We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, friendly”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Despite being the height of tourist season and being located in the key tourist area, we found the hotel very quiet - no disturbances at night. The room was clean and well-appointed. The staff was very helpful. I was traveling g with my elderly mother-in-law and my young daughter, so having a bellman to help me with luggage was an unexpected relief! Free breakfast buffet was a plus. The recommendation the concierge made for us to eat at Corleone's was fantastic and a perfect fit for us.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your valuable feedback, I'm happy to hear the accommodations were enjoyable for you and your family, please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    707
    131
    37
    23
See reviews for
608
1,155
71
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

cost effective with one of the best locations of all of the hotels in Savannah. Situated directly on the River Walk, the Holiday Inn Express has good sized, clean rooms. The hotel also has a beautiful rooftop pool with a stunning view of the River front, away from the hustle and bustle of the foot traffic on the street below. Don't forget to pop up to the roof, it's worth the trip. Savannah is well known for it's culinary skills, many of the most well known restaurants are within walking distance of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need more sleeping room, the rooms are large enough to handle a good sized , comfortable, rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lccolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your valuable feedback, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel while in Savannah. It was in the heart of everything. We could walk across the street to Riverstreet and other venues. It was clean, comfortable and updated and it had a really nice breakfast area. The ladies at the front desk were really nice and helpful, so was the concierge. The hotel was quite busy and the elevator stopped working several times while we were there, so there was a long wait getting to our room. It was no big deal, we were on vacation and not in a hurry. It was just a little headache when checking out and having to wait really long for an elevator to become available. There was also a major water leak in the hotel, but good thing it didn't effect us. We especially enjoyed the rooftop pool and workout room, it was wonderful. The one thing I would change in the rooms is to remove the coffee pot and cups from the bathroom. No one wants to drink coffee after bathrooms fumes have settled on it. It might be a good idea to place the coffee pot/cups near the TV or on the table in the room. Also, rearranging the breakfast area might be a good idea. The line was too long to get breakfast. Possibly adding dual access/two lines to get eggs, biscuits and sausage, etc. The breakfast area was very clean and the staff were very professional.

Room Tip: The rooms were updated, very clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the valuable feedback, and you have a very valid point about the placement of the coffee pots, I will definitely take that into consideration. I'm happy that with the delayed elevators it did not affect you much and you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We will be looking forward to your return in the near future. Have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bahama Island
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I got in very late the first night due to plane delays from lightning. I was tired and hungry. Maya Johnson was so helpful, pleasant and just plain wonderful. She sent me to the best eatery which was very close to the hotel.
The last day of my trip, I had the pleasure of speaking with both Maya and Santiana Lewis. The conversation was delightful and I lost track of time! You have wonderful young people who take great care of your guests. Please remunerate them accordingly, these 2 young ladies are valuable assets to your business. I will be back to stay again.

It was great to explore right out the front door of the hotel and see the Riverfront. Savannah is amazing with much to offer travellers. I highly recommend Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail_Woon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the amazing compliments extended to both Maya and Santiana, they are truly amazing girls and I'm lucky to have them! I am more excited to hear how welcoming and accommodating they were to you and because of the great service, you have planned to revisit us in the future; that's amazing. I will let the girls know of the great job they are doing! You rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a very enjoyable four night stay. Hotel was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Happy hour was a nice treat. Used the pool and cabana several times to beat the heat. Location to restaurants, historic sites and the river is great. Only downside was checking out, took 45 minutes to get our car, they didn't seem ready for the rush. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your valuable feedback, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although the staff very nice and helpful when walking into hotel is in serious need of cleaning- the elevators r dirty- some of the walls r missing molding finishing pieces. Got to my room and the carpet is stained the beds had clean sheets but I can tell the comforters were not clean as I smelled someone else's either scented lotion or perfume on my comforter. Shower has no water pressure and always felt slimy when getting out of the shower - huge deal beaker for me- too noisy in the morning walls too thin don't like to hear what's going on outside- the valet is so slow in getting car that I would rather park myself- not a good waiter. I had just left a holiday inn in charleston and it was fabulous. All other holiday inn should take note!! The one in charleston does it right!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I'm sorry your experience with our facility were not to your standards. I will definitely take your feedback into consideration for the benefit of future guest satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved this hotel.It was in a great location.The breakfast was also very good.The room was very roomy.It was a very hot day so we swam in the rooftop pool which was great.The price was also very good considering the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank activeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks for the great review, please come again next time your visiting Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,747 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing