Port Royal Tavern" Rocki was our bartender who had a wealth of information about Savannah and made you feel at home.
The Olde Pink House Restaurant is around the corner and food was unbelievable but make reservations ahead of time. The Pirate House Restaurant is also a fun place to eat.
We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for the 5 star rating! So happy to hear that Shavon, Rocki, and Nicole were of great assistance during your stay, I will let them know they are doing such a great job! We want to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights and slept well. Everything was clean and fresh. When the staff found out it was our anniversary, they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. Nice, unexpected touch. Great location if your stay is focused on Savannahs Historic District. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks for the awesome review, please come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have visited Savannah several times and stayed in several different hotels. This one is in a great location near the river front restaurants, gift shops, and tours and just a short walk from the Pink House Restaurant. Rooms, with fridge and microwave, are very nice. We most certainly will stay here again

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing Bay Street and was very quiet. I was afraid street noise would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mer986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to return in the future. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for five nights and loved this hotel! You can't beat the location - just off Reynolds Square, with the free DOT shuttle stop around the corner, and steps from historic River Street with lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is clean and new, but the public spaces have an old-fashioned feel and décor that fits in with the area. There is a generous free breakfast buffet, which is a big asset, as well as free WiFi. Staff are friendly and there is a concierge desk in the lobby to help with tours, restaurant reservations, etc. Also loved the rooftop pool with one of the city's best views over the river and the old cotton warehouses! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: The higher rooms on the front side will have a river view, but I think they're bigger and more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thanks for the fantastic review, we are looking forward to your speedy return. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Located right in the heart of the historic district and in good proximity to pretty much anywhere you want to venture to on foot. The riverfront area is right across the street - lots of restaurants, souvenir shops, riverboat cruise area. My room was nicely appointed with a microwave, mini-fridge, small bar area, glass enclosed shower (no bathtub), comfy queen bed, small work area and sitting area. Rooftop pool with super views of the river/city. Breakfast included with stay - typical, but the staff was very pleasant and kept replenishing/cleaning as needed. A concierge in the lobby can help with tourist activities. Desk clerks (kudos to Miss Nichole) were some of the most friendly and helpful I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We're happy to hear your stay with us was satisfying! Nicole is a rock star and I will be sure to let her know of the great job she is doing. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,078 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £103 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing