We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manlius, NY, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our stay at the Best Western Plus in Historic District, Savannah was a very enjoyable experience. The staff was very helpful in arranging our stay with our dog and in guiding us around the city. The breakfast bar had a wide variety of healthy food and there was access to coffee or hot tea 24/7. Also, off-street parking was available. We plan to stop again on our way south next year. A beautiful and historic city!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    459
    282
    121
    83
See reviews for
321
546
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beware: In addition to the charge for the room, they charge a daily parking fee to park in their lot! I guess we were supposed to be dropped in by helicopter. No one said a word to us during check in about paying extra to park at the hotel.

On top of that, the walls were paper thin and we heard clearly the people in rooms on either side of us. They were also out of items at 8:00 am on the continental breakfast. The bathroom had not been fully cleaned; there were tissues under the bathroom vanity.

It's a great location, too bad they can't be honest about what the actual charge will be to stay there. We will not go back.

Room Tip: Best advice we can give is to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am embarrassed by the lack of information you received at check-in, and I will speak with the Front Office Manager immediately. We audit our own website as well as our partner’s websites regularly to ensure guests are made aware of all fees charged by this hotel. In addition, at the time of arrival we provide each guest a letter explaining the benefits and fees of the hotel as well as information regarding noise that is out of the hotel's control. Information regarding the parking fee is posted on signs at the front desk and also highlighted on the registration card presented for your signature at arrival. Again, I am very sorry if the staff here at the hotel did not provide you with any of the above mentioned documentation when you arrived which would've outlined all fess and helped to clarify expectations.

It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-233-1011. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. It is literally steps away from River Street and a block away from the historical district. With all the restuarants and areas of leisure, we had no problem keeping ourselves busy. We will definitely be staying at this Best Western with our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel last minute. It was a very good price for the location. We were very close to everything, within walking distance. Both woman that worked at the front desk were so friendly, courteous, kind, professional, and very knowledgeable. They both told us a lot of information about the area, where to go, etc. Miss Mary (The Concierge) was the best! She gave us loads of information about the area! She also was a very nice person to talk to. It was like talking with a friend you haven't seen in awhile. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and especially spending time with Miss Mary! Thank you to all of you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
229 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel and we will be back. Telia was very professional and helpful at check in. We requested a ground floor room near lobby and this was honored. Pet friendly for no additional fee. Our room was large and modern. Our only complaint about the rooms is they are large but there is so much furniture in there, 3 side tables, bed, desk, chair with ottoman, bench, another chair. Makes for no room to move around in the room. We like the noise machine, it was a nice touch to the room. Parking is $12 a day, which for location, is worth it. You are a block from the French Market and 2 blocks from the trolley tours. Room was a great value for it's location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I went up to Savannah for a long weekend. The Best Western was a very good hotel, the rooms have been remodeled and the bathroom is very large. The location is so convenient to the riverfront and the historic district so all you need is a comfortable pair of shoes. After reading the reviews about the street noise we did ask for a room at the back of the hotel and it was great except for car alarms that went off each of the three nights we were there and only a few loud people but we understood that Riverfront is pretty much all bars. The street noise at the front of the hotel is just way too loud for me so I was happy with our room.
Breakfast was really good every morning and their coffee is great 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean & comfortable and the location was great. The staff was friendly and competent. Breakfast was not great but we weren't there for the food. Parking is $12 per day and on the day you check out, the car can stay till 5pm which was convenient. Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing