We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express was wonderful to stay in for our little vacation. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and pretty and the breakfast was great every morning.
The location was steps away from both the river street an historic district. A trolley picks you up right outside the hotel.
We loved our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel worked well for my family, although I think it was a little over priced. We had been at Hilton Head Island for a week and wanted to spend one night in this lovely city, so we decided to stay here. Located on Bay Street, it was convenient to the beautiful river front area and to the historic squares located in the area. We could walk to everything we wanted to see. If I was staying longer, I would have preferred a more "historic" hotel, but with that being said, it was lovely on the inside and did have some Southern charm.

Lobby - Nice lounge area that opened at 4 p.m. We missed the breakfast, but I understand from other guests, that it was very good. Ice water and snacks were available and a nice touch after traveling and touring the city. The concierge was very helpful and an added bonus.

Rooms - A little on the small side. I did pay extra for the balcony. Probably not work the extra money, as it was small and had no chairs. If I had to do it again, we would have just went to the roof-top to enjoy the beautiful view of Bay Street and the river.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iowa4ontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for the awesome review, we will be anticipating your speedy return. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel rooms are very comfortable, with a very nice upscale bathroom, and amenities, the location can not be better right in the center of East Bay street, walking distance to literally everything in the historic district. The staff is very friendly and professional, breakfast is very nice, self service with very good selection of hot and cold food, very good cinnamon buns!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreyes1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Holiday Inn Express was not typical of others, Located right near the Historic District, it had the ambiance of an older hotel with its decor. In the lobby were comfortable club chairs, and a bowl full of apples and oranges for the guests in addition to to bottled water.The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and a great bed! Our room looked out at the river where we could watch the freighters piled with containers go up and down the river. A few steps out the door, we were a block away from one of the historic squares.

It was so busy when we got there, there was no one to help us with our luggage, but the manager, seeing our dilemma, personally got a cart for us, and got us our room. The concierge was most
helpful in recommending restaurants. The breakfast was plentiful and complimentary.


We could go,out the door, cross the street and go to the river walk to spend the evening strolling along the river walk. great location, we loved our stay there.

I do agree with another reviewer about the parking and needing the valet. Pricey, but loved the location so much, we didn't really mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatC1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. I'm happy to hear the manger was ready and willing to assist you in any way possible, that's our obligation to the guest. We hope to see you soon, have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Such a nice, clean place to stay. Very comfy room and beds. Glad they offered valet. Location was GREAT! Such an easy walk to anywhere in the Historic district. Only one street over from River Street. Rooftop pool was fun too. Would definitely stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was quite good also.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for the kind words and awesome feedback, we will be looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Always love staying at Holiday Inn Express when we travel. This one was very nice and clean. Comfy bed and decent sized room. Breakfast was also very good each morning. Location was GREAT to be able to walk anywhere you want to go in Savannah. Will stay here again :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for the 5 star review, we're looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good location being close to river and historic district. Provided a full concierge which made booking trolley easy. Trolley stop right outside the door. Rooms comfortable but housekeeping a little slow. Free breakfast was good. Best part: Roof top outdoor pool with a great view of the river. Bad part: Valet parking is offered but we prefer self-parking. The lot next door was full when we arrived after 4pm. and it was a very busy, hectic time. We parked off of Congress St.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I apologize you hade challenges with the parking upon check-in, it can get pretty busy so I understand. I'm happy that you were able to enjoy the city, and enjoy the beautiful view from our rooftop. Next time your in Savannah please come see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £120 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing