We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal setting for lovely Savannah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foley House Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal setting for lovely Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days in Savannah. It received excellent reviews in Conde' Nast Traveler, and they have very fine taste. Loved the Doddington room we chose, old English style. The service was wonderful, Chuck in particular was amiable , informative. Couldn't ask for a more centrally located place it seems Chippewa Square which it is across from , branches off in to all the other streets you would want to see of the historic district. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Savannah is quaint and beautiful. Wonderful walking city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    142
    56
    37
    10
See reviews for
73
680
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Foley House Inn so knew from our 2006 stay that the staff was not warm and friendly but still a great, convenient location in the historic district and beautiful inn and furnishings. That much has not changed but service has further declined. Chuck, the afternoon/evening manager onsite was very friendly and accomodating and Caleb was effeceint. However that's where the friendly, competant service ended. First of all, whoever was responsible for preparing our bill got mine mixed up with the family member who was traveling with us and gave her our room. This was easily remedied but they never changed the way the rooms were charged to our respective credit cards. In the end, our traveling companions were charged for their room as well as the balance due on ours. In fairness, Chuck had offered to put the correct names on the correct credit cards but since our rooms both cost the same we didn't want to put him to the trouble, but somehow they messed it up even further.
Being early risers, we opted for the first breakfast seating of 7:30am. Coffee was to be available in the parlor for guests at 7:15 every morning. Not only was there no coffee but there was no staff to make it. The daytime manager (a tall young woman with red hair) walked through the front door at 7:23 followed several mins later by a member of the cook staff, who was follwed a few mins afterwards by the chief cook. None of them were apologetic and we were offered the ridiculous excuse that the coffee maker was new and had to reach 200 degrees before it started making coffee. We finally got coffee (awful I might add) at 7:40 and breakfast close to 8:30 with most of the other guests. I reported this to Chuck that afternoon. He was very apologetic and said he would take care of it. The next morning the awful coffee was ready on time but no cook. We spotted her at 7:25 walking in (even later than she had arrived the day before)as we were on our way across the street to get some decent coffee and food at a nearby cafe.
The afternoon tea and sweets as well as the evening wine and hors d'oeurvres were nice and tasty and actually set out a little ahead of time (different set of staff in the afternoon).
Overall, I gave this inn 4 stars rather than 3 just because of the other amenities despite the poor service and inattentive staff. They need to step up their game with all the competition that is available in the Savannah historic area. The Hamilton-Turner Inn is nicer and we received much better service there several years ago but is also pricier. If you can afford to pay a bit more I would recommend trying them rather than the Foley House.

Room Tip: if you ar3 looking for a quiet room the upper level carriage house rooms are very quiet. I stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foleyinnowner, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry there was any confusion with the room check-in. Sometimes when family members traveling together have the same last name that can happen. I know Chuck did get you into the correct room and offered to change the names on the bills but since the rooms were the same price it all worked out.

On your first morning here the two people that come in first were both late and thus your coffee and breakfast were both served late. There is no excuse for this and I am very sorry that happened. I did hear about them being late later that day and I talked to both of them about it. They were here on-time the next morning. The person you saw at 7:25 was the breakfast server, not our chef. Her shift starts at 7:30. We always have our coffee and tea out by 7:15 and breakfast service starts at 7:30. I explained to them the importance of sticking to our schedule for our guests. This is not a normal occurrence here and it will not happen again.

I am glad you enjoyed our afternoon tea and sweets as well as the evening wine and hors d'oeurvres.

Grant Rogers
Owner, Foley House Inn
800-647-3708
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Foley House is perfectly located with less than a 10 minute walk to River Street or many other sights. The staff is super friendly, proving a family atmosphere to your stay. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location for walking around Savannah, very friendly staff, very nice property. Our only disappointment wasn't their fault - it was raining our only morning there so we couldn't have breakfast in the courtyard with our dog.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beresford, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband arranged this special vacation as a surprise for my 60th birthday, and he did a super job by choosing the Foley House Inn! The location of the inn was perfect for exploring the historic district of Savannah on foot. We were surrounded by beautiful architecture and squares. The inn itself is fantastic!! Beautiful furnishings, crystal chandeliers, and did I mention the food?!? Breakfasts was particularly delicious -- homemade muffins and biscuits that nearly floated they were so light! Each afternoon tea was served with even more baked treats; and shortly after that is was wine and appetizers. The staff was delightful and we enjoyed our conversations. I really can't imagine a more beautiful place to stay when in Savannah - we will definitely stay at the Foley House Inn the next time we visit this lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaleGors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very comfortable and great location. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. we chose Foley House for our elopement. they made our special occasion both special and memorable. We will be staying there again on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandsryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Actual true Bed and Breakfast with excellent service, wonderful food, gorgeous rooms/accomodations. In an age where B&B's can sometimes really feel like a hotel, this was excellent. Loved the afternoon tea hour and chatting with others or just retreating to my balcony or the courtyard with the fountain. Could not have been more lovely, in all aspects. Fully/ Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: I loved the Strafford. Had a balcony to Chippewa Square and a jacuzzi tub.....perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Property: Foley House Inn
Address: 14 W Hull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing