We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at this hotel - second success story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
GA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second time at this hotel - second success story”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. And it was even better than our first time. I called the day before our arrival and asked for a pretty specific room (third floor, two beds, facing Bay Street) and also too see if we could check in early. Well, we arrived WAY too early, so the room wasn't ready yet. But this hotel has a lovely "perk" - you can pre-register and leave your car there even if the room is not ready. That's exactly what we did. Parked and went on to do our touristy things :) The hotel is within walking distance from everything, so we had an awesome day. Came back to the hotel around 3PM, checked in without a problem. Got the room I asked for (third floor, two beds, facing Bay Street). The room was clean, AC worked like magic. Beds and pillows are comfy. Bathroom is huge. What else do you need? I couldn't get wifi on my phone to work (I had a "moment"), but the young man at the front desk (so sorry, I didn't get his name) figured it out for me. We had a ghost tour - you get picked up at the hotel. And when we got home (I mean to our hotel room lol) we crashed and slept like babies. Just like last year, we heard ONE fire truck. Other than that, I didn't think there was a whole lot of outside noise. We woke up rested and ready for more adventures (had a Bonaventure tour). Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of choices. Another "perk" this hotel offers - you can leave your car there until 5 PM after you checked out. So you have pretty much the whole day to enjoy everything Savannah has to offer without worrying about parking. Yes, you have to pay to part there. But it's the lowest parking fee in the downtown area. And because you can leave the car until 5PM, you really get two days for the price of one. Say what you will, but I am definitely staying here next time we are in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkieGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    481
    295
    128
    94
See reviews for
351
566
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Convenient for walking the old town area and River Street. Having a concierge during the day is a nice benefit. Staff helped with restaurant recommendations. I would recommend using the DOT system as it is a free bus service around town. Pick up map from tourist office or maybe at desk. Free DOT is better than paying the $20+ for tour buses that make similar stops. Room was clean and updated. WIFI was effective.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Danette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!+

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoyed staying close to the river. You could walk down to the river or to the marketplace to get something to eat. The staff was friendly and enjoyed the concierge with her helpful hints. The rooms were decorated nicely and everything was clean. The bathroom was extra large and glad for the refrigerator. I would stay again if I go back!

Room Tip: Being on the 1st floor street side was a little noisy about 5AM when the trucks were going by. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Music to my ears! We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Loved the location right at the corner of Historic Savannah near river street. It was easy to get to most of the sites. We walked everywhere. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. Loved the bathroom. Beds were pretty comfortable. I didn't notice the noise of the street this trip. This is my second trip, at the same hotel. Kyle,the conceirge, gave outstanding recommendations for restaurants and tours. He was extrememly helpful. I can't think of any negatives. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is our second visit to Savannah and our second (requested) stay at Best Western. We choose the same hotel we stayed in last summer because of its location, reasonable rates, and extremely friendly staff. We were able to walk to everything and the staff was so very helpful. The first time we stayed, our room was on the front side and a little noisy. This time we requested top floor back side and it sure made a difference. The room was clean and looked to be newly updated. Although we had to pay a parking fee, we felt it was reasonable and worth it not to have to worry about our car, as the lot is well lit and unmarked cars are towed away. We well stay a third time if and when we go back to Savannah. The only negative remark is that the concierge on duty Friday 10/18/2013 (female) was not friendly and acted as if we were bothering her by asking so many questions. I kind of thought it was her job to be friendly and helpful. The young man who was there Saturday, Sunday and Monday was much more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor back side of hotel are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Room and building was a bit dated but bathroom seemed to have been recently renovated.
$12 parking is a good deal since the location lends itself to walking everywhere. Just a few blocks to River St with all its restaurants and bars. There's free parking close to the Visitors center and you can catch many tours from there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plympton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

best Weston plus the place to stay for comfort price location and the best staff on the waterfrount. if you weant a bargin go for it stay there ,. we have had a great time twice now and it seems to get better with each trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Music to my ears! We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing