We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
St Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

This was our second stay here and loved it each time. Comfortable, modern, clean rooms, prime location and friendly staff makes this hotel a sure bet for touring the historic district. Stop in at the lobby bar (open after 4) for not only a great drink but also for recommendations on restaurants, golf courses and other things to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    686
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
568
1,112
70
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Americus, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

I recently attended a Georgia Science Teachers Conference in Savannah and picked this hotel from the list offered in the conference registration. We got the conference rate that the school paid for and it was a wonderful deal for all of us. This hotel is about a year old - not a remodel. It is clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We had a nice sized room with two queen beds with a window on Bay Street. The bathroom was large enough to actually turn around in! Two women had plenty of room for all our stuff! The breakfast included hot and cold items that are about the same as other Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Walk out the door and you can walk across the street and down to the riverfront or just up and down Bay Street. Lots of good restaurants are close by. Downtown Savannah is all about walking and this hotel puts you right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

I was in charge of a church group of 14. We were handle great before we ever arrived. Julie and Jennifer had eeverything ready for us when we arrived. I even recieved the room numbers before hand and was able to give each person the room numbers of everyone. The breakfast was great, we did not use the bar but one is avaible. You are only a short walk to the Riverwalk which you could see from the hotel. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was nice. I would give it 10 stars if I could. The hotel is very close to resturants. You are with in walking distant to Paula Deen's, Myself I would suggest going to Mrs Wilkes instead the food is a lot better. They also suggested Mr. Tony to pick us up from the Amtrak Station. He was right on time, he had enough people to load the luggage. The hotel helped unload the luggage. I can't complainment them enough on the services they offered. The Hotel was within walking distant of many resturants. Your are within walking distant to Paula Deen's but I would suggest that you go first to Paula's and the next day to Mrs. Wilkes. Her food is so much better. They suggested us using Mr. Tony to pick us up from Amtrak Station he was on time to pick us up from Amtrak and on time to pick us up from the hotel and take us back to Amtrak station. Again I have to say It was one of the best hotel I ever stayed at. Thank you Julie and Jennifer. Make sure you go to the roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgray10569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

This hotel is ideally located to walk the wonderful streets of Savannah. We had a corner room which was incredible, with lots of windows and great views. Staff was very nice as well. We would not hesitate coming back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

We came to Savannah for the first time on March 19, 2009. There were 6 of us women and we had requested connecting rooms. When we checked in that night around 10 p.m., we didn't have connecting rooms, but they discounted both of our rooms, that were already very reasonably priced. The hotel is very convenient, we walked everywhere, River Street, Market, Savannah Smiles, Paula Dean's and we felt very safe at even when returning at 3 a.m.

Breakfast was good, lots of seating, but it ends exactly when they say it will so don't be late! Parking is very convenient, self parked instead of valet, well lit garage. Get your parking ticket validated before getting your car so the garage attendant won't charge you. If you come back and the garage says it is full, push the call button, and tell them you are with the hotel. They will let you in since you are staying at the hotel....they save spaces for the guests.

The staff was helpful, and friendly and housekeeping could speak English! The rooms were clean and roomy. The beds were on the firm side, but the linens were great, with plenty of pillows. Pool area and workout room looked great although we didn't use them...too cold for swimming. We didn't try the bar, because we didn't have time, but it looked inviting, and it appeared that they fixed the problem a previous reviewer wrote about.... (having to go outside to get to the restroom and hotel lobby) Hotel had fresh lemonade and cookies in the lobby on Saturday afternoon, but we had just had lunch at Paula Deans', so we didn't try them, but it was a nice touch.

Location was great! Oglethorpe Tours picks you up right behind the hotel, and it is a MUST do! Only $10 and worth $50, uninterrupted tour, with on and off priviledges until 5:30 p.m. and Janet, our guide was fabulous! Old Pink House Restaurant, behind the hotel has great food, but make reservations. Paula Deans Restaurant is only a few blocks away and the lunch buffet was well worth the $13.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetnonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Wow, service, service, service! It still exists! My friend and I were warmly and enthusiastically greeted by Jemel who was able to answer all of our questions. The rest of the staff was just as friendly and helpful as well. We loved the extra touches of fresh fruit, cookies, and complimentary bottles of water available for the guests in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The room was neat and clean and had a wonderful view of the river and bridge. The bathroom was larger than normal for a H.I. Express and nicely refurbished with stone and tile. The mattresses need a little upgrading, but the linen was always fresh. The maid service was excellent. I will definitely stay here again! We initially chose this hotel over The Mansion on Forsyth because of their poor reviews regarding service which we experienced for ourselves over the phone. For those who prefer friendliness and conscientious service from hotel staff, this Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheElegantLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

We booked this hotel from Sunday March 14, to Wednesday, March 18 and were not disappointed. The location is great. You are at the corner of two of the most popular streets in Savannah: Bay St. and Abercorn St. The lobby is nice and well appointed. There is plenty of seating in the breakfast area and plenty of food at the continental breakfast every morning, though the warm choices were limited. No fresh eggs or pancakes/waffles. The room was nice with a goodf size bathroom. The beds were comfortable with four pillows on each bed. The only complaint we had was check out. We didn't realize that the best way to check out is to call from your room for the valet. We paid an extra $5 to valet part our car and went down with our luggage and had to wait at least twenty minutes for our car to be brought around. Then WE realized it was sititng out there. No one came and got us; we just saw it sitting there! That was irritating because we really don't know how long it sat there while we were twidding our thumbs. Overall, this is really the only complaint we had. Good location, great rooms, excellent security, and tasteful decorations.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTroy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing