We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
East Bay Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Planters Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveller rating
1,684
740
139
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,684
740
139
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolvalet parkinghi expressgreat locationthe riverhistoric districtwithin walking distancecorner roomfree breakfastcity garagebay stself parkper daywould definitely stay here againtrolley stopfront desk staffvalet service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,129 - 1,134 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is fairly pricey but it's in an excellent location right on Bay Street in Savannah. You can walk to the riverfront and the City Market. You can catch tours and trolleys conveniently. There is a city garage next door with plenty parking spaces. In fact, the garage view is what many will get. It has a "full" breakfast included in the nightly rate that is adequate but certainly not great. The rooms are not large but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is adequate. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small rooftop pool, jacuzzi and workout room. That is about all there is ..... but for a city with lots to see, great restaurants, bars and social clubs, all you need is a great location and a comfortable clean bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We came down to Savannah after dropping off our last kid @ his college some 45 minutes from Savannah. When we arrived on Friday 8/15, the valet was ready to take our car. The front desk was very friendly, and quickly checked us in. It was at this time we also met Hope, and within minutes of us setling into our room, she was on the phone and making sure we liked our room - which we did (very nice room - while not the Riverfront view - still very nice). We enjoyed our first evening out on the river front - so may great places to eat, drink, and just stroll. The hotel is very convenient to everything. On Saturday morning, Hope checked on us once more, and asked if we had any plans, which we did not - we were going to just walk around (which is easy to do from the hotel). She convinced us to go ahead and take the Old Town tour, and was she right - we had a great time learning all about the Historic Downtown area. We even made the 95th celebration of Leopold's Ice Cream shop. That night we again went out for more great food and drinks - over in the market area. On Sunday we just took our time enjoyed the morning in the hotel, called for our car, and were on our way home. We definately will be coming back to Savannah, and will make the Holiday Inn Express out #1 choice. Would also like to say big thank you to Hope - she and the staff at the Holiday Inn Express are wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront view - if available - but any room is great - since you are so close to everything. Plus say hi to Hope!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words, and for choosing to stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as a guest at our facility. I'm happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over the weekend and it was fabulous! We were greeted by a warm, friendly valet staff member and received a similar welcome from the front desk clerk. Our room was very clean and accommodating. The shower was huge! Also, there was more drawer space than I've ever seen in any hotel, which was great for my husband and me. The closet was rather small, but with all the drawer space, the tiny closet didn't bother us much. We had a gorgeous view of the Savannah River and the sights nearby.

The hotel has a very large dining area that provides a view of Bay Street and the historic buildings of River Street. Although the breakfast they offer is not a gourmet meal, it is tasty and complimentary. The dining staff are warm and friendly as well. The fitness center and pool are on the top floor/roof. Both are adequate in size. The pool area, however, is lovely in that one can soak up the sun or sit in a very nice, relaxing, covered seating area.

The location is perfect, in my opinion. River Street is across the street from the hotel, so you can take a less than 5 minute walk to get there. It is close enough to all the action yet far away enough to get away from the hustle and bustle. The squares are also within walking distance, and Abercorn Street is pretty well lit at night. Not once did we feel as though our safety might be in jeopardy.

The only con I have is the $20 per day parking fee, but this is common in the historic district hotels, so I don't consider it a big negative.

If you are looking for nice accommodations in a great location that is affordable, Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MArrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for the kind words and outstanding compliment extended to the hotel and staff, we greatly appreciate it! We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savanah! Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Best holiday inn. Great location. Very comfortable bed. Great view of river. I would definitely recommend this place. Have been there twice. Love Savannah. Has a pool and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Wow, the "Best" is a hard thing to beat! Thanks for the great review, we greatly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was reasonably priced... rooms were clean, staff was Friendly..the Hotel sits one street back from the Riverfront so it was easy to get too and from.... Maggie did an outstanding job helping us plan our couple of days there... her recommendations were perfect! Always wanted feed back on where we had just gone...

Room Tip: ask for a corner or River facing room...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for the awesome 5 star ratings, I will let Maggie know of the great job she is doing! Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews