We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location& friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #51 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location& friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly & helpful. The baths were updated. The noise level minimal. Over all I rate this a very good place to stay. The beds were very comfortable. The staff very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJE1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the great location, updated rooms, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely.
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    468
    286
    124
    86
See reviews for
328
556
60
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms were updated,very comfortable and clean. Hair dryer and iron in room. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and in room wi-fi, they do have public computers in the lobby. There's also a pool and gym. Yes, there is some street noise--Bay St. seems to be the major truck route through the city, but most of the historic district hotels are on this street,and that is the city planners' fault-not the hotel's. We had planned to take our dog, but ended up not taking Fido. I did not see any pets while there, but there is a small grass area and quiet street in the back of the hotel for walkies. Hotel is 3 stories, but there is an elevator.
I don't know why some reviewers could not find restaurants, there are many within short walking distance. And most if not all of the hotels/inns in the historic district charge the daily parking fee.

Room Tip: I was told at front desk all king rooms face Bay St. Back side rooms (double beds?) may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Thank you,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

On my home from from business meeting, decided to take a night off from the family. Room was okay,on the dirtier side. Looked like someone had used the bathroom in there or house keepers didn't Finnish cleaning.? It was very noisy at night on the first floor hall close to doors.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned.

If the author of this review would please contact me (912) 629-2101, so that we can rectify the situation it would be greatly appreciated.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies. We look forward to bringing you resolution and satisfaction concerning this matter.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is just a run-of-the-mill hotel with no outstanding features. And the price was on the high side. Breakfast wasn't worth the time. The scrambled eggs were cold and seemed to have been made the night before. Looking for a place to have dinner within walking distance was futile. Or at least that was the impression I got from the front desk. we ate a hotel across the street and were their only customers. It was obvious from the food and price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is very good - in the city center of Savannah, walking distance to Riverwalk and restaurants/shops/Marketplace. Historical building, nice rooms. Only downsize was that the aircondition wasn't working and it had 80 degrees and 80% humidity...
Basis breakfast available.
Ideal for a short visit to Savannah - you can park your car and explore the city by foot.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the backyard - otherwise it will be really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with the Air Conditioner in your room. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-233-1011. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If a trip to beautiful Savannah is in your plans, a nice choice for a hotel is the Best Western Plus on West Bay Street in the Historic District. It is just one block from City Market and also close walking distance to River Street and to the many city squares throughout the district. There is also easy access to the many fine restaurants and clubs within the district. With the outrageous prices for hotels in Savannah, this hotel is afforable for a nice hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean and the complementary breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very friendly, professional, attentive staff with local, knowledgeable concierge all combine with a very clean and safe facility to provide an exceptional place to stay while visiting this remarkable city of Southern charm. Great value and good breakfast, too. Liked location - pleasant walking distance of all sights, yet near all major N & S routes out of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM11205, Front Office Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing