We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maya and Santiana made my stay the best ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I got in very late the first night due to plane delays from lightning. I was tired and hungry. Maya Johnson was so helpful, pleasant and just plain wonderful. She sent me to the best eatery which was very close to the hotel.
The last day of my trip, I had the pleasure of speaking with both Maya and Santiana Lewis. The conversation was delightful and I lost track of time! You have wonderful young people who take great care of your guests. Please remunerate them accordingly, these 2 young ladies are valuable assets to your business. I will be back to stay again.

It was great to explore right out the front door of the hotel and see the Riverfront. Savannah is amazing with much to offer travellers. I highly recommend Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail_Woon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for the amazing compliments extended to both Maya and Santiana, they are truly amazing girls and I'm lucky to have them! I am more excited to hear how welcoming and accommodating they were to you and because of the great service, you have planned to revisit us in the future; that's amazing. I will let the girls know of the great job they are doing! You rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a very enjoyable four night stay. Hotel was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Happy hour was a nice treat. Used the pool and cabana several times to beat the heat. Location to restaurants, historic sites and the river is great. Only downside was checking out, took 45 minutes to get our car, they didn't seem ready for the rush. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dbopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your valuable feedback, please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although the staff very nice and helpful when walking into hotel is in serious need of cleaning- the elevators r dirty- some of the walls r missing molding finishing pieces. Got to my room and the carpet is stained the beds had clean sheets but I can tell the comforters were not clean as I smelled someone else's either scented lotion or perfume on my comforter. Shower has no water pressure and always felt slimy when getting out of the shower - huge deal beaker for me- too noisy in the morning walls too thin don't like to hear what's going on outside- the valet is so slow in getting car that I would rather park myself- not a good waiter. I had just left a holiday inn in charleston and it was fabulous. All other holiday inn should take note!! The one in charleston does it right!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I'm sorry your experience with our facility were not to your standards. I will definitely take your feedback into consideration for the benefit of future guest satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved this hotel.It was in a great location.The breakfast was also very good.The room was very roomy.It was a very hot day so we swam in the rooftop pool which was great.The price was also very good considering the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the great review, please come again next time your visiting Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Awesome location in historic downtown Savannah, but you do pay a price for the location. Hotel was nice. Staff could have been a little friendlier upon check-in, and although the room was nice, the mattress was terrible. I woke up with back & neck stiffness every morning. However, I did not let this ruin my overall experience. Breakfast choices were decent and the dining room staff were attentive. Oh, and you must check out the rooftop pool!

Room Tip: The corner rooms (preferably the higher the floor, the better) offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ophelia620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As with every hotel, there will be good and bad. I will tell the bad so you get an idea of the few things that did go wrong, but will end with the good, since for the most part we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

The bad- There seemed to always only be one working elevator, and since there is no staff elevator, you sometimes have to wait a while to go up or down since one cleaning lady with a cart takes up half the elevator, and they don't always like to move for you to get past. After dragging our tired carcasses, our two children, and our car full of stuff up to our room on the 5th floor, we discovered that neither of our two room keys worked, so my husband had to face the elevator debacle again to get a working key. After getting annoyed at the wait trying to get back up, he decided to would be more advantageous to take 5 flights of stairs. Some of the staff seemed like they wanted to be anywhere but work, but they were definitely in the minority. At checkout, we went to get our car from valet (there was not a single day where there was parking available in the self parking) and discovered that whoever had gotten our car had pushed the seat back so much and with so much force that our car seat almost took off the headrest. They definitely made up for this by taking an incident report and refunding the $80 of valet charges, The oddest thing about the hotel is the water- I never felt I got fully clean when taking a shower or washing my hands, and I always felt a bit sticky even after washing up. It was very peculiar.

The good- Our room was on the quiet side of the hotel (away from the street- we didn't have any view to speak of but the hotel is only across the street from the Riverwalk, so we really didn't mind) and was clean and well appointed. We asked for a pack and play for our daughter and a gentleman brought up a crib, which was an unexpected surprise. There are both soft and firm pillows on the beds that are labeled so you know what you're getting. Breakfast every day was great- there's a pancake machine that we used every morning, and there's a revolving selection of eggs and proteins, which was nice. The breakfast area staff were incredibly polite and happy, and made sure everything was constantly stocked. The pool area is very nice and has a gorgeous view off of the roof, although the hot tub isn't really a hot tub, really, more like a warm tub with jets. The location is prime, a block away from the Riverwalk and within a few blocks of some great local restaurants. The only time we drove anywhere is when we decided to go out to Tybee Island, but other than that, we walked around the city.

Overall, we loved this hotel. With the exception of a couple people, the staff was incredibly friendly and courteous. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I think I've ever had. When we come back to Savannah, this will definitely be the place we go.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room away from Bay Street. There is a ton f traffic on that street at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timofmylif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'm happy that overall your stay was good, and we appreciate the ratings you've extended us! However, I am interested to hear a little more about the individuals you encountered during the course of your stay that appeared unwelcoming. We never want any of our guest to feel they were not greeted or treated as valued guest while at our facility. Please email me at hope,garner@savannahlodging.com. I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We found this hotel through trip advisor and everyone was right. This is a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooftop pool and lounging area were very nice and great place to cool off after exploring the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingsisterPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for the awesome review, please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,899 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £104 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing