We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run-of-the-mill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is just a run-of-the-mill hotel with no outstanding features. And the price was on the high side. Breakfast wasn't worth the time. The scrambled eggs were cold and seemed to have been made the night before. Looking for a place to have dinner within walking distance was futile. Or at least that was the impression I got from the front desk. we ate a hotel across the street and were their only customers. It was obvious from the food and price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is very good - in the city center of Savannah, walking distance to Riverwalk and restaurants/shops/Marketplace. Historical building, nice rooms. Only downsize was that the aircondition wasn't working and it had 80 degrees and 80% humidity...
Basis breakfast available.
Ideal for a short visit to Savannah - you can park your car and explore the city by foot.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the backyard - otherwise it will be really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with the Air Conditioner in your room. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-233-1011. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If a trip to beautiful Savannah is in your plans, a nice choice for a hotel is the Best Western Plus on West Bay Street in the Historic District. It is just one block from City Market and also close walking distance to River Street and to the many city squares throughout the district. There is also easy access to the many fine restaurants and clubs within the district. With the outrageous prices for hotels in Savannah, this hotel is afforable for a nice hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean and the complementary breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very friendly, professional, attentive staff with local, knowledgeable concierge all combine with a very clean and safe facility to provide an exceptional place to stay while visiting this remarkable city of Southern charm. Great value and good breakfast, too. Liked location - pleasant walking distance of all sights, yet near all major N & S routes out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Front Office Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Best Western Plus charges $15.00 a day for parking on their lot. Not explained when making reservation. Location was excellent; close to all attractions,shopping, and food. Excellent Concierge service (Miss Mary). arranged tours,riverboat ride, show tickets; all without a hitch. Good Job !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 942lawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am embarrassed by the lack of information you received at check-in, and I will speak with the Front Office Manager immediately. We audit our own website as well as our partner’s websites regularly to ensure guests are made aware of all fees charged by this hotel. In addition, at the time of arrival we provide each guest a letter explaining the benefits and fees of the hotel. Information regarding the parking fee is posted on a sign at the front desk and also highlighted on the registration card presented for signature at your arrival. Again, I am very sorry if the staff here at the hotel did not provide you with any of the above mentioned documentation when you arrived which would've outlined all fess and helped to clarify expectations.

It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of old Savannah. It is on a busy street, but they provide "white noise" machines to muffle the street noise. I didn't find it a problem. Beautiful room. They had a very nice breakfast selection. The staff was more than happy to help with suggestions on what to do & where to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

great staff..beautiful clean rooms,excellent beds,,free breakfast set up every morning ,great breakfast selection,even hot waffles to freshly made for you..Juice and coffee,danish,,,pool was clean,staff was wonderful ,free wi-fi

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

A good value is important these days! I am so glad you enjoyed the complimentary wireless and breakfast Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District!

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 116 in Savannah
933 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £86 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing