We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location awesome room awesome price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We came to Savannah for the first time on March 19, 2009. There were 6 of us women and we had requested connecting rooms. When we checked in that night around 10 p.m., we didn't have connecting rooms, but they discounted both of our rooms, that were already very reasonably priced. The hotel is very convenient, we walked everywhere, River Street, Market, Savannah Smiles, Paula Dean's and we felt very safe at even when returning at 3 a.m.

Breakfast was good, lots of seating, but it ends exactly when they say it will so don't be late! Parking is very convenient, self parked instead of valet, well lit garage. Get your parking ticket validated before getting your car so the garage attendant won't charge you. If you come back and the garage says it is full, push the call button, and tell them you are with the hotel. They will let you in since you are staying at the hotel....they save spaces for the guests.

The staff was helpful, and friendly and housekeeping could speak English! The rooms were clean and roomy. The beds were on the firm side, but the linens were great, with plenty of pillows. Pool area and workout room looked great although we didn't use them...too cold for swimming. We didn't try the bar, because we didn't have time, but it looked inviting, and it appeared that they fixed the problem a previous reviewer wrote about.... (having to go outside to get to the restroom and hotel lobby) Hotel had fresh lemonade and cookies in the lobby on Saturday afternoon, but we had just had lunch at Paula Deans', so we didn't try them, but it was a nice touch.

Location was great! Oglethorpe Tours picks you up right behind the hotel, and it is a MUST do! Only $10 and worth $50, uninterrupted tour, with on and off priviledges until 5:30 p.m. and Janet, our guide was fabulous! Old Pink House Restaurant, behind the hotel has great food, but make reservations. Paula Deans Restaurant is only a few blocks away and the lunch buffet was well worth the $13.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetnonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,401 - 2,407 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

Wow, service, service, service! It still exists! My friend and I were warmly and enthusiastically greeted by Jemel who was able to answer all of our questions. The rest of the staff was just as friendly and helpful as well. We loved the extra touches of fresh fruit, cookies, and complimentary bottles of water available for the guests in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The room was neat and clean and had a wonderful view of the river and bridge. The bathroom was larger than normal for a H.I. Express and nicely refurbished with stone and tile. The mattresses need a little upgrading, but the linen was always fresh. The maid service was excellent. I will definitely stay here again! We initially chose this hotel over The Mansion on Forsyth because of their poor reviews regarding service which we experienced for ourselves over the phone. For those who prefer friendliness and conscientious service from hotel staff, this Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheElegantLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We booked this hotel from Sunday March 14, to Wednesday, March 18 and were not disappointed. The location is great. You are at the corner of two of the most popular streets in Savannah: Bay St. and Abercorn St. The lobby is nice and well appointed. There is plenty of seating in the breakfast area and plenty of food at the continental breakfast every morning, though the warm choices were limited. No fresh eggs or pancakes/waffles. The room was nice with a goodf size bathroom. The beds were comfortable with four pillows on each bed. The only complaint we had was check out. We didn't realize that the best way to check out is to call from your room for the valet. We paid an extra $5 to valet part our car and went down with our luggage and had to wait at least twenty minutes for our car to be brought around. Then WE realized it was sititng out there. No one came and got us; we just saw it sitting there! That was irritating because we really don't know how long it sat there while we were twidding our thumbs. Overall, this is really the only complaint we had. Good location, great rooms, excellent security, and tasteful decorations.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseTroy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We traveled here on our way to Daytona Beach Florida for Bike Week. Never have been to Savannah so we were looking forward to our short visit. I wish we had more than one day, would love to explore this great city. Hotel staff was wonderful and were very helpful. The only thing I can say about the rooms is that the carpet needed cleaning. The beds were very comfortable. We had a room that overlooked the river. This hotel is centrally located and you can walk to most activites and resturants. We will stay here again if we ever get a chance to get to Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeharleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The entire staff always has a smile and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are nice and extremely clean with comfortable beds, flat screen tv (with a lot of channels), lots of lights and nice, clean bathrooms, with hairdryers. Parking is right next door and very reasonable for downtown parking, charged directly to your room if you get your card stamped. I checked out the rooftop pool and was very pleased, though it was too cold to swim.

The price is almost unbelievable, considering the location, which is right in the historic district, with lots of restaurants, and right across the street from Riverwalk. It is safe to walk around, day and evening. Very nice shops all around.

The breakfast is always good, kept hot and good selections. The coffee is always available and fresh.

Can't say enough good things. This is definitely our hotel of choice in the Savannah area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frantort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I found this hotel through Trip Advisor and were so glad we did! Excellent location, very nice, clean accommodation and very friendly service. They have free parking in a garage next door. The breakfast is average, identical to all the other Holiday Inn Express locations, but adequate and included in the room cost. It's near the Old Pink House Restaurant, a fabulous, elegant restaurant that shouldn't be missed. All the historical sights are within walking distance. I really wish we could have spent more time walking around, taking pictures of the historical houses, but didn't have the time. Also walked down in the morning to Paula Deen's famous restaurant, The Lady & Sons and got on the list for dinner (don't miss this, either!). We went on to Charleston, but really liked Savannah so much better!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitchm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We loved this hotel. The location couldn't be beat, the service was outstanding, the room was comfy and clean and the view from the 5th floor was lovely. Feeling slightly stressed from a very long drive, I pulled into the small driveway trying to figure out where to park, the valet came right over, told me where to put the car for check in and made me feel immediately at ease. We were greated as we walked toward the front desk by Jaymal (sp?) who was wonderful, friendly, the epitome of southern hospitality. Our room had a great view of the river, the bathroom was spacious with a very upscale shower, vanity and fixtures. The location couldn't have been better. We didn't get into the car again until we checked out the next day. We walked on the river, took the free ferry and saw a nice sampling of squares, had dinner, lunch and drinks all within a nice walking range. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,080 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £103 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing