We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Alhambra, California
1 review
“Good environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very polite service from hotel front-desk staff. I received a welcome gift from staff and they assigned higher floor as i requested and TG gave me a excellent service beyond my expectation for my first breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    675
    121
    35
    24
See reviews for
558
1,088
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a bargain for what you get.
The location is ideal, right on the waterfront, yet easy walk to anything else you might want to visit within the city itself.
Very clean, very comfortable pillows and beds.
Free breakfast more than adequate, but the hours need to be adjusted to later than a 10.00 a.m. cutoff for those on vacation looking to sleep in.
Rooftop pool was a giant plus when the temps hit 97 during our stay. Unreal sunsets from the rooftop deck.
Bartender (male) could have had more personality, didn't say one word to any of the patrons both nights we were in the bar.
Front desk staff extremely accommodating.
Concierge(s) were pleasant, however, they need to consider the age of the guests before making certain recommendations.
Very disappointed in view from room. We booked a balcony room and the website pictures show a water view. Not the case on floors 3 and 4, all you see are the street and trees/lamp posts. Insist on high floor if you splurge on a balcony room.
Overall, I would easily recommend the property, and I would definitely stay there again, no questions asked.

Room Tip: If you pay for a balcony room, be sure it's on a high floor. Otherwise, you hear a lot of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkLI1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the valuable feedback, we will take all recommendations in consideration to help us better assist you as an guest. Looking forward to your return. Have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wonderful experience with Armethia and Jasmine....GREAT service...thanked the ladies for getting up early to prepare our complimentary breakfast...super nice ladies....even helped an 8 yr. old make her toast. A thankful Gran and friend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the great compliment to our breakfast staff, I will let the girls know of the great job they are doing. Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Ro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days/2 nights for a wedding. Friendly, very helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and a wonderful location. I could walk anywhere in the historic district. The district cafe close by was wonderful. A great place to stay!! Recommend it to everyone!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend and loved the convenient location. When we first started looking for a hotel in Savannah, the Holiday Inn Express seemed expensive but we found it was a similar price to other hotels. Having breakfast included made it a better deal.

Breakfast was busy but it is in a good size room so we were always able to get a table. The breakfast was well stocked and being refreshed on a regular basis. The staff also kept the trash emptied and the tables cleaned. The only problem was that the hot food was in the "Express Start Breakfast Bar" (designed by Holiday Inn Express) that has four or more containers for food (eggs, bacon, biscuit, gravy, etc.) but only allows one person to access the food at a time so there were times when there was a long line of people waiting to access the hot food.

We self-parked next door in the public parking garage (same garage used by the valet parking). There was a weekend deal of $5 per day compared with $20 a day for the valet. The garage was close to full but only once did we see the full sign lit up. I don't know why anyone would pay to valet park with the parking garage so conveniently located.

The pool on the roof was also very nice and provided great views. However, it would be helpful if the rooms had a clothesline available in the bathroom to dry bathing suits on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaynesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback, I'm happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed many places in Savannah GA. but the Holiday Inn Express was an experience we will never forget. The corner king room was everything that we expected comfortable bed, roomy, sink with bar area, frig, microwave, unbelievable view & a shower to die for. The location was with in a few blocks from the river, shopping district, great restaurants & walking distance to the market place. The staff showed us nothing but southern hospitality & catered to our every need. The on site concierge was very knowledgeable, helpful & attentive. She was very helpful to our needs & wants. Reynolds Square was only steps away & was very relaxing in the morning sipping a cup of coffee. To sum this up if anyone plans a visit to Savannah you should really consider the Holiday Inn Express. If you decide to stay somewhere else then all I can say is you will be missing out. Thanks to all the staff for the friendship, attention & caring you showed us.

Room Tip: Corner King Room the view is to good to miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It is our pleasure to assist you in every way possible and we are happy to do so. I'm happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the biggest compliment is you returning to our facility for a second stay, so hopefully we will see you soon! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel and its staff (Asia & front desk personal) were perfect; and the hotel location met our every nightlife needs. The location is near many restaurants, clubs, candy shops, and art galleries. The best part is that it is located near the river, so feel free to hop on a dinner boat and enjoy the sights from the river.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for the amazing review, I will let Asia know of the fantastic job she is doing. Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing