We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located, Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Easy to Experience Savannah from this centrally located hotel! Close to River Street, and easy evening strolls through a handful of the quaint squares of Savannah. Concierge has an extensive list of restaurants and attractions around the property and was very helpful. The pancake maker at breakfast was a big hit, and the breakfast attendants were exceptionally good and attentive! We were pleasantly surprised by how nice our room was, including a refrigerator and microwave. The only complaint was the elevator that was being worked on and out of service at times, but the staff did the best they could to help accommodate guests during the inconvenience. Highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine_Warnstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for being so kind and understanding about the refurbishing of the elevator. I'm happy to hear that it did not interfer with the overall stay with us and your recommending us to your friends! We appreciate you and value your feedback. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Located just above the river, steps away from the waterfront, this hotel is very strategically located. It permits you to explore in any direction ion the historic district. The to[ floor is open to the elements, has a pool, hottub & lounge area & provides a terrific panoramic view of the city.

Helpful concierge helped get us booked at (ever-popular) Vics on the River & one of the trolleys.

Our smallish King room faced towards the garage, had a very good bed and selection of pillows. Ample desk, chest of drawers, closet & small seating area. Older furnishings but clean and not worn through. Lighting: 1/3 of room (over chest & walk area) had light void; also bathroom lighting was a bit dim on vanity/mirror area. Large glassed-in modern shower (no tub). Adequate but smallish bathroom. .

Very good breakfast buffet plus a cozy, small bar w/two separate well-lit seating areas for conversations or reading,. Parking was $20/night; so avoid the car if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for the awesome review, please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After staying at St. Augustine's Hotel we were looking forward to another excellent experience. Unfortunately, it fell a little short. We valet'd our car. And therein was one problem. Several times we rode up and no one was there to take our keys or car. I would have to go in and ask where the valet had gone.
The fridge in the room barely was cool; for that matter the room never got cool enough to sleep comfortably. The bed was in the soft side. There was no safe in the room. There was only one outlet by the beds.
That being said, Asia, the desk clerk, was wonderful! She was friendly and accommodating. The Concierge was also very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for exploring the riverfront. Two blocks from SCAD, it is a perfect location for parents of students. It is still a good stay, even though it is not the St Augustine hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor- it might be cooler on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I will let Asia know of the great job she is doing, please come see us when visiting Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose the hotel because of its central location which proved to be really very convenient and basically within walking distance of all the interesting features of the historic district. The hotel itself is of the architecture of the district a theme which is carried into the interior, with a pleasant lobby which opens onto a lounge/ bar and the breakfast dining room.

The room was pleasant with a view over the river, comfortable and well appointed for a 3 star hotel.The breakfast is a standard continental style with cereals, fruit juice, pastries and coffee etc and perfectly adequate. There is only a short walk to the riverfront restaurants and various establishments and the bar, which is a separate establishment but is in the hotel, is very pleasant and convenient

The staff at reception were very polite and efficient, checking in and out was simple and straightforward. The concierge was very helpful. The trolley tour of the city stops immediately adjacent to the hotel.

A very good hotel in a great location for a visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to give our hotel your valuable feedback. We hope to have to stay with us in the near future. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We've been here several times and always a pleasant experience. Great location, the rooftop pool has a great view of Bay Street and river. Nice amenities, employees are always courteous and helpful. Reasonably priced and a pretty good complimentary breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank EyeDEZIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your valued feedback, please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My daughter and I spent a long weekend in Savannah GA and chose the Holiday Inn Express in the Historic District and the location could not have been more perfect! The riverside, city market, and historic section of the city are all in convenient walking distance from the hotel which offers valet parking but is also located next door to public parking. You won't really need a car if you plan to stay downtown. The lobby and public areas were clean and although we did not make use of the service, there is a concierge available and plenty of brochures and maps. Nicole and Brittany were our greeters on arrival and the checkin was smooth and quick. Our room, 704, had a river view with two queen beds, and was high enough to enjoy the view and far enough away from the elevator to keep hallway noises to a minimum. Traffic noises filter up from Bay St, but they're not enough to disrupt sleep. The room was clean and fully appointed with a refrigerator, coffee maker, comfy beds, and more than enough towels and amenities. Breakfast offered a great selection of drinks, sweets, fruits, eggs, and the most interesting automatic pancake maker. We visited the pool area on the 9th floor and had it been a bit warmer, we would have taken a dip. Everyone we encountered had a smile. I recommend this as a top choice location for a visit to Historic Savannah, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 704 has river view and two queen beds. Some traffic noise on a Saturday night, but not bad. Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NC_Travelers_times2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for the 5 star ratings, and I will let Brittany and Nicole know of the great job they are doing. Please come back and see us upon your next visit to Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over a long weekend. It is in a great location of Savannah, close to everything, we were able to walk everywhere. The rooms were okay, but there was nothing special about them. The pool on the roof was ok as well. I felt the prices were a little high, but I guess that's what we get for going in the summer!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lovae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are happy to hear you had a nice stay at our facility. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,080 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £103 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing