We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjpyed Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cookeville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjpyed Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is right in the historic district of Savannah and walking distance to just about anywhere you would want to go. The tours offered were well worth going. While we were there the weather was pretty cold and rainy, but that gave us the opportunity to take two tours; the First African Baptist Church and a shuttle tour that took us not only through the historic district but also through a lot of Savannah. Our guide on the shuttle was Bob-a-loo (Bob Register) and he was awesome! The tour at the church was VERY nteresting and I would recommend everyone going to Savannah do this tour. The hotel was clean and newly remodled. You can leave your car there and not have to pay parking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    451
    275
    117
    78
See reviews for
311
536
57
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel was conveniently located near restaurants with most attractions just a short walk away. Hotel was clean but noisy during the day. Bay Street has a lot of traffic during the day and it serves as your alarm clock in the morning. Nights quiet down and we were able to get a good rest. I would have rated the hotel higher if it weren't for the noise but when picking a hotel you have to take that into account. We had no problems during our stay. The room was nice and felt clean. Wi-Fi booted up quickly and tv had a lot of stations available. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced Bay Street, perhaps a different location would have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have done the B and B thing in Savannah and opted to stay in the Best Western on Bay Street in the historic district of Savannah. Plusses: they take pets, with a modest fee, the parking is in their lot, also at a modest fee, and the rooms are quite nice. The location is wonderful, right across from River Street or the City Market. Minuses: They charge for most things, are a bit more expensive than the average motel and were repairing the main floor when we were there. The breakfast buffet is terrific and the help is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, nice rooms, near river walk area and dont miss the dueling pianos around the corner. Would definitely return. Weather was awful cold n rainy but everything was so close that it did not dampen our stay.

Breakfast was good w actual hot food n great coffee.

Other hotels nearby much pricier.





  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindale, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel in a great location,but old and outdated.Bed was uncomfortable,A/C unit rattled and made noise while door didn't close very well.Some painting had been done and cleaning was taking place outside when we drove up.Since I'm a customer,I shouldn't have to pay 15.00 to park when I'm also paying for a room.Staff was great and helpful.I will go to another hotel in the area if I get to return to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Corky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent customer service, clean rooms with all working appliances. I was so glad that there was a fridge in the room. Big bathroom. Excellent location of the hotel. Close to everything. Also loved the fact how fast they clean your rooms. The only DRAWBACK is the $15 parking fees. Not cool

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cherian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a fun stay in Savannah and hotel was within walking distance of historic district and river walk. city was very pet friendly as we had our dog with us. If your room faces the main street be ready for lots of noise but a white noise machine is supplied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the great location, free breakfast and our newly renovated guestrooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District. I do however apologize for the noisy streets, and I am sorry if it interfered with your stay in Savannah. I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing