We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah Getaway”
Review of Foley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foley House Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Savannah Getaway”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Foley House Inn. When we arrived, we were met on the front stoop by a young gentleman (sorry I can't remember names!). He checked us in and helped us find a parking spot. We were parked about a block away, and he went with us to the car to carry our bags in for us. We purchased the "Celebrate Savannah" package through the Inn, and they took care of all the reservations and tickets. When we wanted to change a couple times, they were quick to get on the phone and make it happen. The staff was very friendly and always making sure your stay was the best it could be. The location is fantastic. It was an easy walk anywhere....Forsyth Park, City Market, River Street, etc. We had a hot breakfast every morning with fruit and a biscuit, and it was delicious. Every afternoon there is tea and sweets (which we did not make during our stay) and every evening there is wine and appetizers. We did make a night of wine and appetizers and the food was delicious. We stayed in Wrest House on the third floor which overlooked the square. The room was large and had a sunken tub. The decor of the entire Inn is charming. We had a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    147
    60
    38
    11
See reviews for
77
701
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very nice Inn. Rooms were large and clean! Breakfast was awesome! The location was perfect. Walked every where, close to River Street, shopping and restaurants. They say the Inn is haunted but never experienced any ghosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile


Much to our dismay we were put in the back house & had to walk up 3 outside flights of stairs. We had no hot water in the morning for showers & front desk lady said bc I didn't get up until 7 that I should expect them to be out of water! She finally said she,d let go into another in main building to take a shower but that would have required getting dressed & going outside in 40 degree weather. Our room is shabby & terrible decor with barely usable bathroom. The breakfast was probably worse one I've ever had in a B&B plus they have no dining room so you're sitting separately on couches & little tables. Like others said breakfast was late. We left it & found a restaurant. The staff (other than morning lady) was very friendly & easy to talk to. We would never come back here

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefsandyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foleyinnowner, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry for that. The room you booked was in our carriage house that is directly behind our main house. It is a 2 story building so I can not explain why you had to walk up 3 flights of stairs. I talked to Christine (The morning front desk lady) and I did check the room about your hot water issue. I know that can be very frustrating to not have hot water. We never run out of hot water at our inn (we have 5 water heaters) and we did not get any other complaints about hot water so I am not sure why it did not work for you. Telling someone they need to shower before 7 does not make any sense so perhaps there was a misunderstanding. Christine has a beautiful french accent so maybe you misunderstood her meaning. Our guests can shower at anytime and will always have hot water. I have not been able to find out why it did not work in your case. I know when Christine offered you another room to shower in she was just trying to be helpful and make you happy.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast. We are a historic home built in 1860 so there is not a dedicated dining room. We serve breakfast in one of our parlors that is furnished with bistro tables that are meant for 2 people. We also have 2 larger tables that can accommodate 4 people. I think it's a nice arrangement as you can have a private breakfast or chat with another table nearby but are never forced to sit with people you do not know. No one ever has to sit on a sofa to eat. You can see a video of the parlors on our website as well as photos and videos of every room. We also serve breakfast outside in our courtyard when the weather is nice. It is very unusual that there would be a 40 degree morning in October. That sounds like a January morning. It's nice to have a fireplace on those mornings as 15 of our 19 rooms do.

I am sorry that our breakfast was not to your liking. We have a variety of things we serve such as Grits with Goat Cheese and Chives, Coconut Streusel Coffee Cake, Banana Pecan Muffins, Pineapple Upside Down French Toast, Banana Muffins with Streusel Topping, Buttermilk Peach Pecan Pancakes, Fruit-Filled French Toast Wraps, Corned Beef Hash Cakes with Poached Eggs. It is different every morning. We always offer eggs any style or omlettes and are happy to accommodate special requests. We know not everyone has the same tastes but we do our best to make folks happy.

Grant Rogers
Owner, Foley House Inn
800-647-3708
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I got married this past weekend 10/19/13 at the Foley House. I don't know where to start with our experience. Every single thing was perfect. The beauty of the Foley House, the staff, the coordination of everything. I didn't have to do one thing except tell Chiquita (the manager at the Foley House) what color roses I wanted. She does everything. During our stay the staff was so wonderful and pleasant, helping with reservations and suggestions. And the food........... The breakfasts were outstanding, then there is afternoon sweets which were decadent, then happy hour with wine and delicious appetizers. We didn't want to leave. We actually went to a couple of B&Bs when we were out site seeing one day and they didn't even compare to the Foley Houses' decor and location. If you want to have a memorable wedding or just vacation you must stay at the Foley House!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms as I had asked for a quiet location. It was in the back in a separate building, up three flights of stairs. The room itself was comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny with a very low sink and broken tiles. The room was anything but quiet. We heard traffic all night long. The staff at the inn were very nice. The best part of the inn was the afternoon and evening snacks. There was a chocolate cake that I couldn't get enough of. The location of the hotel is fine. It was a bit of a walk to the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A+ on location
A+ for friendly staff
D on cleanliness. Dirty floors under bedroom bureaus. And dirt ( not just dust) has accumulated on all floor moldings (8" moldings). Looked down while eating breakfast and saw all the dirt on the molding and same in bedroom. Place just needs good cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfer142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foleyinnowner, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for letting us know where we needed to pay a little more attention. You are correct about the baseboard moldings in the parlor being dirty. They have been cleaned. We also went through all the rooms and checked under the furniture and made sure all of those areas are spotless.

I am glad you liked the staff and our location. They just can't be beat.

Grant Rogers
Owner, Foley House Inn
800-647-3708
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days in Savannah. It received excellent reviews in Conde' Nast Traveler, and they have very fine taste. Loved the Doddington room we chose, old English style. The service was wonderful, Chuck in particular was amiable , informative. Couldn't ask for a more centrally located place it seems Chippewa Square which it is across from , branches off in to all the other streets you would want to see of the historic district. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Savannah is quaint and beautiful. Wonderful walking city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ballastone Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Property: Foley House Inn
Address: 14 W Hull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing