We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for all things Savannah!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #52 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel and we will be back. Telia was very professional and helpful at check in. We requested a ground floor room near lobby and this was honored. Pet friendly for no additional fee. Our room was large and modern. Our only complaint about the rooms is they are large but there is so much furniture in there, 3 side tables, bed, desk, chair with ottoman, bench, another chair. Makes for no room to move around in the room. We like the noise machine, it was a nice touch to the room. Parking is $12 a day, which for location, is worth it. You are a block from the French Market and 2 blocks from the trolley tours. Room was a great value for it's location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Savannah Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I went up to Savannah for a long weekend. The Best Western was a very good hotel, the rooms have been remodeled and the bathroom is very large. The location is so convenient to the riverfront and the historic district so all you need is a comfortable pair of shoes. After reading the reviews about the street noise we did ask for a room at the back of the hotel and it was great except for car alarms that went off each of the three nights we were there and only a few loud people but we understood that Riverfront is pretty much all bars. The street noise at the front of the hotel is just way too loud for me so I was happy with our room.
Breakfast was really good every morning and their coffee is great 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean & comfortable and the location was great. The staff was friendly and competent. Breakfast was not great but we weren't there for the food. Parking is $12 per day and on the day you check out, the car can stay till 5pm which was convenient. Would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 week over christmas. the first day of arrival after a long travel from Idaho, was great concierge was amazing and extreamly helpful.
Our room was only cleaned 1 time in our stay Evening staff the night before we left was rude and unhelpful we had an upstairs neighbor causing noise and arrumentative at 1-2am.The morning we left, We accidently left a few gift items and our christmas evening wear in our room closet . I called immediatly upon arriving at the savannah airport at 4am and was told "no worries we will have it dropped at UPS & we will have them call you". I Was told a folow up call would be made in the afternoon. Upon arriving home 6pm I called again to follow up on my own and was told " sorry nothing was found in the room"
Due to the circumstances of realizing minutes after arriving to the airport, I would expect more honor in word with this sort of thing. I won't be recommending. nor rebooking here due to 1-2 employees and apparent house keeping thievery.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine-Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District would like to take the time to apologize to the author of this review. We strive to provide the highest quality of customer care to all of our guests. I am sorry if we fell short regarding the items you left in your room and this incident is being researched by our housekeeping department.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent New Year's day with our dog in Rm 318. The service at the front desk was very good, the bathroom was good sized, and the breakfast was decent. The room itself was dirty with mold on the curtain and a large bug right next to it. The floor was dirty. The bed rocked from side to side with the slightest movement from another person. The price was reasonable, but the dirty conditions would not want us to stay there again.

Room Tip: We took a room on the back end since we read that the front was noisy. We never heard any noise on...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I apologize for the less than pleasant stay. Your concerns regarding your room have been immediately brought to the correct departments attention. We strive to provide our guest the highest quality amenities and of customer care, I am sorry you feel we did not. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Room was clean and comfortable, with all the normal amenities. Location places guests in the heart of the historic district with loads of restaurants etc nearby. The location does bring street noise from party goers (not necessarily from from the hotel) in the early mornings, which is probably why the hotel provides white noise machines in the rooms. A good complimentary breakfast is included in the price, which might be considered on the high side of the pricing scale. The $12 parking fee appears a bit over the top. Our dog was welcomed for a $20 fee and a $50 damage deposit. Staff however would not inspect the room at time of check out to ensure they were satisified no damage was done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel's amenities and the city of Savannah! Your feedback regarding the pet inspection has been reviewed by management.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We added a night to our Savannah trip and chose this hotel because the location and the price were good. There is car parking available for a fee of $12 but this does allow you to use the car park until 5pm on the day of departure thus giving you more time to explore this fabulous city. We found the front desk staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Our room was great, we particularly liked the bathroom and the bed was really comfortable. The location is great, it is really easy to walk around the historic district from the hotel. Breakfast was also good and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £84 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing